Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners

Spring Grove Hospital Center, Benjamin Rush Building
55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive • Catonsville, Maryland 21228 • (410) 402-8500

APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL OF DENTIST LICENSE RENEWAL PERIOD: May 1, 2025 through June 30, 2025

Authority: Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. Article, § 4-309 and Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 10.44.10.

Please carefully read and complete each section of the renewal application, detach the application portion, and <u>return it to our office on or before June 30, 2025.</u> You may renew only if you have completed your continuing education requirements or have requested an extension to complete the requirements. Your signature on the application attests to the successful completion of the required hours.

The Board <u>may not</u> process a renewal license application until each provision or requirement is met and each document is received. Please ensure that your application is complete before it is submitted. All renewal applications <u>must</u> be received by **June 30, 2025** to avoid any additional fees and possible disciplinary action. **Practicing without a current active license issued by this Board is a violation of the Maryland Dentistry Act and could result in disciplinary action, including suspension or revocation.**

Address: The Board must, by law, have a valid address for you. The public address you provide is the "address of record" that is available for public information requests and the address to which the Board will forward all correspondence. The Board does not send licenses, registrations, or certifications to post office boxes. You must provide a street address. Please provide a telephone number where you can be reached during the day in the event the Board needs to contact you regarding the processing of your application.

Continuing Education: A licensee shall complete not less than 30 full hours of continuing education, including at least 2-hours of infection control, during the 2-year period from January 1, 2023 – June 30, 2025. A licensee must also maintain cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) certification from the American Heart Association's Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers, the American Red Cross Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation for Professional Rescuers, or an equivalent program approved by the Board. The CPR certification does not count toward fulfilling the continuing education requirements. In addition, you must complete a 2-hour Board-approved course on abuse and neglect as it relates to Maryland law, and a 2-hour Board-approved course on proper prescribing and disposal of prescription drugs if required to do so, which you may take in a classroom or on-line. Also, licensees may complete a combined total of up to 4 hours of Board-approved courses in 1) Cultural and Linguistic Competency, Health Disparities, and Health Literacy; and 2) Military Culture.

Licensees must complete the enclosed Statement of Continuing Education Courses Completed for License Renewal. You need to list the name of the course, the number of credit hours, the date completed, the name of instructor or sponsor and check if self-study. Do not submit course completion certificates. Licensees selected for a continuing education audit received separate notification. If you received an audit notification letter you need not complete the enclosed Statement of Continuing Education Courses Completed for License Renewal.

<u>Failure to Renew</u>: Applications received on or after **August 1, 2025** will not be accepted for renewal. An individual holding an expired license to practice dentistry may apply for reinstatement if the individual:

- 1) Completes a dentist reinstatement application; and
- 2) Pays to the Board a license reinstatement fee of \$886.00; and
- 3) Provides proof of 30 hours of continuing education within the 2-year period preceding reinstatement.

MAIL APPLICATION AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS TO:
Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners
Spring Grove Hospital Center, Benjamin Rush Building
55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive Catonsville, MD 21228

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners

Spring Grove Hospital Center, Benjamin Rush Building

55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive • Catonsville, Maryland 21228 • (410) 402-8500

APPLICATION FOR 2025 RENEWAL OF DENTISTS LICENSES

Authority: Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. Article, § 4-309 and Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 10.44.10.

All 2025 renewal of dental applications received on or after August 1, 2025, <u>must</u> apply for reinstatement if they wish to obtain Maryland license. The reinstatement requirements can be found in the Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 10, Subtitle 44, Chapter 10.

Please print clearly. The Dentist Fee is \$586.00 payable to MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS. ***Late Fee: \$300.00 for renewals submitted between July 2, 2025 - July 31, 2025. The Dentist Inactive Fee is \$176.00. Check and money orders accepted only. NO CASH.

