
Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners 
Spring Grove Hospital Center  Benjamin Rush Building 

55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive 
Catonsville, Maryland 21228 

(410) 402-8511 

 
APPLICATION FOR REINSTATEMENT OF EXPIRED  

DENTAL OR DENTAL HYGIENE GENERAL OR TEACHER’S LICENSE  
 
Notice For Mailing List: 
The information collected on this application form is collected for the purposes of the Board’s functions under the Annotated Code of 
MD, Health Occupations Article, Title 4.  Failure to provide the information may result in denial of your application.  You have a right   
to inspect, amend, and request correction of this information.  The Board may permit inspection of this information or make it available 
to others only as permitted by federal and State law.  Under the Maryland Public Information Act, the Annotated Code of MD, State 
Gov’t Article, §10-617, the Board may provide, for a fee, a list of licensees’ names and addresses to professional associations and other 
entities.  You may request in writing that your name be omitted from such lists. 
 

SECTION I – GENERAL INFORMATION 
Name  
(Last, First, Middle Initial): 

 

Address of Record: 
(Street Address) 

 

City, State, Zip:  

 
REINSTATEMENT FEES – PAYABLE TO MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

General Dentist License:   $860     General Dental Hygienist License:   $332 
Teacher’s Dentist License: $225    Teacher’s Dental Hygienist License:  $225 
 
A.  Maryland dental or dental hygiene license number:      Expiration date:      

B.  Social Security Number:    -   -       

(There is a statutory requirement that you disclose your social security number.  It will be used for identification purposes only.) 
 

C.  Date of Birth:    -   -     

D.  Cell Phone Number:     -    -      

E.  Home Phone Number:    -    -      

F.  Work Phone Number:    -    -      

G.  E-Mail Address:     

H.  Gender Identification:  Female     Male 

I.   Race/Ethnic Identification – Please check all that apply 

 
Select one or more of the following racial categories: 
 

1.   American Indian or Alaska Native (A person having origins in any of the original peoples of North or  
South America, including Central America, and who maintains tribal affiliations or community attachment.) 

 
2.   Asian (A person having origin in any of the original peoples of the Far East, Southeast Asia, or the Indian  

subcontinent including, for example, Cambodia, China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, the Philippine Islands, 
Thailand, and Vietnam.) 

 
3.   Black or African American (A person having origins in any of the black racial groups of Africa.) 
 
4.   Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander (A person having origins in the original peoples of Hawaii, Guam, Samoa, or other 

Pacific Islands.) 
 
5.   White (A person having origins in any of the original peoples of Europe, the Middle East, or North Africa.) 

 

 

Are you of Hispanic or Latino origin?     Yes      No   
(A person of Cuban, Mexican, Puerto Rican, South or Central American, or other Spanish culture or origin, regardless of race.) 
 



J.  Requested license reinstatement type: 
Check one:  General Dentist License  

   Teacher’s Dentist License 
   General Dental Hygiene License 
   Teacher’s Dental Hygiene License 
 
K.  Active practice: 

Since the last renewal of your Maryland license have you practiced in the state of Maryland?    Yes       No 
Since the last renewal of your Maryland license have you practiced in a state other than Maryland?    Yes       No   

 If yes, list states.  ____________________________________________________________________________ 
 
L.  Licensure in other states: 
List other states or jurisdictions in which you hold or have held a dental or dental hygiene license.  Include license number(s). 
 

State License Number 

  

  

  

 
SECTION II - CHARACTER AND FITNESS 

 
If you answer “YES” to any question(s) in Section II – Character and Fitness, attach a separate page with a complete explanation of 
each occasion.  Each attachment must have your name in print, signature, and date.   

 
YES NO  
 

  a.  Has any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal entity denied your 
application for licensure, reinstatement or renewal, or taken any action against your license, including but not 

  limited to reprimand, suspension, revocation, a fine, or non judicial punishment?  If you are under a Board Order  
  or were ever under a Board Order in a state other than Maryland you must enclose a certified legible copy of the 

entire Order with this application. 
 

  b.  Have any investigations or charges been brought against you or are any currently pending in any jurisdiction, 
including Maryland, by any licensing or disciplinary board or any federal or state entity? 

