
   

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners 
Spring Grove Hospital Center  Benjamin Rush Building 

55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive 
Catonsville, Maryland  21228 

(410) 402-8509 
 

APPLICATION FOR  
REINSTATEMENT OF EXPIRED 

DENTAL RADIATION TECHNOLOGIST CERTIFICATE 
 
 

Notice for Mailing List: 
The information collected on this application form is collected for the purposes of the Board’s functions under Annotated Code of 
Maryland, Health Occupations, Title 4.  Failure to provide the information may result in denial of your application.  You have a right 
to inspect, amend, and request correction of this information.  The Board may permit inspection of this information or make it 
available to others only as permitted by federal and State law.  Under the Maryland Public Information Act, Annotated Code of 
Maryland, General Provisions Article, §4-333, the Board may provide, for a fee, a list of licensees’ names and addresses to 
professional associations and other entities. You may request in writing that your name be omitted from such lists. 
 
Your application must be fully completed and signed, in order to be processed.  Incomplete forms will be returned and will cause your 
reinstatement to be delayed.  Practicing without a current active certification issued by this Board is a violation of the Maryland 
Dentistry Act and could result in disciplinary action, including suspension and revocation. 

 

Your advisor is Debbie Wurster.  Ms. Wurster may be reached at 410-402-8509.  In Ms. Wurster’s absence, you may contact Ms. 

Debbie Welch at 410-402-8511. 

 

Address:  The Board must, by law, have a valid address for you.  The address you provide is the “address of record” that is available 

for public information requests and the address to which the Board will forward all correspondence.  The Board does not send 

certifications to post office boxes.  You must provide a street address.  Please provide a telephone number where you can be reached 

during the day in the event the Board needs to contact you regarding the processing of your application. 

 

SECTION I – NAME AND ADDRESS 
Law requires certificate holders to notify the Board of a name or address change within 60 days.   

 
Name  

(Last, First, Middle Initial): 
 

Street Address:  

City, State, Zip:  

 
REINSTATEMENT FEES – MADE PAYABLE TO MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 
Dental Radiation Technologist Reinstatement - $118.00 (NO CASH) 
 
SECTION II – GENERAL INFORMATION  
 
A.  Social Security Number:    -   -       
(There is a statutory requirement that you disclose your social security number.  It will be used for identification purposes only.) 
 
B.  Date of Birth:    -   -     
 
C.  Home Phone Number:    -    -      
 
D.  Cell Phone Number:      -    -      
 
E.  Work Phone Number:    -    -      
 
F.  E-Mail Address:   
 
G.  Gender Identification:  Female     Male 
 

  

 



   

H.  Race/Ethnic Identification – Please check all that apply 

 

 
 
Select one or more of the following racial categories: 
 
1.   American Indian or Alaska Native (A person having origins in any of the original peoples of North or  

South America, including Central America, and who maintains tribal affiliations or community attachment.) 
 
2.   Asian (A person having origin in any of the original peoples of the Far East, Southeast Asia, or the Indian  

subcontinent including, for example, Cambodia, China, India, Japan, Korea, Malaysia, Pakistan, the Philippine Islands, 
Thailand, and Vietnam.) 

 
3.   Black or African American (A person having origins in any of the black racial groups of Africa.) 
 
4.   Native Hawaiian or other Pacific Islander (A person having origins in the original peoples of Hawaii, Guam, Samoa, or other 

Pacific Islands.) 
 
5.   White (A person having origins in any of the original peoples of Europe, the Middle East, or North Africa.) 
 

I.  Licensure in other states: 

List other states or jurisdiction in which you hold a dental radiation technologist certification or license.  Include certification/license 

number(s). 

 

State Certification/License Number 
  

  

  

 
 

SECTION III - CHARACTER AND FITNESS 
 

If you answer “YES” to any question(s) in Section III – Character and Fitness, attach a separate page with a complete 

explanation of each occasion.  Each attachment must have your name in print, signature, and date. 

