Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners

Spring Grove Hospital Center, Benjamin Rush Building
55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive • Catonsville, Maryland 21228 • (410) 402-8500

APPLICATION FOR RENEWAL OF ANESTHESIA AND SEDATION CLASS II, CLASS II, <u>AND</u> CLASS III PERMITS OR CERTIFICATES DUE TO

EXPIRE APRIL 1, 2025.

Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. § 1-213 requires that the Dental Board verify through the Office of the Comptroller that licensed health professionals and certain other health entities operating under Maryland licenses or permits have paid all undisputed taxes and unemployment insurance contributions before they are issued renewed licenses or permits.

Please carefully read and complete each section of the renewal application, detach the application portion, and return it to the Board's office.

The Board <u>may not</u> process a renewal application until each provision or requirement is met and each document is received. Please ensure that your application is complete before it is submitted.

Practicing without a current active <u>permit or certificate</u> issued by this Board is a violation of the Maryland Dentistry Act and could result in disciplinary action, including suspension or revocation.

REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL OF CLASS I AND CLASS II PERMITS

- A. Completion of not less than 24 hours of clinical continuing education related to sedation or anesthesia in a classroom setting during the term of the permit; AND
- B. Maintenance of cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification (CPR) from one of the following programs: (a) The American Heart Association's Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers, or (b) The American Red Cross's Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation for Professional Rescuers, or (c) The American Safety and Health Institute; AND
- C. Maintenance of Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certification, or Maintenance of Pediatric Advanced Life Support certification (PALS), or completion of a Board-approved course of at least 4 hours that provides instruction on medical emergencies and airway management; AND
- D. Written verification of inspection of anesthesia and monitoring equipment from a recognized service company; AND
- E. Written verification that since the issuance of your permit you and the appropriate individuals on your office staff have completed training in basic life support and the handling of medical emergencies; AND
- F. Verification that you maintain appropriate drugs on the premises and that you only utilize drugs that have not expired; AND
- G. An affidavit indicating that since the date of your most recently issued permit whether you have treated a patient under moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia with an incident requiring admission to a hospital either for a period greater than 24 hours, or for purposes other than observation. (An affidavit is enclosed. If you have had an incident you must file an affidavit in conformance with the Code of Maryland Regulations COMAR 10.44.12.08G. A copy of the regulations is available on the Board's website).

REQUIREMENTS FOR RENEWAL OF CLASS III PERMITS

- A. Successfully pass a renewal evaluation equal to the initial evaluation for a Class III Permit; AND
- B. Completion of not less than 24 hours of clinical continuing education related to sedation or anesthesia in a classroom setting during the term of the permit; AND
- C. Maintenance of cardiopulmonary resuscitation certification (CPR) from one of the following programs: (a) The American Heart Association's Basic Life Support for Healthcare Providers, or (b) The American Red Cross's Cardiopulmonary Resuscitation for Professional Rescuers, or (c) The American Safety and Health Institute; AND
- Maintenance of Advanced Cardiac Life Support (ACLS) certification, or Maintenance of Pediatric Advanced Life
 Support certification (PALS), or completion of a Board-approved course of at least 4 hours that provides instruction on medical emergencies and airway management; AND
- E. Verification that you maintain appropriate drugs on the premises and that you only utilize drugs that have not expired; AND
- F. An affidavit indicating that since the date of your most recently issued permit whether you have treated a patient under moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia with an incident requiring admission to a hospital either for a period greater than 24 hours, or for purposes other than observation.

MAIL APPLICATION AND SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS TO: Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners

Spring Grove Hospital Center, Benjamin Rush Building
55 Wade Avenue/Tulip Drive • Catonsville, Maryland 21228 • (410) 402-8500

APPLICATION FOR 2024 RENEWAL of ANESTHESIA AND SEDATION PERMITS AND CERTIFICATES

Authority: Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. Article, § 4-205(a)(1)(v) - (vi) and Code of Maryland Regulations (COMAR) 10.44.12.

Please print clearly. All payments must be made payable to MARYLAND STATE BOARD OF DENTAL EXAMINERS. NO CASH.