equested License Status	S: ACTIVE	RENEWAL	☐ INACTIVE	☐ VOLUNTARILY NON-RENEW
AME:	Middle Initial	Last	License #:	Expiration:
FIRST	iviidale initial	Last		
	o not use your pra			ch the Board directs all correspondence. Thi x) If you change your address immediately
Public Address: The publ	ic address (busines:	s) address is a	vailable to the public	and may be posted on the Board's website.
Non-Public Telephone No	umber: The non-pu	blic telephone	number is typically y	our home or cell number. It is confidential.
Public Telephone Numbe the Board's website.	er: Your public telep	phone number	(business) will be ava	ailable to the public and may be posted on
Non-Public Email Addres	s: The non-public e	-mail address	may be used by the B	oard and is confidential.
Public Email Address: The website.	e public e-mail add	ress (business) is available to the pu	ıblic and may be posted on the Board's
If you do not have a socia	ll security number o	r a tax identifi	cation number, please	contact the Board for further instructions.
BIRTHDATE:	/			
GENDER IDENTIFICATION	I: FEMAL	E	MALEF	PREFER NOT TO ANSWER

RACE:		panic or Latino Origin? YES NO PREFER NOT TO ANSWER			
Please	e circle a	all applicable: (for statistical purposes only)			
1 – W	hite 2	– Black or African American 3 – American Indian or Alaska Native 4 – As	ian 5 – Native Hawaiian or other Pacific		
Island	ler 6 –	Other			
		TAL SERVICES AND PORTABLE DENTAL SERVICES: The following questions p is application.	ertain to the 2-year renewal period		
☐ Y€	es 🗌 I	No Do you provide mobile dental services in Maryland?			
☐ Y€	es	No Do you intend to provide mobile dental services in Maryland?			
☐ Y€	es 🗌	No Do you provide portable dental services in Maryland?			
∐ Y€	es 📙	No Do you intend to provide portable dental services in Maryland?			
		RACTICE:			
Since	your last	t renewal have you practiced dentistry in the State of Maryland? YES	NO 🗆		
_		OTHER STATES: es or jurisdiction in which you hold a dental license. Include license/license	number(s). N/A \square		
STATE	<u> </u>	LICENSE/CERTIFICATE NO.	EXPIRATION		
STATE	<u> </u>	LICENSE/CERTIFICATE NO.	EXPIRATION		
STATE		LICENSE/CERTIFICATE NO.	EXPIRATION		
CHAF	RACTER	AND FITNESS QUESTIONS:			
	<mark>ollowing</mark> issible.	questions pertain to the period beginning on July 1, 2023 and ending Jun	e 30, 2025. Any other timeframe is		
"yes"	to any q	'no' in the box next to each question if the following occurred since the language in the box next to each question for each question on a separate page must have your name in print, signature, and date.			
YES	NO	SINCE JULY 1, 2023			
		a) Has any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Ma application for license, reinstatement, or renewal, or taken any action againmited to reprimand, suspension, revocation, a fine, or non-judicial punis were ever under a Board Order in a state other than Maryland, you must entire Order with this application.	ainst your license, including but not hment? If you are under a Board Order o		
		b) Have any investigations or charges been brought against you or are any currently pending in any jurisdiction, including Maryland, by any licensing or disciplinary board or any federal or state entity?			
		c) Has your application for a dental license in any jurisdiction been withdr	awn for any reason?		
		d) Has an investigation or charge been brought against you by a hospital, care system?	related institution, or alternative health		

3. Addr	ess:					
Marylar	nd license	ed dentist(s) who own the dental practice and their license number(s):				
Name o	f Practice	2:				
2. Addr	ess:					
number	r(s) of eac anized as	ress (es) at each Maryland office at which you practice dentistry. For each office, indicate the name(s) and license in Maryland licensed dentist who holds an ownership interest in the practice at each location. If the dental office(s) a Professional Corporation, Professional Association, Limited Liability Company, or other business entity, provide the entity and the name(s) of the Maryland licensed dentist(s) who own the entity.				
		d License Number:				
Marylar	าd Law Re	equires that Each Owner of a Dental Practice Hold an Active Maryland Dental License to Practice Dentistry.				
OWNE	RSHIP O	F DENTAL PRACTICE:				
		o) Has your employment been affected, or have you voluntarily resigned from any employment, in any setting, or have you been terminated or suspended, from any hospital, related health care or other institution, or any federal entity for any disciplinary reasons or while under investigation for disciplinary reasons?				
		n) Have you been named as a defendant in a court of law in a malpractice action <u>or</u> have you, either personally or through an insurance carrier, settled a malpractice claim, regardless of whether that claim was filed in a court of law?				
		m) Have you surrendered or allowed a license to lapse while under investigation by any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal, state entity?				
		I) Have you illegally used drugs?				
		k) Have the use of drugs and/or alcohol resulted in an impairment of your ability to practice dentistry				
		j) Do you have a mental health condition that would impair your ability to practice dentistry?				
		i) Do you have a physical condition that would impair your ability to practice dentistry?				
		h) Do you have criminal charges pending against you in any court of law, excluding minor traffic violations?				
		g) Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition for an alcohol or controlled dangerous substance offense, including but not limited to driving while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances?				
		f) Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition of any criminal act, excluding minor traffic violations?				
	e) Have you had any denial of an application for privileges, been denied for failure to renew your privileges, or limitation, restriction, suspension, revocation, or loss of privileges in a hospital, related health care facility, or alternative health care system?					