 

YES NO  

 
   a. Has any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal entity denied your 

application for certification, reinstatement, or renewal, or taken any action against your license, including but not 
limited to reprimand, suspension, revocation, a fine, or non-judicial punishment? If you are under a Board Order or 
were ever under a Board Order in a state other than Maryland you must enclose a certified legible copy of the entire 
Order with this application. 

 
   b. Have any investigations or charges been brought against you or are any currently pending in any jurisdiction, 

including Maryland, by any licensing or disciplinary board or any federal or state entity? 
 
  c. Has your application for a dental radiation technology certification in any jurisdiction been withdrawn for any 

reason? 
 
   d. Has an investigation or charge been brought against you by a hospital, related institution, or alternative health care 

system? 
 
   e. Have you had any denial of application for privileges, been denied for failure to renew your privileges, or 

limitation, restriction, suspension, revocation or loss of privileges in a hospital, related health care facility, or 
alternative health care system? 

 
  f. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction or receipt of probation before judgment or other 

diversionary disposition of any criminal act, excluding minor traffic violations? 
 
   g. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction, or receipt of probation before judgment or other 

diversionary disposition for an alcohol or controlled dangerous substance offense, including but not limited to 
driving while under the influence of alcohol or controlled dangerous substances? 

 
 

Are you of Hispanic or Latino origin?     Yes      No   

(A person of Cuban, Mexican, Puerto Rican, South or Central American, or other Spanish culture or origin, regardless of race.) 

 



   

SECTION III – CHARACTER AND FITNESS – (CONT’D) 
 
YES NO  
 
   h. Do you have criminal charges pending against you in any court of law, excluding minor traffic violations? 
 
   i. Do you have a physical condition that impairs your ability to practice dental radiation technology? 
 
  j. Do you have a mental health condition that impairs your ability to practice dental radiation technology? 
 
   k. Have the use of drugs and/or alcohol resulted in an impairment of your ability to practice dental radiation 

technology? 
 
   l. Have you illegally used drugs? 
 
   m. Have you surrendered or allowed your license to lapse while under investigation by any licensing or disciplinary 

board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal or state entity? 
 
   n. Have you been named as a defendant in a filing or settlement of a malpractice action? 
 
    o. Has your employment been affected or have you voluntarily resigned from any employment, in any setting, or    

have you been terminated or suspended, from any hospital, related health care or other institution, or any federal 
entity for any disciplinary reasons or while under investigation for disciplinary reasons? 

 
The Well Being Committee assists dental assistants and their families who are experiencing personal problems. The Committee 

has helped a number of dental assistants over the years with problems such as stress, drug dependence, alcoholism, depression, 

medical problems, infectious diseases, neurological disorders and other illnesses that cause impairment. For more information please 

call 1-800-974-0068 or visit the website at www.mdhawell-being.org. 
 

SECTION IV – REQUIREMENTS FOR REINSTATEMENT 
 

 a.  Dental Continuing Education.  Attach proof of completion of 8 classroom hours of dental continuing education, 4 hours of 

which are on the subject radiation safety, taken within the one-year preceding application for reinstatement.  In addition, I 

have attached completion of a 2-hour Board-approved course on infection control; and 

 

 b. Enclose a notarized statement, indicating whether you have practiced dental radiation technology, which is the placement 

or exposure of dental radiographs since your certificate expired.  If yes, please include the month(s), day(s) and year(s). 

 
Release and Certification: 

Practice of dental radiation technology without a current certification issued by the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners is a 

violation of the Maryland Dentistry Act.  I affirm that the contents of this document are true and correct to the best of my knowledge 

and belief.  Failure to provide truthful answers may result in disciplinary action.  

 

I agree that the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners (the Board) may request any information necessary to process my 

application for dental radiation technologist certification in Maryland from any person or agency, including but not limited to 

postgraduate program directors, individual dentists, government agencies, the National Practitioner Data Bank, the Healthcare 

Integrity and Protection Data Bank, hospitals and other licensing bodies, and I agree that any person or agency may release to the 

Board the information requested.  I also agree to sign any subsequent release for information that may be requested by the Board. 

 

I agree that I will fully cooperate with any request for information or with any investigation related to my practice as a licensed dental 

radiation technologist in the State of Maryland, including the subpoena of documents or records.  

 

During the period in which my application is being processed, I shall inform the Board within 30 days of any change to any answer I 

originally gave in this application, any arrest or conviction, any change of address or any action that occurs based on accusations that 

would be grounds for disciplinary action under the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 10.44.19.12. 

 

 
_________________________________________________________________  _______________________________ 

Applicant Signature        Date 

 
 
 

 

 



   

NOTARY SECTION 
 

State of ___________________, County of _________________, then personally appeared the above named 

______________________________________, and signed and sworn to the truth of the foregoing statements in my  

presence. 