  

  c. Has your application for a dentist or dental hygiene license been withdrawn for any reason?  
 

  d. Has an investigation or charge been brought against you by a hospital, related institution, or alternative health 
care system? 

 
  e. Have you had any denial of application for privileges, been denied for failure to renew your privileges, or 

limitation, restriction, suspension, revocation or loss of privileges in a hospital, related health care facility, or 
alternative health care system? 

 
  f.  Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction or receipt of probation before judgment or other 

diversionary disposition of any criminal act, excluding minor traffic violations? 
 

  g.  Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction, or receipt of probation before judgment or other 
diversionary disposition for an alcohol or controlled dangerous substance offense, including but not limited to  

  driving while under the influence of alcohol or controlled dangerous substances? 
 

  h. Do you have any criminal charges pending against you in any court of law, excluding minor traffic violations? 
 

  i. Do you have a physical condition that impairs your ability to practice dentistry/dental hygiene? 
 

  j. Do you have a mental health condition that impairs your ability to practice dentistry/dental hygiene? 
 

  k. Have the use of drugs and/or alcohol resulted in an impairment of your ability to practice dentistry/dental hygiene?  
 

  l. Have you illegally use drugs? 
 

  m. Have you surrendered or allowed your license to lapse while under investigation by any licensing or disciplinary 
board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal or state entity? 

 
  n. Have you been named as a defendant in a filing or settlement of a malpractice action? 

 
 



SECTION II - CHARACTER AND FITNESS (CONT’D) 
 
YES NO 
 

  o. Has your employment been affected or have you voluntarily resigned from any employment, in any setting, or 
have you been terminated or suspended, from any hospital, related health care or other institution, or any federal or 
state entity for any disciplinary reasons or while under investigation for disciplinary reasons? 

 

Incomplete applications will be returned and will be subject to a $50.00 application reprocessing fee. 
 
SECTION III - CONTINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS   
 
YES NO  
 

  a.  Continuing education requirement met.  I have completed 30 hours of continuing education, including two (2) 
hours of infection control, a 2-hour Board-approved course on abuse and neglect as it relates to Maryland law, 2-
hour Board-approved course on proper prescribing and disposal of prescription drugs (pharmacology) and maintained  
my CPR certification during the two years prior to this reinstatement and have enclosed documentation to support 
that I have met the Board’s continuing education requirements.   

   
SECTION IV – SPECIALTIES 
 
Does the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners recognize you as a specialist?  YES     NO 
If so, please indicate specialty?    _________________ 
 
 

Release and Certification: 
I hereby affirm that I have read and followed the above instructions.  I hereby certify that all information in this application is accurate 
and correct. 
 
I agree that the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners (the Board) may request any information necessary to process my 
application for dental or dental hygiene licensure in Maryland from any person or agency, including but not limited to postgraduate 
program directors, individual dentists, government agencies, the National Practitioner Data Bank, the Healthcare Integrity and 
Protection Data Bank, hospitals and other licensing bodies, and I agree that any person or agency may release to the Board the 
information requested.  I also agree to sign any subsequent release for information that may be requested by the Board. 
 
I agree that I will fully cooperate with any request for information or with any investigation related to my practice of dental hygiene or 
dental practice as a licensed dentist or dental hygienist in the State of Maryland, including the subpoena of documents or records or 
the inspection of my dental or dental hygiene practice. 
 
During the period in which my application is being processed, I shall inform the Board within 30 days of any change to any answer I 
originally gave in this application, any arrest or conviction, any change of address or any action that occurs based on accusations that 
would be grounds for disciplinary action under the Annotated Code of Maryland, Health Occupations §4-315. 

 
 
__________________________________________________  ________________________ 
Applicant Signature      Date 

 

 
NOTARY SECTION 

 
State of ___________________, County of _________________, Then personally appeared the above named 

______________________________________, and signed and sworn to the truth of the foregoing statements in my  

presence. 

