Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners Spring Grove Hospital Center • Benjamin Rush Building 55 Wade Avenue Catonsville, Maryland 21228 (410) 402-8510

APPLICATION FOR DENTAL HYGIENIST RECOGNITION TO PRESCRIBE AND ADMINISTER **MEDICATION**

USE THIS FORM IF YOU ARE A DENTAL HYGIENIST WHO SEEKS RECOGNITION TO PRESCRIBE AND ADMINISTER MEDICATION AND YOU ARE NOT RECOGNIZED TO DO SO IN ANOTHER STATE. IF YOU ARE RECOGNIZED IN ANOTHER STATE, DO NOT USE THIS FORM. THERE IS ANOTHER FORM FOR THOSE INDIVIDUALS WHO ARE RECOGNIZED IN ANOTHER STATE.

GENERAL INSTRUCTIONS

Complete all portions of the application. Enclose a fifty \$50 (dollar) non-refundable check or money order made payable to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners. NOTE: If you hold a Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners' recognition to administer local anesthesia, or a Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners' recognition to administer or monitor nitrous oxide, there is no fee to apply for the recognition to prescribe and administer medication. Enclose all necessary documents. Failure to do so may result in the return of the application.

Notice For Mailing List:

The information collected on this application form is collected for the purposes of the Board's functions under the Annotated Code of MD, Health Occupations Article, Title 4. Failure to provide the information may result in denial of your application. You have a right to inspect, amend, and request correction of this information. The Board may permit inspection of this information or make it available to others only as permitted by federal and State law. Under the Maryland Public Information Act, Annotated Code of Maryland, General Provisions Article, §4-333, the Board may provide, for a fee, a list of licensees' names and addresses to professional associations and other entities. You may request in writing that your name be omitted from such lists.

SECTION I – GENERAL INF	FORMATION
lame Last, First, Middle Initial):	
Address of Record: Street Address)	
City, State, Zip:	
Dental Hygiene License Number:	
he Board you must file a cha he address on this form diffe	e provided to the Board in this application differs from the address you have on file with inge of address form with the Board. The Board will not change the address it has on file if ers from the address it already has on file. Failure to do so may result in your not receiving the Board and may ultimately result in disciplinary action. Please keep an updated address imes.
A. Social Security Number: There is a statutory requirement	that you disclose your social security number. It will be used for identification purposes only.)
3. Date of Birth:	
C. Home Phone Number:	
). Cell Phone Number:	

E. Work Phone Numbe	er:	□ - □	l		
F. E-Mail Address:				7	
G. Licensure in other s List other states or jurisdic		hold or h	ave held a dental hygiene l	icense.	
State		License	e Number		Expiration Date
	ctions in which you		ave held a certificate to add	minister l	local anesthesia.
State	Certificate Num	iber	Expiration Date		
A. School of Dental Hy		ty, State,	, Country):		
B. Date of Graduation:	:		Degree Earned:		
SECTION III – RECO	GNITION TO P	RESCRII	BE AND ADMINISTER	MEDIC	CATION
A. Have you passed a couadministering medication				am of at	least 4 hours in prescribing and
☐ Yes	□ No				
B. If you answered "Yes"	to question A. did	you pass	the course:		
(1) ☐ As an undergraduat	te student at an ac	credited so	chool of dental hygiene; or		
(2) After graduation from	om an accredited so	chool of de	ental hygiene.		
Identify accredited school	of dental hygiene	at which c	course was completed:		
Date on which course was	s completed:				
			ners recognition to either acease check the appropriate		r local anesthesia, monitor nitrous oxide,
☐ Administer local anesth		-		-	

□ admii	nister nitr	rous oxide
		en any of the boxes, you should not include the \$50 fee. Final waiver of the fee is subject to Board verification that utified recognition. You will be advised if the fee is owed.
If you a	answer "	CHARACTER AND FITNESS 'YES" to any question(s) in Section V— Character and Fitness, attach a separate page with a complete each occasion. Each attachment must have your name in print, signature, and date.
YES	NO	a. Has any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal entity denied your application for licensure, reinstatement, renewal, or taken any action against your license, including but not limited to reprimand, suspension, revocation, a fine, or non-judicial punishment? If you are under a Board Order or were ever under a Board Order in a state other than Maryland, you must enclose a certified legible copy of the entire Order with this application.
		b. Have any investigations or charges been brought against you or are any currently pending in any jurisdiction, including Maryland, by any licensing or disciplinary board or any federal or state entity?
		c. Has your application for a dental hygiene license in any jurisdiction been withdrawn for any reason?
		d. Has an investigation or charge been brought against you by a hospital, related institution, or alternative health care system?
		e. Have you had any denial of application for privileges, failure to renew your privileges, or limitation, restriction, suspension, revocation or loss in privileges in a hospital, related health care facility, or alternative health care system?
		f. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition of any criminal act, excluding minor traffic violations?
		g. Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction, or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition for an alcohol or controlled dangerous substance offense, including but not limited to driving while under the influence of alcohol or controlled dangerous substances?
		h. Do you have criminal charges pending against you in any court of law, excluding minor traffic violations?
		i. Do you have a physical condition that impairs your ability to practice dental hygiene?
		j. Do you have a mental health condition that impairs your ability to practice dental hygiene?
		k. Have the use of drugs and/or alcohol resulted in an impairment of your ability to practice dental hygiene?
		I. Have you illegally used drugs?
		m. Have you surrendered or allowed your license to lapse while under investigation by any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal or state entity?
		n. Have you been named as a defendant in a filing or settlement of a malpractice action?
		o. Has your employment been affected or have you voluntarily resigned from any employment, in any setting, or have you been terminated or suspended, from any hospital, related health care or other institution, or any federal entity for any disciplinary reasons or while under investigation for disciplinary reasons?

