MSBDE E-NEWS

AND REALTH AND MENTAL HYGENE

"Continuing Education" A Continuing Requirement

Online-Editor: Ali Behnia, DMD

In order to practice and renew your Maryland dental and dental hygiene license every 2 years, you need no less than 30 hours of Board-approved continuing education courses which must be completed over a 2-year period ending on December 31 of the year preceding the year in which the license is due for renewal. So if your license is to be renewed by June 30, 2014, you need to have completed your CE requirements by December 31, 2013. In addition to the 30 hours of CE requirements, there are a number of other requirements that you need to have completed:

- Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation Certification (CPR) from a Board-approved program. CPR certification must not be allowed to lapse.
- Prevent Abuse and Neglect as it relates to Maryland law, a 2 hour Board-approved course which must be completed every other renewal cycle.
- REQUIRED FOR DENTISTS ONLY Proper Prescribing and Disposal of Prescription Drugs, a 2 hour Board-approved course. This required course will be offered by the Board in a form webinar at no charge. The course must be completed each renewal cycle beginning with the 2015 cycle. Therefore those dentists who renew their license in 2014 will not be required to complete the course. The Board hopes to have the webinar available sometime in November. You will receive an additional e-mail when the webinar goes on-line. Note that although only dentists are required to complete the course, dental hygienists may also complete the course and receive CE credit.

You may also receive up to 8 hours of CE credits by performing Pro Bono dental or dental hygiene services, and up to 4 hours of CE credits for Board-approved courses on cultural competency. For details of these programs please contact Ms. Sandra Sage at 410-402-8510.

The Board may audit your continuing education records by requesting verification. You must maintain accurate records of your continuing education courses or programs for 5 years.

This has been a summary. Continuing education requirements are found in the Code of Maryland Regulations, (COMAR) 10.44.22. A Bulletin titled "Continuing Education" may be found on the Board's website under "Table of Contents" and "Bulletins – Important Topics of Interest."

Please note that a violation of the continuing education regulations shall result in nonrenewal of the license. In addition, a false statement on a renewal form constitutes unprofessional conduct and may result in disciplinary action against the licensee.