Name of	Practice	2:
Maryland	d license	ed dentist(s) who own the dental practice and their license number(s):
4. Addre	ss:	
Name of	Practice	2:
Maryland	d license	ed dentist(s) who own the dental practice and their license number(s):
many de	ntists o	Committee assists dentists and their families who are experiencing personal problems. The Committee has helped ver the years with problems such as stress, drug dependence, alcoholism, depression, medical problems, infectious ogical disorders and other illnesses that cause impairment. For more information, go to www.dentistwellbeing.com .
ANESTH	IESIA A	ND SEDATION:
YES	NO	I administer general anesthesia.
		I have a permit to administer general anesthesia.
		I administer parenteral sedation.
		I have a permit to administer parenteral sedation.
		I administer a non-parenteral anesthetic. (Class I Permit Required).
		I have a permit to administer a non-parenteral anesthetic. (Class I Permit Required).
SPECIAL	.TIES:	
	-	nd State Board of Dental Examiners recognize you as a specialist? Cate specialty?
WORKE	RS' CO	MPENSATION:
Compens	sation La	Code of Maryland, Health Occupations Article, §1-202 requires that you verify compliance with the Workers' aw for your renewal to be issued. I hereby certify the following: (a) \square I do not practice in Maryland; OR cice, but do not employ anyone in my practice in Maryland; OR (c) \square I employ one or more persons in ave the following Workers' Compensation coverage:
Insuranc	e Comp	any (Workers' Compensation only): Policy Number: Expiration Date:

DENTAL EDUCATION:

