
   

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners 

Spring Grove Hospital Center  Benjamin Rush Building 
55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive 
Catonsville, Maryland  21228 

(410) 402-8509 
 
 

APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT OF EXPIRED 2017  
DENTAL RADIATION TECHNOLOGIST CERTIFICATE (EVEN-NUMBERED) 

 
Notice For Mailing List: 
The information collected on this application form is collected for the purposes of the Board’s functions under Annotated Code of 
Maryland, Health Occupations, Title 4.  Failure to provide the information may result in denial of your application.  You have a right to 
inspect, amend, and request correction of this information.  The Board may permit inspection of this information or make it available to 
others only as permitted by federal and State law.  Under the Maryland Public Information Act, Annotated Code of Maryland, General 
Provisions Article, §4-333, the Board may provide, for a fee, a list of licensees’ names and addresses to professional associations and 
other entities. You may request in writing that your name be omitted from such lists. 
 
Your application must be fully completed and signed, in order to be processed.  Incomplete forms will be returned and will cause your 
reinstatement to be delayed.  Practicing without a current active certification issued by this Board is a violation of the 
Maryland Dentistry Act and could result in disciplinary action, including suspension and revocation. 
 
Your advisor is Debbie Wurster.  Ms. Wurster may be reached at 410-402-8509.  In Ms. Wurster’s absence, you may contact Ms. 

Debbie Welch at 410-402-8511. 

 

Address:  The Board must, by law, have a valid address for you.  The address you provide is the “address of record” that is available 

for public information requests and the address to which the Board will forward all correspondence.  The Board does not send 

certifications to post office boxes.  You must provide a street address.  Please provide a telephone number where you can be reached 

during the day in the event the Board needs to contact you regarding the processing of your application. 

 

SECTION I – NAME AND ADDRESS 
Law requires certificate holders to notify the Board of a name or address change within 60 days.   
 
Name  
(Last, First, Middle Initial): 

 

Street Address:  

City, State, Zip:  

 
REINSTATEMENT FEES – PAYABLE TO MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 
Dental Radiation Technologist - $59.00 
 
SECTION II – GENERAL INFORMATION  
 
A.  Social Security Number:    -   -       
(There is a statutory requirement that you disclose your social security number.  It will be used for identification purposes only.) 
 
B.  Home Phone Number:    -    -      
 
C.  Work Phone Number:    -    -      
 
D.  Date of Birth     -   -      
 
E.  E-Mail Address:   
 
F.  Gender:  Female     Male 
 
G.  Race/Ethnic Identification – Please check all that apply 

 
 
 

 

Are you of Hispanic or Latino origin?     Yes      No   
(A person of Cuban, Mexican, Puerto Rican, South or Central American, or other Spanish culture or origin, regardless of race.) 
 



   

Select one or more of the following racial categories: 
 
1.   American Indian or Alaska Native (A person having origins in any of the original peoples of North or  

South America, including Central America, and who maintains tribal affiliations or community attachment.) 
 
2.   Asian (A person having origin in any of the original peoples of the Far East, Southeast Asia, or the Indian  

subcontinent including, for example, Cambodia, China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, the Philippine Islands, 
Thailand, and Vietnam.) 

 
3.   Black or African American (A person having origins in any of the black racial groups of Africa.) 
 
4.   Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander (A person having origins in the original peoples of Hawaii, Guam, Samoa, or other 

Pacific Islands.) 
 
5.   White (A person having origins in any of the original peoples of Europe, the Middle East, or North Africa.) 
 
H.  Have you practiced dental radiation technology, which is the placement or exposure of dental radiographs, on or 
after April 4, 2017?       Yes  No If yes, provide the date(s) ________________________________________ 
  
I. Provide the name, address, and telephone number of the dental office or offices at which you were employed on or 
after April 4, 2017, including the name of your supervising dentist(s).  

 
___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
 
___________________________________________________________________________________________ 
 
J.  Licensure in other states: 
 
List other states or jurisdiction in which you hold a dental radiation technologist certification or license.  Include certification/license 
number(s). 
 

State Certification/License Number 

  

  

  

 
 
SECTION III - CHARACTER AND FITNESS 
 
If you answer “YES” to any question(s) in Section III – Character and Fitness, attach a separate page with a complete 
explanation of each occasion.  Each attachment must have your name in print, signature, and date. 
 
The following questions pertain to the period starting on March 1, 2015 and ending March 1, 2017. 
 
