## **Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners**

Spring Grove Hospital Center, Benjamin Rush Building
55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive • Catonsville, Maryland 21228 • (410) 402-8501

## APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL OF DENTAL AND DENTAL HYGIENE TEACHER LICENSE RENEWAL PERIOD: May 1, 2025 through June 30, 2025

Authority: Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. Article, § 4-505 and Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 10.44.19.

Please carefully read and complete each section of the renewal application, detach the application portion, and <u>return it to our office on or before June 30, 2025.</u> You may renew only if you have completed your continuing education requirements. or have requested an extension to complete the requirements. Your signature on the application attests to the successful completion of the required hours.

The Board <u>may not</u> process a renewal license application until each provision or requirement is met and each document is received. Please ensure that your application is complete before it is submitted. All renewal application <u>must</u> be received by **June 30, 2025** to avoid any additional fees and possible disciplinary action. **Practicing without a current active license issued by this Board is a violation of the Maryland Dentistry Act and could result in disciplinary action, including suspension or revocation.** 

Address: The Board must, by law, have a valid address for you. The address you provide is the "address of record" that is available for public information requests and the address to which the Board will forward all correspondence. The Board does not send licenses, registrations, or certifications to post office boxes. You must provide a street address. Please provide a telephone number where you can be reached during the day in the event the Board needs to contact you regarding the processing of your application.

<u>Failure to Renew</u>: Applications received on or after **August 1, 2025** will not be accepted for renewal. An individual holding an expired license to teach dental or dental hygiene may apply for reinstatement if the individual:

- 1) Completes a dental or dental hygiene teacher reinstatement application; and
- 2) Pays to the Board a license reinstatement fee of \$275.00; and

MAIL APPLICATION AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS TO:
Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners
Spring Grove Hospital Center, Benjamin Rush Building
55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive Catonsville, MD 21228

## **Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners**

Spring Grove Hospital Center, Benjamin Rush Building
55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive • Catonsville, Maryland 21228 • (410) 402-8501

## APPLICATION FOR 2025 RENEWAL OF DENTAL AND DENTAL HYGIENE TEACHER LICENSES

Authority: Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. Article, § 4-302 and Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 10.44.10.

All 2025 renewal of dental and dental hygiene teacher applications received on or after August 1, 2025, <u>must</u> apply for reinstatement if they wish to obtain Maryland license. Reinstatement requirements can be found in the Code of Maryland Regulations, Title 10, Subtitle 44, Chapter 10.

Please print clearly. The Dental and Dental Hygiene Fee is \$225.00 payable to MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS.

\*\*\*Late Fee: \$50.00 for renewals submitted between July 1, 2025 - July 31, 2025. Check and money orders accepted only. NO CASH.

Requested License Status:	☐ ACTIVE RENEWAL	☐ INACTIVE	☐ VOLUNTARILY NON-RENEW
NAME:First	Middle Initial	Certificate #:	Expiration:
			the Board directs all correspondence. This if you change your address immediately
Public Address: The public a	ddress (business) address is a	vailable to the public and	d may be posted on the Board's website.
Non-Public Telephone Numl	per: The non-public telephone	number is typically you	r home or cell number. It is confidential.
Public Telephone Number: Y the Board's website.	our public telephone number	(business) will be availa	able to the public and may be posted on
Non-Public Email Address: T	he non-public e-mail address	may be used by the Boa	rd and is confidential.
Public Email Address: The puwebsite.	ublic e-mail address (business)	is available to the publi	ic and may be posted on the Board's
SOCIAL SECURITY NO:		BIRTHDATE:	
GENDER IDENTIFICATION: _	FEMALE	PRE	EFER NOT TO ANSWER
RACE: Are you of Hispanic or Latino	Origin? YES NO	PREFER NOT TO ANS	SWER

(Pleas	se circle	all applicable; for statistical purposes only)			
1 – W	hite 2	– Black or African American <b>3</b> – American Indian or Alaska Native <b>4</b> – Asian <b>5</b> – Native Hawaiian or other Pacific			
Island	ler <b>6</b> –	Other			
REQU	ESTED L	ICENSURE STATUS:			
Check	one:	☐ Dental Teacher ☐ Dental Hygiene Teacher			
NAMI	E OF INS	TITUTION:			
I am a	full-tim	e faculty member at			
MARY	/I AND P	(Name and Address of Facility)  RACTICE:			
		t renewal have you taught dental or dental hygiene in the State of Maryland? YES $\Box$ NO $\Box$			
List ot		OTHER STATES: es or jurisdiction in which you hold a dental radiation technologist license or license. Include license/license /A □			
STATE	<u> </u>	LICENSE/CERTIFICATE NO. EXPIRATION			
STATE		LICENSE/CERTIFICATE NO. EXPIRATION			
STATE		LICENSE/CERTIFICATE NO. EXPIRATION			
CHAF	RACTER	AND FITNESS QUESTIONS			
inadm For th detail	<mark>issible.</mark> ne follow ed expla	questions pertain to the period beginning on July 1, 2023 and ending June 30, 2025. Any other timeframe is ving, check "yes" or "no" in the box next to each question. If you answer "yes" to any question(s), attach a unation for each question on a separate page with complete explanation. All attachments must have your name ture, and date.			
YES		SINCE JULY 1, 2023			
		a) Has any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal entity denied your application for license, reinstatement, or renewal, or taken any action against your license, including but not limited to reprimand, suspension, revocation, a fine, or non-judicial punishment? If you are under a Board Order or were ever under a Board Order in a state other than Maryland, you must enclose a certified legible copy of the entire Order with this application.			
		b) Have any investigations or charges been brought against you or are any currently pending in any jurisdiction, including Maryland, by any licensing or disciplinary board or any federal or state entity?			
		c) Has your application for a dental radiation technology license in any jurisdiction been withdrawn for any reason?			
		<b>d)</b> Has an investigation or charge been brought against you by a hospital, related institution, or alternative health care system?			
		e) Have you had any denial of an application for privileges, been denied for failure to renew your privileges, or limitation, restriction, suspension, revocation, or loss of privileges in a hospital, related health care facility, or alternative health care system?			
		f) Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, had a conviction or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition of any criminal act, excluding minor traffic violations?			