NAME:			Certificate #:	Expiration:
First	Middle Initial	Last		
				d directs all correspondence. This ange your address immediately
Public Address: The public ache Board's website.	ddress (business) address	is your addres	ss of record, available to	o the public, and may be posted on
lon-Public Telephone Numl	ber: The non-public telepl	hone number i	s typically your home o	r cell number. It is confidential.
Public Telephone Number: Y he Board's website.	our public telephone nun	nber (business) will be available to the	e public, and may be posted on
Non-Public Email Address: T	he non-public e-mail addı	ress may be us	ed by the Board and is o	confidential.
Public Email Address: The pu	ublic e-mail address (busir	ness) is your ac	ddress of record, availab	ple to the public, and may be posted

If you do not have a social security number or a tax identification number, please contact the Board for further instructions.

Application For Renewal of Anesthesia and SedationPage | 2

BIRTHD	ATE:					
GENDE	R IDENTII	FICATION:	FEMALE	MALE	PREFER NOT TO ANSWER	
RACE: Are you	of Hispa	nic or Latino Orig	gin?YESN	IOPREFER N	NOT TO ANSWER	
1 – Whi	te 2 – B			• •	Native 4 – Asian 5 – Native Hawaiian or other	Pacific
CHARA	CTER AI	ND FITNESS QU	<u>ESTIONS</u>			
QUESTI	ON(S), A	TTACH A DETAILE		R EACH QUESTION	I QUESTION. IF YOU ANSWER "YES" TO ANY ON A SEPARATE PAGE WITH COMPLETE EXPLANA D DATE.	ATION.
YES	reprima Marylar	tion for licensure and, suspension, nd and the Order the entire Order	e, reinstatement, or re revocation, a fine, or was effective since to with this application	enewal, or taken a rnon-judicial punis the date of your ini n.	ction, including Maryland, or any federal entity on action against your license, including but not hment? If you are under a Board Order in a state tial permit or certificate you must enclose a certificate you or are any currently pending in any juris	limited to other than ified legible
	includir				y federal or state entity?	,
		c) Has your app	olication for a dentist	license in any juris	diction been withdrawn for any reason?	
	care sys	-	tigation or charge be	en brought agains	you by a hospital, related institution, or alternat	ive health
					s been denied for, failure to renew your privilege es in a hospital, related health care facility, or alt	
	diversio		d guilty, nolo contend of any criminal act, e		tion or receipt of probation before judgment or on fific violations?	ther
			lled dangerous substa		probation before judgment or other diversionary ding but not limited to driving while under the in	-
		h) Do you have	criminal charges pen	nding against you ir	any court of law, excluding minor traffic violation	ns?
		i) Do you have a	a physical condition t	hat impairs your a	bility to practice dentistry?	
		j) Do you have a	a mental health cond	lition that impairs y	our ability to practice dentistry?	
		k) Have the use	of drugs and/or alco	hol resulted in an i	mpairment of your ability to practice dentistry?	
		l) Have you illeg	gally used drugs?			

	□ board o	m) Have you surrendered or allowed a license to lapse while under investigation by any licensing or disciplinary f any jurisdiction, including Maryland, or any federal, state entity?
		n) Have you been named as a defendant in a filing or settlement of a malpractice action?
	-	o) Has your employment been affected, or have you voluntarily resigned from any employment, in any setting, or u been terminated or suspended, from any hospital, related health care or other institution, or any federal entity disciplinary reasons or while under investigation for disciplinary reasons?
ANESTH	IESIA ANI	D SEDATION PERMIT AND CERTIFICATE REQUEST
Ple	ease chec	k all that apply:
1.		I wish to renew a Class I permit for a single location at which I treat a patient\$300.
2.		I wish to renew a Class I permit for more than one location at which I treat a patient\$300 additional cost for each additional site.
3.		I wish to renew a Class II permit for a single location at which I treat a patient\$300.
4.		I wish to renew a Class II permit for more than one location at which I treat a patient\$300 additional cost for each additional site.
5.		I wish to renew a Class III permit for a single location at which I treat a patient\$600.
6.		I wish to renew a Class III permit for more than one location at which I treat a patient\$600 additional cost fo r each additional site.
7.		I wish to renew a Certificate to allow another dentist or physician to administer anesthesia or sedation at a single location of mine at which I treat a patient \$300.
8.		I wish to renew a Certificate to allow another dentist or physician to administer anesthesia or sedation at more than one location of mine at which I treat a patient\$300 additional cost for each additional site.
9.		wish to renew a Certificate to allow me to treat a patient at a location other than mine at which anesthesia or sedation is administered to a patient. (Only one certificate is needed even if there is more than one location to which I go to treat a patient)\$300.*
10). 🗖	I wish to renew a Certificate to allow a certified registered nurse anesthetist to administer anesthesia or sedation at a single location of mine at which I treat a patient\$300. **
11	🗆	I wish to renew a Certificate to allow a certified registered nurse anesthetist to administer anesthesia or sedation at more than one location of mine at which I treat a patient\$300 additional cost for each additional site. ***
		dentist who allows a certified registered nurse anesthetist to administer moderate enteral sedation to a patient