☐ monitor nitrous oxide

The Well Being Committee assists dental hygienists and their families who are experiencing personal problems. The Committee helped a number of dental hygienists over the years with problems such as stress, drug dependence, alcoholism, depression, medical problems, infectious diseases, neurological disorders and other illnesses that cause impairment. For more information please call 800-974-0068.

Release and Certification:

I hereby affirm that I have read and followed the above instructions. I hereby certify that all information in this application is accurate and correct.

I agree that the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners (the Board) may request any information necessary to process my application for recognition to prescribe and administer medication in Maryland from any person or agency, including but not limited to undergraduate and postgraduate program directors, individual dentists, government agencies, the National Practitioner Data Bank, the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank, hospitals, and other licensing bodies, and I agree that any person or agency may release to the Board the information requested. I also agree to sign any subsequent release for information that may be requested by the Board.

I agree that I will fully cooperate with any request for information or with any investigation related to my practice of dental hygiene as a licensed dental hygienist in the State of Maryland.

During the period in which my application is being processed, I shall inform the Board within 30 days of any change to any answer I originally gave in this application, any arrest or conviction, any change of address or any action that occurs based on accusations that would be grounds for disciplinary action under the Annotated Code of Maryland, Health Occupations §4-315.

Applicant Signature		Date
NOTARY SECTION		
State of	•	, Then personally appeared the above named worn to the truth of the foregoing statements in my
presence.		
Notary Public:		My Commission Expires:

SEAL

Check List for Dental Hygienist Recognition to Prescribe and Administer Medication



Please review prior to sending your application package to the Board.

1.	Is your application completed front and back?
	☐ Did you sign and have the application notarized?
2.	Did you enclose the \$50 non-refundable fee in a check or money order made payable to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners? NOTE: If you hold a Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners' recognition to administer local anesthesia, or a Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners' recognition to administer or monitor nitrous oxide, there is no fee to apply for the recognition to prescribe and administer medication. Enclose all necessary documents. Failure to do so may result in the return of the application.
3.	Did you enclose a letter from the either the Dean or the head of the dental hygiene department of the accredited dental hygiene program at which you completed the 4-hour course on prescribing and administering medication indicating that you have successfully completed the course and that you have received an overall passing grade of at least 75 percent. The letter must be on the letterhead of the dental hygiene program, have an original signature, and contain the raised embossed school seal.
4.	Did you include documentation of legal name change (i.e. marriage certificate) if the documents sent with the application are in another name?

APPLICATION FOR RECOGNITION TO PRESCRIBE AND ADMINISTER MEDICATION

The Board may not process an application until each provision or requirement is met and each document is received. Please ensure that your application is complete before it is submitted.

To apply for recognition, submit the Application and enclose the following with your application:

A \$ 50 non-refundable fee. NOTE: If you hold a Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners' recognition to administer local anesthesia, or a Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners' recognition to administer or monitor nitrous oxide, there is no fee to apply for the recognition to prescribe and administer medication. Enclose all necessary documents. Failure to do so may result in the return of the application.

- A letter from the either the Dean or the head of the dental hygiene department of the accredited dental hygiene program at which you completed the 4-hour course on prescribing and administering medication indicating that you have successfully completed the course and that you have received an overall passing grade of at least 75 percent. The letter must be on the letterhead of the dental hygiene program, have an original signature, and contain the raised embossed school seal.
- > If applicable, evidence of legal name change, such as a marriage certificate or court documents.

MAIL APPLICATION AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS TO:

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners Spring Grove Hospital Center Benjamin Rush Building 55 Wade Avenue Catonsville, MD 21228

ATTN: Prescribing and Administering Medication