

IMPORTANT NOTICE: 2022 LICENSE/REGISTRATION RENEWAL REQUIRED

June 23, 2022

Dear Massage Professional,

The Maryland State Board of Massage Therapy Examiners takes this opportunity to remind you of the requirement to renew your license/registration to be able to practice massage therapy in Maryland for the next two years. Below is information on key dates, required renewal fees, and CEU requirements for the 2022-2024 renewal cycle.

License/Registration expiration date: October 31, 2022.

Online Renewal Access starts on August 15, 2022, through the Board's website at www.health.maryland.gov/massage.

Renewal Deadline: On or before October 31, 2022. New Inactive Status changes and Inactive Status continuation may also be completed online during the renewal period.

Renewal Fees: LMT: \$276 RMP: \$250

Late Renewal Fees Charged November 1, 2022-November 30, 2022: LMT: \$476 RMP: \$450

Mandatory CEUs, Mandatory Implicit Bias Training, Electives, and CPR Certification:

Mandatory 7 CEUs: 3 Hrs. Ethics or Jurisprudence, 3 Hrs. in Communicable Diseases including HIV/AIDS, 1 Hr. Diversity or Cultural Competency.

<u>Mandatory Implicit Bias Training</u>: This one-time training course is required by Md. Code Ann., Health Occupations § 1-225. The Board voted to allow 1 <u>elective</u> CEU hour for the completion of the Implicit Bias course in this renewal cycle only.

Electives: 16 elective CEUs in Massage Therapy.

Must possess an unexpired CPR certificate (LMTs Healthcare Provider Level & RMPs Basic CPR) at the time of renewal.

Carryover CEUs: If you completed elective CEUs between November 1, 2018, and June 30, 2021, you are able to apply those courses to the 16 electives for the 2022 renewal cycle. Input the course information in the online renewal portal.

CEU Exemption Notice: An initial license or registration issued on or after 10/31/2021 is exempt from the CEU requirements. However, the licensee/registrant must renew online, pay the required fees, and hold a valid CPR certification.

LMTs & RMPs with Tax Leins and/or Child Support Holds: The Board must receive official clearance from the MD Comptroller and/or the Division of Child Support Enforcement before a license or registration may be renewed and issued.

For additional information on the renewal process and Implicit Bias courses, please visit the Board's website at www.health.maryland.gov/massage.

Email Christopher Hawkins at mdh.bcmte@maryland.gov or christopher.hawkins1@maryland.gov with questions.

Best wishes and regards,

Sharon Oliver, Executive Director

Please do not unsubscribe. This is an official notification from the Board.

This service is provided to you at no charge by Maryland Department of Health, Massage Therapy Board.

NOTICE: Board responses to inquiries are intended for guidance purposes only. As these positions do not necessarily reflect a discussion of all material considerations required to reach the conclusions stated, they are not intended to be rules, regulations or official statements of the Board. Accordingly, due to their highly informal nature, these responses are not considered binding upon the Board and should not be relied on as definitive.

This email was sent to Email Address using GovDelivery Communications Cloud on behalf of: Maryland Department of Health [Boards & Commission] · 201 West Preston Street · Baltimore, MD 21201