YES NO SINCE MARCH 1, 2015 

 
   a. Has any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal entity denied your 

application for certification, reinstatement, or renewal, or taken any action against your license, including but not 
limited to reprimand, suspension, revocation, a fine, or non-judicial punishment? If you are under a Board Order or 
were ever under a Board Order in a state other than Maryland you must enclose a certified legible copy of the entire 
Order with this application. 

 
   b. Have any investigations or charges been brought against you or are any currently pending in any jurisdiction, 

including Maryland, by any licensing or disciplinary board or any federal or state entity? 
 
  c. Has your application for dental radiation technology certification in any jurisdiction been withdrawn for any reason? 
 
   d. Has an investigation or charge been brought against you by a hospital, related institution, or alternative health 

care system? 
 
   e. Have you had any denial of application for privileges, failure to renew your privileges, or limitation, restriction, 

suspension, revocation or loss in privileges in a hospital, related health care facility, or alternative health care 
system? 

 
  f. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction or receipt of probation before judgment or other 

diversionary disposition of any criminal act, excluding minor traffic violations? 
 



   

SECTION III - CHARACTER AND FITNESS (CONT’D) 
 
YES NO SINCE MARCH 1, 2015 
 
   g. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction, or receipt of probation before judgment or other 

diversionary disposition for an alcohol or controlled dangerous substance offense, including but not limited to driving 
while under the influence of alcohol or controlled dangerous substances? 

 
   h. Do you have criminal charges pending against you in any court of law, excluding minor traffic violations? 
 
   i. Do you have a physical condition that impairs your ability to practice dental radiation technology? 
 
  j. Do you have a mental health condition that impairs your ability to practice dental radiation technology? 
 
   k. Have the use of drugs and/or alcohol resulted in an impairment of your ability to practice dental radiation 
                         technology? 
 
   l. Have you illegally used drugs? 
 
   m. Have you surrendered or allowed your certificate to lapse while under investigation by any licensing or disciplinary 

board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal or state entity? 
 
   n. Have you been named as a defendant in a filing or settlement of a malpractice action? 
 
   o. Has your employment been affected or have you voluntarily resigned from any employment, in any setting, or 

have you been terminated or suspended, from any hospital, related health care or other institution, or any federal 
entity for any disciplinary reasons or while under investigation for disciplinary reasons? 

 
The Well Being Committee assists dental assistants and their families who are experiencing personal problems. The Committee 
has helped a number of dental assistants over the years with problems such as stress, drug dependence, alcoholism, depression, 
medical problems, infectious diseases, neurological disorders and other illnesses that cause impairment. For more information please 
call 800-974-0068 or visit the website at www.mdhawell-being.org. 
 

SECTION IV – REQUIREMENTS FOR REINSTATEMENT 
 

I have completed a 2-hour Board-approved course on infection control, which may be taken in a classroom or on-line. 

 

      a. Active Practice.  I have actively practiced dental radiation technology for at least 600 hours within the 6 years preceding 

March 1, 2017; or 
 

         b. Not Actively Practiced.  I have not actively practiced dental radiation technology for at least 600 hours within the 6 

years preceding March 1, 2017.  I have completed within the 1 year period preceding the renewal, 8 classroom hours of 
dental continuing education, 4 hours of which must be in radiation safety. 

 
Release and Certification: 
Practice of dental radiation technology without a current certification issued by the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners is a 
violation of the Maryland Dentistry Act.  I affirm that the contents of this document are true and correct to the best of my knowledge 
and belief.  Failure to provide truthful answers may result in disciplinary action.  
 
I agree that the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners (the Board) may request any information necessary to process my 
application for dental radiation technologist certification in Maryland from any person or agency, including but not limited to 
postgraduate program directors, individual dentists, government agencies, the National Practitioner Data Bank, the Healthcare Integrity 
and Protection Data Bank, hospitals and other licensing bodies, and I agree that any person or agency may release to the Board the 
information requested.  I also agree to sign any subsequent release for information that may be requested by the Board. 
 
I agree that I will fully cooperate with any request for information or with any investigation related to my practice as a licensed dental 
radiation technologist in the State of Maryland, including the subpoena of documents or records.  
 
During the period in which my application is being processed, I shall inform the Board within 30 days of any change to any answer I 
originally gave in this application, any arrest or conviction, any change of address or any action that occurs based on accusations that 
would be grounds for disciplinary action under the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 10.44.19.12. 
 