CHECKLIST FOR RENEWAL OF CLASS I OR CLASS II PERMIT.

YOU MUST SUBMIT ALL OF THE FOLLOWING TO THE BOARD. FAILURE TO DO SO WILL DELAY THE PROCESSING OF YOUR APPLICATION

- 1. A completed renewal application.
- 2. The appropriate fee in a check made payable to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners.

shall maintain a Class I, Class II, or Class III permit for the administration site.

^{**} A treating dentist who allows a registered nurse anesthetist to administer moderate parenteral sedation to a patient shall maintain a Class II or Class III permit for the administration site.

^{***} A treating dentist who allows a certified registered nurse anesthetist to administer deep sedation or general anesthesia to a patient shall maintain a Class III permit for the administration site.

- 3. Completed statement of continuing education completion including (a) CPR; and (b) ACLS, PALS, or a Board-approved course of at least 4 hours that provides instruction on medical emergencies and airway management (above chart).
- 4. Written verification of inspection of anesthesia and monitoring equipment from a recognized service company on original letterhead with original signature.
- 5. Written verification on your letterhead, signed by you, that since the issuance of your permit you and the appropriate individuals on your office staff have completed training in basic life support and the handling of medical emergencies.
- 6. Written verification on your letterhead, signed by you, that you maintain appropriate drugs on the premises and that you only utilize drugs that have not expired.
- 7. An affidavit indicating that since the date of your most recently issued permit whether you have treated a patient under moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia with an incident requiring admission to a hospital either for a period greater than 24 hours, or for purposes other than observation. (An affidavit is enclosed. If you have had an incident you must file an affidavit in conformance with the Code of Maryland Regulations COMAR 10.44.12.08G. A copy of the regulations is available on the Board's website).

CHECKLIST FOR RENEWAL OF CLASS III PERMIT

YOU MUST SUBMIT ALL OF THE FOLLOWING DOCUMENTS TO THE BOARD. FAILURE TO DO SO WILL DELAY THE PROCESSING OF YOUR APPLICATION.

- 1. A completed renewal application.
- 2. The appropriate fee in a check made payable to the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners.
- 3. Completed statement of continuing education completion including (a) CPR; and (b) ACLS, PALS, or a Board-approved course of at least 4 hours that provides instruction on medical emergencies and airway management (above chart).
- 4. An affidavit indicating that since the date of your most recently issued permit whether you have treated a patient under moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia with an incident requiring admission to a hospital either for a period greater than 24 hours, or for purposes other than observation. (*Be sure to include the affidavit*.) If you have had an incident you must file an affidavit in conformance with the Code of Maryland Regulations COMAR 10.44.12.08G. A copy of the regulations is available on the Board's website).

INDICATE THE NUMBER (S) FROM THE SECTION ABOVE AND THE APPLICABLE ADDRESS(ES)

A. Number		
Address:		
Office	Street	
City	State	Zip
Second address if applicable:		
Office	Street	
City	State	Zip
Third address if applicable:		
Office	Street	
City	State	Zip

Address:		
Office	Street	
City	State	Zip
Second address if applicable:		
Office	Street	
City	State	Zip
Third address if applicable:		
Office	Street	
City	State	Zip

Continuing Education

B. Number

☐ I have completed 24 hours of continuing education, including maintenance of CPR, AND Maintenance of ACLS, or maintenance of PALS, or a Board-approved course of at least 4 hours that provides instruction on medical emergencies and airway management. I have identified the courses below.