		<b>g)</b> Have you pled guilty, nolo contendere, or receipt of probation before judgment or other diversionary disposition for an alcohol or controlled dangerous substance offense, including but not limited to driving while under the influence of alcohol or controlled substances?				
		h) Do you have criminal charges pending against you in any court of law, excluding minor traffic violations?				
		i) Do you have a physical condition that would impair your ability to practice dental radiation technology?				
		j) Do you have a mental health condition that would impair your ability to practice dental radiation technology?				
		<b>k)</b> Have the use of drugs and/or alcohol resulted in an impairment of your ability to practice dental radiation technology?				
		I) Have you illegally used drugs?				
		m) Have you surrendered or allowed a license to lapse while under investigation by any licensing or disciplinary board of any jurisdiction, <b>including</b> Maryland, or any federal, state entity?				
		<b>n)</b> Have you been named as a defendant in a court of law in a malpractice action <u>or</u> have you, either personally through an insurance carrier, settled a malpractice claim, regardless of whether that claim was filed in a court claw?				
		o) Has your employment been affected, or have you voluntarily resigned from any employment, in any setting, or have you been terminated or suspended, from any hospital, related health care or other institution, or any federal entity for any disciplinary reasons or while under investigation for disciplinary reasons?				
many d	entists o	Committee assists dentists and their families who are experiencing personal problems. The Committee has helped ver the years with problems such as stress, drug dependence, alcoholism, depression, medical problems, infectious ogical disorders and other illnesses that cause impairment. For more information, go to <a href="www.dentistwellbeing.com">www.dentistwellbeing.com</a> .				
		ND SEDATION				
YES	NO	I administer general anesthesia.				
		I have a permit to administer general anesthesia.				
		I administer parental sedation.				
		I have a permit to administer parenteral sedation.				
		I administer a non-parenteral anesthetic. (Class I Permit Required).				
		I have a permit to administer a non-parenteral anesthetic. (Class I Permit Required).				
SPECIA	LTIES					
	-	and State Board of Dental Examiners recognize you as a specialist?  ———————————————————————————————————				
		MPENSATION st be completed by dentists only.				
		Code of Maryland, Health Occupations Article, §1-202 requires that you verify compliance with the Workers'				
	Compensation Law for your renewal to be issued. I hereby certify the following: (a) $\Box$ I do not practice in Maryland; OR					
	-	tice, but do not employ anyone in my practice in Maryland; OR (c)   I employ one or more persons in				

Insurance Company (Workers' Compensation only):	Policy Number:	Expiration Date:					
DENTAL/DENTAL HYGIENE EDUCATION							
a. School of graduation:							
b. Date of graduation:	b. Date of graduation:						
(Month, Day & Year)							
c. Degree earned:							
LOCAL ANESTHESIA AND NITROUS OXIDE  This section must be completed by dental hygienists	only.						
YES NO							
☐ ☐ I administer local anesthesia.							
☐ ☐ I have received Board recognition to ac	dminister local anesthesia.						
☐ ☐ I administer or monitor patients to who	om nitrous oxide has been adm	inistered.					
☐ I have received Board recognition to administer or monitor patients to whom nitrous oxide has been administered.							
RELEASE AND LICENSE:  Practice of dentistry or dental hygiene without a current lice the Maryland Dentistry Act. I affirm that the contents of this Failure to provide truthful answers may result in disciplinary  I agree that the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners (if for a dental or dental hygiene teacher's license in Maryland directors, individual dentists, government agencies, the Nati hospitals and other licensing bodies, and I agree that any per agree to sign any subsequent release for information that may request for information that may license in the State of Maryland, including the subpoena of or During the period in which my application is being processed gave in this application, any arrest or conviction, any change of or disciplinary action under the Code of Maryland Regulation.  Notice for Mailing List:	s document are true and correct to a cation.  (the Board) may request any inform from any person or agency, includional Practitioner Data Bank, the Herson or agency may release to the ay be requested by the Board.  Ination or with any investigation related comments or records.  It, I shall inform the Board within 30 of address or any action that occurs	the best of my knowledge and belief.  nation necessary to process my application ing but not limited to postgraduate program lealthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank, Board the information requested. I also ated to my dental or dental hygienist teacher's days of any change to any answer I originally					
The information collected on this application form is collected. Health Occupations Article, Title 4. Failure to provide the informend, and request correction of this information. The Boar permitted by federal and State law. Under the Maryland Pub 333, the Board may provide, for a fee, a list of licensees' nan in writing that your name be omitted from such lists.	formation may result in the denial or rd may permit inspection of this in blic Information Act, Annotated Co	of your application. You have a right to inspect, formation or make it available to others only as de of Maryland, General Provisions Article, §4-					

**Applicant Signature** 

Date