
 

 

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners 

Continuing Education for License Renewal – Quick Reference Guide1 

All Courses Must be Approved by the Dental Board 
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1This chart is intended to be a guide only, and is not a substitute for the actual regulations. For the actual continuing education law, dentists and 

dental hygienists should refer to the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 10.44.22 Continuing Education. Dental radiation technologists should 

refer to the Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 10.44.19 Dental Radiation Technologist. The regulations may be accessed from the Board’s 

website at www.health.maryland.gov/dental. Note that this chart deals only with continuing education requirements. There are additional 

requirements when appropriate for licensure, renewal of licensure, late renewal, and reinstatement of licensure. Speak to a Board staff representative.  

 
2 30 Hour Educational Requirement for Dentists and Dental Hygienists and General Notes: With the exception of CPR, all courses identified in 

this Guide count toward the required 30 hours of continuing education. Note: The period for completing continuing education requirements extends 

for a 2-year period from January 1, through December 31 of the following year. The 2-year period in which continuing education shall be completed 

ends on December 31 of the year preceding the year in which the license is due for renewal. Dentists and dental hygienist who have not completed 

their required continuing education within the prescribed time must submit a written request for an extension. Courses and programs must be 

http://www.health.maryland.gov/dental


 

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               

“designed to enhance the licensee’s clinical knowledge and ability to treat dental patients” with the following exceptions: courses on abuse and 

neglect as it relates to Maryland law, courses in cultural competency, courses in military culture, and pro bono programs. No credit for courses in 

money management, office management, HIPAA, finance, politics, memory training, and the like. Licensees must maintain continuing education 

records for at least 5 years. Reinstatement of an expired license: Must fulfill the 30 hour continuing education requirement prior to reinstatement.  

 
3 Infection Control Course: 2-hour course. Must be completed by dentists and dental hygienists for each renewal cycle. 

 
4 CPR Course: No continuing education credit. Dentists and dental hygienists must maintain cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification without a 

lapse. The program must be completed through: (1) The American Heart Association’s Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers; (2) The 

American Red Cross’s Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation for Professional Rescuers; or (3) An equivalent program approved by the Board. On-line 

courses are not acceptable.  

 
5 Proper Prescribing and Disposal of Prescription Drugs: 2-hour course. Must be Board-approved. Must be completed by dentists every other 

renewal cycle. It is not a mandatory course for dental hygienists, but dental hygienists may take the course for continuing education credit. 

 
6 Abuse and Neglect as it Relates to Maryland Law: 2-hour course. Must be Board-approved. Must be completed by dentists and dental hygienists 

every other renewal cycle. The course must contain a Maryland law component. 

 
7 Self-Study:  Dentists and dental hygienists  may earn up to 17-hours for self-study activities per renewal cycle for time spent in the following 

activities: (1) Preparing and presenting table clinics; (2) Preparing lectures; (3) Preparing articles for publication in dental journals; and/or (4) 

Attending study clubs or other meetings involved with clinical dentistry. In addition, webinars that are “designed to enhance the licensee’s clinical 

knowledge and ability to treat dental patients” are acceptable.  

 
8 Cultural and Linguistic Competency, Health Disparities, and Health Literacy as well and courses in Military Culture: Dentists and dental 

hygienists may earn a combined total not to exceed 4 hours per renewal cycle. A dentist or a dental hygienist may earn a combined total of up to 4 

continuing education hours for the following Board-approved courses: 1) Cultural and linguistic competency, health disparities, and health literacy; 

and 2) Military culture. See the Board’s website for a course list. 

 
9 Pro Bono Dental and Dental Hygiene Services: Dentists and dental hygienists may earn up to 8 hours per renewal cycle.  Must be volunteer work 

performed in Maryland in association with a legitimate Board-approved non-profit entity. No remuneration; 1 hour of continuing education credit for 

each 60 minutes of service; no credit for missed appointments; dental hygienists must work under the direct supervision of a dentist; may provide 

services in a private dental office if the patient is referred to the office by a Board-approved non-profit entity; must maintain records for at least 5 

years; and must provide clear written instructions to the patient for follow-up care if appropriate. A licensee under a Board disciplinary order or 

agreement that provides for the provision of pro bono services may not receive continuing education credit for the provision of pro bono services.   

 



 

 

                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                                               
10 Infection Control Course and Reinstatement: (dental radiation technologists only): 2-hour infection control course. Must be completed for 

each renewal period. It is the only required course for those who have actively practiced dental radiation technology for at least 600 hours within the 

6 years before the expiration of certification. For those who have not actively practiced dental radiation technology for at least 600 hours within the 6 

years before the expiration of the certification, applicant must provide evidence satisfactory to the Board that the applicant has completed 8 

classroom hours of dental continuing education, 4 hours of which must be on the subject of radiation safety within the 1-year period preceding 

renewal. In addition, the applicant must complete a 2-hour course on infection control. Reinstatement: An individual holding an expired dental 

radiation technologist certification may apply for reinstatement if the individual provides proof of 10 hours of dental continuing education from 

Board-approved courses, of which 4 hours must be in radiology, and 2 hours of infection control. The remaining 4 hours of continuing education 

must be in courses or programs of a clinical nature.  
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