STATEMENT OF CONTINUING EDUCATION COURSES COMPLETED FOR CLASS I AND CLASS II PERMITS					
COURSE TITLE OR NAME		CREDIT HOURS EARNED	DATE	NAME OF INSTRUCTOR OR SPONSOR	
<u>1</u>					
<u>2</u>					
<u>3</u>					
<u>4</u>					
<u>5</u>					
<u>6</u>					
<u>7</u>					
8					
9					
<u>10</u>					

PLEASE SUBMIT CERTIFICATE COPIES OF YOUR CE CREDITS LISTED ON THE TABLE

RELEASE AND CERTIFICATION:

The practice of dentistry without a current and appropriate anesthesia permit and certification issued by the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners is a violation of the Maryland Dentistry Act. I affirm that the contents of this document are true and correct to the best of my knowledge and belief. Failure to provide truthful answers may result in disciplinary action.

I agree that the Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners may request any information necessary to process my application from any person or agency, including but not limited to postgraduate program directors, individual dentists, government agencies, the National Practitioner Data Bank, the Healthcare Integrity and Protection Data Bank, hospitals, and other licensing bodies, and I agree that any person or agency may release to the Board the information requested. I also agree to sign any subsequent release for information that may be requested by the Board.

I agree that I will fully cooperate with any request for information or with any investigation related to this application, including the subpoena of documents or records.

During the period in which my application is being processed, I shall inform the Board within 30 days of any change to any answer I originally gave in this application, any arrest or conviction, any change of address or any action that occurs based on accusations that would be grounds for disciplinary action under the Md. Code Ann., Occ. § 4-315.

Notice for Mailing List:

The information collected on this application form is collected for the purposes of the Board's functions under Annotated Code of Maryland, Health Occupations Article, Title 4. Failure to provide the information may result in the denial of your application. You have a right to inspect, amend, and request correction of this information. The Board may permit inspection of this information or make it available to others only as permitted by federal and State law. Under the Maryland Public Information Act, Annotated Code of Maryland, General Provisions Article, §4-333, the Board may provide, for a fee, a list of licensees' names and addresses to professional associations and other entities. You may request in writing that your name be omitted from such lists.

Applicant Signature		Date
NOTARY SECTION		
State of	, County of	, then personally appeared the above named
	and signed	and sworn to the truth of the foregoing statements in
my presence.		
Notary Public:	My Commiss	ion Expires:
SEAL		

Revised 11-30-23.

AFFIDAVIT (2025 Renewal)

Maryland State Board of Dental Examiners

CLASS I, CLASS II, AND CLASS III ANESTHESIA AND SEDATION PERMIT HOLDERS

An applicant for the renewal of a Class I, Class II, or Class III Anesthesia and Sedation Permit must submit the following Affidavit with their renewal application if, applicant, since the issuance of their original permit, they have not treated a patient under moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia with an incident requiring admission to a hospital either for a period greater than 24 hours, or for purposes other than observation. If you have treated a patient with an "incident" you must submit an affidavit that conforms to the Code of Maryland Regulations, (COMAR) 10.44.12.08G. A copy of the Board's regulations may be found in its website at www.health.maryland.gov/dental.

Please note that under COMAR 10.44.12.34, a dentist shall report to the Board, in writing, any death caused by or resulting from the dentist's administration of anxiolysis, moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia within 7 days of its occurrence. In addition, within 15 days of its occurrence, a dentist shall report to the Board, in writing, any complication or disabling incident requiring admission to a hospital either for a period greater than 24 hours, or for the purposes other than observation, as a result of the dentist's administration of anxiolysis, moderate sedation, deep sedation, or general anesthesia. (The requirements of this paragraph apply to every dentist whether or not the dentist holds a permit).

AFFIDAVIT

I			(name as it a	ppears on your permit) hereby declare and affirm
	of perjury that since the or general anesthesia w	-	inal permit I have	e not treated a patient under moderate sedation,
				Signature
<u>NOTARY</u>				
State of		, County of		, then personally appeared the
above named _ presence.			, and signed an	d sworn to the truth of the foregoing statements in my
	Notary Public:		My Con	nmission Expires:
	SEAL			