 
 Notary Public:  __________________________   My Commission Expires:  __________________ 
 
 
 
 
SEAL 
 
 
 

Revised 10-07-19 



MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 
 

Application for Reinstatement of Expired  

Dental or Dental Hygiene General or Teacher’s License 
 

Checklist 
 

Please review prior to sending your application package to the Board. 
 

Incomplete applications will be returned and will be subject to a $50.00 application reprocessing fee. 
 

 1. Is your application completed front and back? 

 

 Did you sign and have the application notarized? 

 

 2. Did you enclose the non-refundable fee in a check or money order made payable to the Maryland State  

  Board of Dental Examiners? 

 

 3. Did you enclose a notarized affidavit(s), or other evidence satisfactory to the Board, that you have  

  actively practiced dentistry or dental hygiene in the 3 years immediately preceding the date of  

  application for reinstatement?  

  (Not applicable for the reinstatement of a dentist or dental hygiene teacher’s license.) 

 

 4. Did you enclose a certified letter with the state seal affixed from each state in which you hold or have  

  ever held a license, verifying that the license is or was in good standing and that no disciplinary action  

  has ever been taken against the license? 

 

 5. Did you enclose a written explanation if you answered “YES” to any question(s) in Section II Character  

  and Fitness? 

 

 6. Did you enclose documentation of completion of 30 hours of clinical continuing education, including  

  2 hours of infection control, a 2-hour Board-approved course on abuse and neglect as it relates to   

  Maryland law, a 2-hour Board-approved course on proper prescribing and disposal of prescription drugs  

  (Pharmacology), and proof of current cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification? 

 

 7. Did you enclose documentation of legal name change (i.e. marriage certificate or court documents) if the  

  documents sent with the application are in another name? 

 

 8. Did you enclose the Maryland Jurisprudence Examination and the notarized affidavit form along with  

  the $50.00 non-refundable fee in a check or money order payable to the Maryland State Board of Dental  

  Examiners? 
   

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 



MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 

GUIDELINES FOR REINSTATEMENT OF EXPIRED  

DENTAL OR DENTAL HYGIENE LICENSE 
 
The Board may not process a licensure application until each provision or requirement is met and each 

document is received.  Please ensure that your application is complete before it is submitted. 
 

Reinstatement of General Dental License   
An individual holding an expired general license to practice dentistry may apply for reinstatement if the 

applicant: 

 
a.  Submits to the Board a notarized affidavit(s), or other evidence satisfactory to the Board, that the applicant 

has actively practiced dentistry within the 3 years immediately preceding the date of application for 
reinstatement; and 

 

b. Submits to the Board satisfactory proof of licensure and good standing from all states in which the applicant 
is currently licensed; and  

 
c.   Submits to the Board an application for reinstatement on a form provided by the Board; and  

 

d.   Has fulfilled the continuing education requirements of the Board; and 
 

e.   Passes a written Maryland Law Examination given by the Board with at least a score of 75%; and 
 

f.    Is otherwise entitled to be licensed. 
 

Reinstatement of General Dental Hygiene License   

An individual holding an expired general license to practice dental hygiene may apply for reinstatement if 
the applicant: 

 
a. Submits to the Board notarized affidavit(s), or other evidence satisfactory to the Board, that the applicant 

has actively practiced dental hygiene within the 3 years immediately preceding the date of application for           

      reinstatement; and 
 

b. Submits to the Board satisfactory proof of licensure and good standing from all states in which the applicant 
is currently licensed; and  

 
c.   Submits to the Board an application for reinstatement on a form provided by the Board; and 

 

d.   Has fulfilled the continuing education requirements of the Board; and 
 

e.   Passes a written Maryland Law Examination given by the Board with at least a score of 75%; and 
 

f.    Is otherwise entitled to be licensed. 