 

 Notary Public:  __________________________   My Commission Expires:  __________________ 

 

 
 
 
SEAL 
 
 
 
 

 
 
 
 
 
 

Revised: 08/21/19 

                                                                                                   

  



   

MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 
 

 

Application for Reinstatement of Dental Radiation Technologist Certificate             

 

Checklist 

 

Please review prior to sending your application package to the Board. 

 

 1. Is your application completed front and back? 

 

 Did you sign and have the application notarized?  You can find a notary at any bank, 

post office or printing and shipping business, or on-line notary directories. 

 

 2. Did you enclose the $118.00 non-refundable fee in a check or money order  

made payable to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners? (NO CASH) 

 

 3. Did you enclose proof of 8 classroom hours of dental continuing education Radiation Refresher 

course? 

 

 4. Did you enclose proof of a 2-hour Board-approved course on infection control, which may be 

taken in a classroom or on-line? 

 

 5.   Did you enclose a written explanation if you answered “YES” to any  

question(s) in Section III Character and Fitness? 

 

 6. Did you enclose a dated, notarized statement, indicating whether you have practiced dental 

radiation technology, which is the placement or exposure of dental radiographs since your 

certificate expired?  If yes, please include the month(s), day(s) and year(s). 

 

 7. Did you enclose documentation of legal name change (i.e. marriage certificate, divorce decree, 

legal name change) if the documents sent with the application are in another name? 

   

 

 

 

 



   

MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS 
GUIDELINES FOR REINSTATEMENT OF DENTAL RADIATION TECHNOLOGIST 

CERTIFICATE  
 

The Board may not process a certification application until each provision or requirement is met and 

each document is received.  Please ensure that your application is complete before it is submitted.  

 

Reinstatement of Dental Radiation Technologist Certification   

An individual holding an expired certificate to practice dental radiation technology may apply for 

reinstatement if the applicant: 

 

(1)  Completes a dental radiation technology reinstatement application; and 

 

(2)  Provides proof of completion of 8 classroom hours of dental continuing education from Board-

approved course, 4 hours of which must be in radiology and in addition, proof of completion of a 2-

hour Board-approved course on infection control; and 

 

(3)  Provides a notarized statement, indicating whether you have practiced dental radiation technology, 

which is the placement or exposure of dental radiographs since your certificate expired.  If yes, 

please include the month(s), day(s) and year(s). 

 

(4)  Pays to the Board a certification reinstatement fee of $118.00.  (No Cash) 

 

To apply for reinstatement of certification, submit the Application for Reinstatement of Dental Radiation 

Technologist Certificate and enclose the following with your application: 

 

➢ A $118 non-refundable fee.  Please enclose a check or money order made payable to Maryland State 

Board of Dental Examiners. 

 

➢ Proof of completion of 8 classroom hours of continuing education, 4 hours of which shall be in 

radiology and in addition, proof of completion of a 2-hour Board-approved course on infection control, 

which may be taken in a classroom or on-line.  The course(s) must have been completed within one year 

preceding the date of your application for reinstatement. 

 

➢ Did you enclose a notarized statement, indicating whether you have practiced dental radiation 

technology, which is the placement or exposure of dental radiographs since your certificate expired?  If 

yes, please include the month(s), day(s) and year(s) 

  

Before submitting your application… 

 

1. Is your application completed front and back? 

2. Did you sign and have the application notarized? 

3. Did you enclose a check or money order in the amount of $118.00 made payable to the Maryland 

State Board of Dental Examiners? (No Cash) 

4. Did you enclose proof of continuing education? (2-hour Board-approved course on infection control, 

8 classroom hours of dental continuing education radiation refresher course) 

5. Did you enclose a notarized statement, indicating whether you have practiced dental radiation 

technology, which is the placement or exposure of dental radiographs since your certificate expired?  

If yes, please include the month(s), day(s) and year(s). 



   

6. If you have changed your name, did you enclose proof of legal name change such as a marriage 

certificate, divorce decree, or other court document? 

7. Did you enclose a written explanation if you answered “YES” to any question(s) in Section III 

Character and Fitness? 

 

 
MAIL APPLICATION AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS TO: 
 

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners 

Spring Grove Hospital Center 

Benjamin Rush Building 

55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive  

Catonsville, MD  21228 

ATTN:  Licensing Unit 

 

 
 
 

 

 
 

 
 