 
_________________________________________________________________  _______________________________ 
Applicant Signature        Date 
 



   

NOTARY SECTION 

 
State of ___________________, County of _________________, then personally appeared the above named 

______________________________________, and signed and sworn to the truth of the foregoing statements in my  

presence. 

 
 Notary Public:  __________________________   My Commission Expires:  __________________ 
 
 
 
 
SEAL 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Revised: 03/13/17



   

MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 
 
 

Application for Reinstatement of Expired 2017 Dental 
Radiation Technologist Certificate (Even-Numbered)           

 
Checklist 

 

Please review prior to sending your application package to the Board. 
 

 1. Is your application completed front and back? 
 

 Did you sign and have the application notarized?  You can find a 
notary at any bank, post office or printing and shipping 
business, or on-line notary directories. 
 

 2. Did you enclose the 59.00 non-refundable fee in a check or money order 
made payable to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners? 

 
 3. Did you enclose proof of 8 classroom hours of dental continuing education 

Radiation Refresher course? 
 

 4. Did you enclose proof of a 2-hour Board-approved course on infection 
control, which may be taken in a classroom or on-line.   

 
 5.   Did you enclose a written explanation if you answered “YES” to any  

question(s) in Section II Character and Fitness? 
 

 6. Did you enclose a notarized statement, indicating whether you have 
practiced dental radiation technology, which is the placement or exposure 
of dental radiographs, on or after April 4, 2017?   If yes, please include 
the month, day and year. 

 
 7. Did you enclose documentation of legal name change (i.e. marriage 

certificate) if the documents sent with the application are in another 
name? 

 
  

  



   

MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 
GUIDELINES FOR REINSTATEMENT OF EXPIRED 2017  

DENTAL RADIATION TECHNOLOGIST CERTIFICATE (EVEN-NUMBERED) 
 

The Board may not process a certification application until each provision or requirement is 
met and each document is received.  Please ensure that your application is complete before 

it is submitted.  

 
Reinstatement of Expired 2017 Dental Radiation Technologist Certification (Even-

Numbered)   
An individual holding an expired certificate to practice dental radiation technology may 

apply for reinstatement if the applicant: 

 
(1) Completes a dental radiation technology reinstatement application; and 

 
(2) Provides proof of completion of 8 classroom hours of dental continuing education 

from Board-approved courses, 4 hours of which must be in radiology and in addition 
a 2-hour Board-approved course on infection control and;  

 

(3) Provides a notarized statement, indicating whether you have practiced dental 
radiation technology, which is the placement or exposure of dental radiographs, on 

or after April 4, 2017?  If yes, please include the month, day and year. 
 

(4) Pays to the Board a certification reinstatement fee of $59.00. 

 
To apply for reinstatement of certification, you must submit the Application for 

Reinstatement of Expired 2017 Dental Radiation Technologist Certificate (Even-Numbered) 
and enclose the following with your application: 

 
 A $59.00 non-refundable fee. 
 
 Proof of completion of 8 hours of continuing education, including at least 4 hours in radiology 

and a 2-hour Board-approved course on infection control, which may be taken in a classroom or 
on-line.  The course(s) must have been completed within one year preceding the date of your 
application for reinstatement. 

 
 A notarized statement indicating whether you have practiced dental radiation technology, which 

is the placement or exposure of dental radiographs, on or after April 4, 2017? If yes, please 
include the month, day and year. 

 

Before submitting your application… 
 

1. Is your application completed front and back? 

2. Did you sign and have the application notarized? 
3. Did you enclose a check or money order in the amount of $59.00 made payable to the 

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners? 
4. Did you enclose proof of continuing education? (2-hour Board-approved course on infection 

control, 8 classroom hours of dental continuing education radiation refresher course) 

5. Did you enclose a notarized statement indicating whether you practiced dental radiation 
technology, which is the placement or exposure of dental radiographs, on or after April 4, 

2017?  If yes, please include the month, day and year. 
6. If you have changed your name, did you enclose proof of legal name change such as a 

marriage certificate, divorce decree, or other court document? 
7. Did you enclose a written explanation if you answered “YES” to any questions(s) in Section 

III Character and Fitness? 

 



   

MAIL APPLICATION AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS TO: 
 

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners 
The Benjamin Rush Building 

Spring Grove Hospital Center 
55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive  

Catonsville, MD  21228 

ATTN:  Licensing Unit 
 
 


