



# Developmental Disabilities Administration Self-Directed Services Training Series

**Module 17: Labor Laws** 

**Updated October 2024** 



#### **Overview**

- This training module will provide you with an overview labor laws associated with the Maryland Department of Health Developmental Disabilities Administration (DDA)-operated Medicaid waiver programs.
- This training is a summary with important information on this topic
- More information and requirements are found in the Medicaid waiver program applications, laws, regulations, guidance and policies
- The most updated information regarding Self-Directed Services is published in the Self-Directed Services policy and manual that can be found on the DDA's website at <a href="https://health.maryland.gov/dda/Pages/sdforms.aspx">https://health.maryland.gov/dda/Pages/sdforms.aspx</a>



# Participant as the Employer of Record

- Participants who self-direct may be subject to all employer laws:
  - Federal
  - State
  - Local
- Participants are responsible for knowing about changes in employer law
- This training is an introduction to some labor laws
- The DDA will not train participants, Support Brokers, or team members on ways to interpret laws

### **Labor Laws**

#### **Includes:**

- Fair Employment Practices
- Wages Earned
- Overtime
- Paid and Unpaid Leave
- Record Keeping





## **Fair Employment Practices**

- Laws associated with discrimination against employees or potential employees
  - Unfair treatment due to a "protected class"
  - Harassment by managers, coworkers, and others
  - Denial of reasonable workplace accommodations due to a disability
  - Retaliation because of complaints about discrimination



#### Some Federal Laws Associated with Fair Employment Practices

- Laws enforced by the <u>US Equal Employment Opportunity Commission</u> (EEOC):
  - Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 (Title VII)
  - The Pregnancy Discrimination Act
  - Equal Pay Act of 1963 (EPA)
  - The Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967 (ADEA)
  - Title I of the Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA)
  - The Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008 (GINA)
  - The Pregnant Workers Fairness Act of 2022 (PWFA)



#### **Some Maryland Laws Associated with Fair Employment Practices**

- State Government Article, Title 20, Subtitle 6, Annotated
  Code of Maryland
  - State policy is to assure equal opportunity in employment
  - Harassment due to a protected class and retaliation for reporting discrimination are against the law



# **Wages Earned**

- Federal Minimum Wage Law: \$7.25 per hour
- Maryland Minimum Wage Law: \$15.00 per hour
- Maryland Counties: Varies by the number of employees

In cases where an employee is subject to two or more minimum wage laws, the employee is generally entitled to the *higher* minimum wage.



#### **Overtime**



- Federal Law and Maryland Law: When applicable, employees must be paid
  1.5 times their usual hourly rate for all work over 40 hours per week
- Exemptions include immediate family members



#### **Laws Related to Leave**

- The Maryland Healthy Working Families Act
  - Employers with 15+ employees: required to provide paid earned sick and safe leave
  - Employers with fewer than 15 employees: required to provide unpaid earned sick and safe leave
  - Leave accrues at one hour for every 30 hours worked
  - Other conditions apply



# **Laws Related to Record Keeping**

- Maryland Law requires employer records be kept:
  - For each employee
    - Name
    - Address
    - Race
    - Gender
    - Occupation
  - Rate of pay for each employee
  - Amount paid each pay period for each employee
  - Hours that each employee works each day and workweek





# **Medicaid Record Keeping**

Medicaid requires records to be kept for 6 years



#### **Resources - Federal Laws**

- US Department of Labor Website
- <u>Equal Employment Opportunity Commission</u>
- Federal Minimum Wage Law
- Federal Overtime Law
- Federal Record Keeping Requirements



### **Resources - Maryland Laws**

- Maryland Department of Labor
- Maryland Employment Discrimination
- Maryland Minimum Wage and Overtime Law
- Maryland Healthy Working Families Act and Other Leave Policies
- Maryland Record Keeping Requirements



#### **Resources - Local Laws**

- Montgomery County Minimum Wage Law
- Montgomery County Earned Sick and Safe Law
- Howard County Minimum Wage Law



### Summary

- Participants who self-direct are subject to all employer laws, including those laws related to:
  - Fair Employment Practices
  - Wages, including Minimum Wage
  - Overtime
  - Leave, unpaid and paid
  - Record Keeping
- Participants are responsible for following any changes made to federal, State, or local employment laws