a.	School of graduation:
b.	Date of graduation:
	(Month, Day & Year)
C.	Degree earned:
CON.	TINUING EDUCATION REQUIREMENTS:
for rer	be one statement that applies to you. If you check d., you must include a written request for an extension with this application. All applicants newal of an <u>active</u> license must complete and return the enclosed form listing the names, dates, and credit hours of courses taken during the ruing education period.
hour E license license that th	Regarding 2-Hour Board-Approved Course on Abuse and Neglect: Those who obtained an initial dental license in 2023 must complete a 2-Board-approved course on abuse and neglect as it relates to Maryland law before their license will be renewed. Those who renewed their is in 2021 are required to complete the course as a condition of license renewal in this 2025 renewal cycle. Those who renewed their is in 2023 are not required to complete the course as a condition of license renewal in this 2025 renewal cycle since the regulations require the course be completed every other renewal cycle. Therefore, those who completed the course as a condition of license renewal in 2023 complete the course again as a condition of license renewal in 2027, 2031, etc.
renew cycle. cycle s	Regarding 2-Hour Board-Approved Course on Proper Prescribing and Disposal of Prescription Drugs: Those who obtained an initial dental e in 2023 must complete a 2-hour Board-approved course on proper prescribing and disposal of prescription drugs before their license will be red. Those who renewed their license in 2021 are required to complete the course as a condition of license renewal in this 2025 renewal Those who renewed their license in 2023 are not required to complete the course as a condition of license renewal in this 2025 renewal since the regulations require that the course be completed every other renewal cycle. Therefore, those who completed the course as a cition of license renewal in 2023 must complete the course again as a condition of license renewal in 2027, 2031, etc.
Cultur	e Regarding Board-Approved Courses in 1) Cultural and Linguistic Competency, Health Disparities, and Health Literacy; and 2) Military e: A licensee may earn a combined total of up to 4 continuing education hours for the following Board-approved courses: 1) Cultural and stic Competency, Health Disparities, and Health Literacy; and 2) Military Culture.
	Iditional information please visit the Board's website at health.maryland.gov/dental and click on the link under the topic Continuing tion – Courses in Cultural and Linguistic Competency, Health Disparities, and Health Literacy, and Courses in Military Culture.
	a. Continuing education requirement met. I have completed 30 hours of continuing education, including two (2) hours of infection control, and maintained my CPR certification during the Period from January 1, 2023 through June 30, 2025. I have also completed a 2-hour Board-approved course on abuse and neglect as it relates to Maryland law and a 2-hour course on proper prescribing and disposal of prescription drugs (if required to do so).
	b. New graduate. I received a license within 6 months after graduation from an approved dental hygiene school and am not required to fulfill the continuing education requirements of the Board for the first 2-year renewal cycle following initial licensure.
	c. <u>Inactive status</u> . I have or am requesting an inactive dental registration certificate and am not subject to the continuing education required until or unless I request reactivation of the license.
	d. Continuing education requirement not met. I have not fulfilled the continuing education requirements of the Board and have attached a written request for an extension to satisfy the continuing education requirements. I understand that failure to include a written request for an extension may result in my not meeting the qualifications for renewal of my license.
сом	PLETION OF IMPLICIT BIAS TRAINING PROGRAM:
Progra license left sic course	e Bill 5 and House Bill 28 passed by the Maryland General Assembly in 2021 requires all applicants for renewal of health occupations boards' es and certificates in Maryland to complete an Implicit Bias Training Program approved by the Cultural and Linguistic Health Care Competency am of the Maryland Department of Health. You must attest that you have completed the program in order to be eligible to renew your es. You are required to complete the program only once. Go to https://health.maryland.gov/mhhd . Choose Implicit Bias Training on the de vertical menu "APPROVED Implicit Bias Courses". Choose one of the listed courses and successfully complete the course. Other es do not qualify. You need not obtain a certificate of completion. You are asked on this application to "attest" that you successfully leted one of the listed courses.
	ttest that I have successfully completed an Implicit Bias Training Program approved by the Cultural and Linguistic Health Care Competency am of the Maryland Department of Health.

STATEMENT OF CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES COMPLETED FOR 2025 LICENSE RENEWAL.CONTINUING EDUCATION PERIOD: JANUARY 1, 2023 JUNE 30, 2025

Regulations require that in order to renew a dental license applicants complete 30-hours of Board-approved continuing education per renewal period, including 2-hours of infection control, maintain CPR Certification, and complete a 2-hour Board-approved course on abuse and neglect <u>as it relates to Maryland law</u>, and a 2-hour Board-approved course on proper prescribing and disposal of prescription drugs if required to do so.

Licensees may complete a combined total of up to 4 hours of Board-approved courses in 1) cultural and linguistic competency, health disparities, and health literacy; and 2) military culture.

Up to 17 hours of self-study activity are permitted to meet the 30-hour requirement, 13 classroom hours may be taken live, virtual, or interactive. Courses on money management, personal finance, personal business matters, including practice management, personal health and recreation, politics, memory training, speed reading, and HIPAA are not considered clinical and may not be applied toward the 30-hour continuing education requirement. For a copy of the Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 10, Subtitle 44, Chapter 22, Continuing Education, contact the Board at (410) 402-8501.

COURSE TITLE OR NAME	CREDIT HOURS EARNED	DATE	NAME OF INSTRUCTOR OR SPONSOR	Check if Self Study
1.				
2.				
3.				
4.				
5.				
6.				
7.				
8.				
9.				
10.				
11.				
12.				
13.				
14.				
15.				
16.				
17.				
18.				
19.				
Infection Control Course:				
Implicit Bias Course:				
Abuse and Neglect Course:				
Proper Prescribing & Disposal of Prescription Drugs:				
Current CPR Card:	No CE credit			