 
Reinstatement of Dental or Dental Hygiene Teacher’s License   

An individual holding an expired teacher’s license to practice dentistry or dental hygiene may apply for 
reinstatement if the applicant: 

 

a.   Submits to the Board satisfactory proof of licensure and good standing from all states in which the applicant   
      is currently licensed; and                      

 
b.   Submits to the Board an application for reinstatement on a form provided by the Board; and 

 
c. Has fulfilled the continuing education requirements of the Board; and  

 

d. Passes a written Maryland Law Examination given by the Board with at least a score of 75%; and 
 

e.   Is otherwise entitled to be licensed. 
 



To apply for reinstatement of licensure, submit the Application for Reinstatement of Dental or Dental 
Hygiene License and enclose the following with your application: 

 
Reinstatement of General Dental License   

 

➢ A $860 non-refundable fee. 

 

➢ A notarized affidavit(s), or other evidence satisfactory to the Board, that the applicant has actively 

practiced dentistry within the 3 years immediately preceding the date of application for reinstatement.  

The affidavit must include the full name, address, telephone number, and date of employment for 

each place employed.  

 

➢ A certified letter with the state seal affixed from each state in which you hold or have ever held a 

license, verifying that the license is or was in good standing and that no disciplinary action has ever been 

taken against the license. 

 

➢ Documentation of completion of 30 hours of clinical continuing education, including 2 hours of 

infection control, a 2-hour Board-approved course on abuse and neglect as it relates to Maryland law,  

2-hour Board-approved course on proper prescribing and disposal of prescription drugs (Pharmacology) 

during the two-year period before the date of application and proof of current cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation (CPR) certification.  
 

Reinstatement of General Dental Hygiene License   

 

➢ A $332 non-refundable fee. 

 

➢ A notarized affidavit(s), or other evidence satisfactory to the Board, that the applicant has actively 

practiced dental hygiene within the 3 years immediately preceding the date of application for 

reinstatement.  The affidavit must include the full name, address, telephone number, and date of 

employment for each place employed.  

 

A certified letter with the state seal affixed from each state in which you hold or have ever held a 

license, verifying that the license is or was in good standing and that no disciplinary action has ever been 

taken against the license. 

 

➢ Documentation of completion of 30 hours of clinical continuing education, including 2 hours of 

infection control, a 2-hour Board-approved course on abuse and neglect as it relates to Maryland law  

during the two-year period before the date of application and proof of current cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation (CPR) certification.   
 

Reinstatement of Dental or Dental Hygiene Teacher’s License   
 

➢ A $225 non-refundable fee.  

 

➢ A certified letter with the state seal affixed from each state in which you hold or have ever held a 

license, verifying that the license is or was in good standing and that no disciplinary action has ever been 

taken against the license. 

 

➢ Documentation of completion of 30 hours of clinical continuing education, including 2 hours of 

infection control, a 2-hour Board-approved course on abuse and neglect as it relates to Maryland law, 

2-hour Board-approved course on proper prescribing and disposal of prescription drugs (Pharmacology) 

during the two-year period before the date of application and proof of current cardiopulmonary 

resuscitation (CPR) certification.   
 



 Additional Requirements: 
 

 Maryland Jurisprudence Examination.  All applicants for licensure in Maryland must take and pass the 
 Jurisprudence Examination on the Dental Laws and Regulations of this State with at least a score of 75%.  It is 

 an open book examination and may be found on the Board’s website at www.health.maryland.gov/dental/.  

 The examination cannot be taken on-line.  You must download the examination, print a hard copy, and complete 
 the examination.  Send the completed examination, notarized Affidavit Form, and $50.00 examination fee to the 

 Board office.  Applicants may also take the examination at the Board office Monday through Friday, except 
 holidays, between the hours of 9:00 AM and 4:00 PM.  You will be scheduled for the examination after your 

 completed application is reviewed.  Please call to schedule the examination if you wish to take the examination  
at the Board office.  

 

 
Incomplete applications will be returned and will be subject to a $50.00 application reprocessing fee. 

 

 

 
 

MAIL APPLICATION AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS TO: 

 
Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners 

The Benjamin Rush Building 
Spring Grove Hospital Center 

55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive  

Catonsville, MD  21228 
ATTN:  Licensing Unit 

 
 

 

 

          

http://www.health.maryland.gov/dental/

