MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS



E-Newsletter

Continuing Education Requirements For Dental License Renewal - 2015

Editor: Ali Behnia, DMD

As you know, in order to renew your Maryland dental and dental hygiene license every 2 years, you need no less than 30 hours of Board-approved continuing education courses which must be completed over a 2-year period ending on December 31 of the year preceding the year in which the license is due for renewal.

On October 13, 2014 amendments to the Board's continuing education requirements became effective. In addition to the existing continuing education requirements, dentists are now required to complete a 2-hour Board-approved course on proper prescribing and disposal of prescription drugs every other renewal cycle beginning with the 2015 cycle. The course will count toward the 30 hours of required continuing education. An on-line version of the course is presently being offered by the Dental Board at no charge. You may take this on-line course through the Board's websites at http://dhmh.maryland.gov/dental.

In addition, there has been some confusion regarding the 2-hour Board-approved course in abuse and neglect as it relates to Maryland law. That course is also a requirement for license renewal every other renewal cycle. Therefore if you were required to complete the course in abuse and neglect for your 2011 renewal, you will be required to complete the course for your 2015 license renewal. If you completed the course in 2013, you need not complete it again until 2017.

As you know, continuing education must generally be completed by December 31st of the year preceding license renewal. <u>Because of the relative short notice provided by this e-mail, all dentists will be given an automatic extension until June 30, 2015 to complete the course on proper prescribing and disposal of prescription drugs as well as the course on abuse and neglect.</u>

The automatic extension applies only to the 2015 license renewal period and only to the courses on proper prescribing and disposal of prescription drugs, and the course on abuse and neglect. If you have not completed the remainder of your continuing education classes by December 31st, you must request an extension until June 30, 2015 in the normal course. The request for an extension must be in writing and transmitted either by fax, e-mail, or letter.

If you have any questions, please contact Ms. Debbie Welch, Dentist Licensing Coordinator, by phone at 410-402-8511. Ms. Welch's email address is debbie.welch@maryland.gov, and her fax number is 410-402-8505.

The Board apologizes for any inconvenience.