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MDH – MARYLAND BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS  
http://www.health.maryland.gov/bswe/  

YOUR LICENSE EXPIRES ON OCTOBER 31, 2019. 
 PRACTICING SOCIAL WORK WITHOUT AN ACTIVE LICENSE IS A VIOLATION 
OF THE LAW AND COULD RESULT IN THE SUSPENSION OF LICENSE 
PRIVILEGE AND/OR PROSECUTION.  

2019 - RENEWAL INFORMATION & INSTRUCTIONS 
 

 It is recommended that a licensee renew as soon as possible. 
 
Renewal applications must be post marked, on or before October 31, 2019, along with the 
Continuing Education Report Form and a check or money order for the renewal fee made payable to 
the Maryland Board of Social Work Examiners.  
 
THERE IS NO LATE RENEWAL PERIOD.  
A non-renewed license expires on October 31, 2019 and you cannot practice social work, in 
Maryland, until the license is reinstated. Reinstatement includes submitting the following: a 
reinstatement application; the reinstatement processing fee; the continuing education report form; 
and copies of all the documentation of the required continuing education units obtained in the 
preceding two years.  

 
The Board receives notification from the Comptroller’s Office of Maryland if a licensee owes 
State taxes. The Board can only renew a license after the Comptroller’s Office indicates that the 
licensee has paid the taxes or has made arrangements to pay the taxes.  

On or before October 31, 2018, licensees who will not be practicing social work after November 1, 
2018, may submit an application and fee for Inactive status. Information regarding Inactive status 
and the application can be found on the Board’s website http://www.health.maryland.gov/bswe/ 

VETERANS FULL EMPLOYMENT ACT 2013- EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2013 
 
Under this ACT, the Board may allow an individual licensee who is a member of an armed force 
deployment outside of Maryland to: 
 Renew the license after the expiration of the renewal period without payment of a penalty or 

reinstatement fee if the late renewal is a direct result of the deployment; and 
 Complete any continuing education requirements for renewal within 6 months after 

renewing the license.  
The licensee will be required to provide proof of deployment.  
 

2019 RENEWAL AND 2021 RENEWAL 
 
THE CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORDS CHECK WILL NOT be required in order to renew your license in 2019. 
THE CRIMINAL HISTORY RECORDS CHECK WILL be required in order to renew your license in 2021.  
You will be reminded that the background check must be completed between November 1, 2019 & October 31, 2021. 

 
 
 
 

http://www.health.maryland.gov/bswe/
http://www.health.maryland.gov/bswe/
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License Number: 
Enter license number.  
Your license number is available on the Board’s website under the “Verification” section.  
 
Licensure Category: 
Check the appropriate licensure category. 
 
Fees:  
Please make your check or money order payable to the Maryland Board of Social Work Examiners.  
Include the license number on your check or money order. This will expedite the processing of the 
renewal.  

Renewal Fees:  LBSW $100.00, LMSW $226.00, LCSW $301.00, LCSW-C $301.00 
The Maryland Legislature created the Maryland Health Care Commission (MHCC) to develop and 
implement health care reform in Maryland. Health Occupations Article §1-209, requires that boards  
which renew certain licenses collect the MHCC fee as part of the renewal fee. MHCC has 
determined  the assessment of $26.00 per renewal cycle and is included in the above fees. 
 

PERSONAL  INFORMATION  SECTION 
Name: 
The Board must be notified in writing of a licensee’s name change. Please provide a copy of legal 
documentation of the change in name with the renewal application.   

Please print name; address; city; state; zip code; and be sure to include your email address. 
 
Date of Birth and Social Security Number: 
Your date of birth and social security number are required and will be used for identification 
purposes only. Also provide race, sex, home, work and cell phone numbers. 

WORKER’S COMPENSATION SECTION 
 
Only complete this section if you employ one or more persons in Maryland. Please provide the 
name of the insurance company, the policy number and expiration date for the Worker’s 
Compensation insurer. For information call 410-864-5100 or use the web site, 
www.wcc.state.md.us.    

LICENSING & EMPLOYMENT SECTION 
Licensing: 
List all States where you HOLD or HELD a Social Work license by using the State’s abbreviation 
 
Employment Status and Type of Practice:  
Please select the employment status and type of practice which, in your opinion, best reflects your 
employment.  

 
QUESTIONS  SECTION 

Questions #1 to #5:   
Only mark yes if the matter occurred within the last two years. 
Please provide a written explanation to all questions marked with a yes.   
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Questions #1 to #5 continued:   
If questions #4 is marked yes, the licensee must mail (do not fax) to the Director, Licensing Unit: 

►the renewal application 
►renewal fee 
►continuing education report form 
►a written narrative explaining the charges 
►certified copies of the police/court records and the final disposition. 

 
A Board review is required before the license can be issued and therefore all items should be 
mailed as soon as possible.  
 
Signature and Date: 
Please be sure to sign and date the application.  
 
Incomplete renewal forms will be returned and will cause a delay in the renewal of the license.  
 

CONTINUING  EDUCATION  SECTION 
 

Continuing Education Report Form 
All licensees must complete a Continuing Education Report Form and submit it with their renewal 
application. The Board conducts a random audit of the renewal applications. If audited, the Board 
will contact you and request that you submit the documentation of the continuing education units 
obtained. All continuing education documentation must be kept for three (3) years after the 
licensing renewal date for which the report of continuing education was submitted to the Board. The 
Board may audit your continuing education records any time between November 2019 and October 
2022. 

List all continuing education programs, in chronological order, which satisfy the 40 (30 - LBSW) 
continuing education requirements.   
 
List the program(s) which satisfy the Ethics and if applicable Supervision requirement on the CE 
Report form. 
 

GENERAL  INFORMATION – CONTINUING  EDUCATION 
 

All 40 (30 for LBSW) continuing education units must be obtained in order to renew the license.   
 
Ethics Requirement: Of the 40 (30 - LBSW) required units, a licensee must obtain 3 continuing 
education units in Category I or II  in a content area focusing on ethics  and professional conduct 
which is consistent with generally accepted professional standards of practice. 
 
Board Approved Supervisor Requirement:  If applicable, three Category I or II Continuing 
Education units in a content area focusing on Supervision. 
 
Online and Home-study Programs: a maximum of 20 (15 - LBSW) units may be earned in 
Category II from audio visual, home study and online/internet programs, which are offered by 
Board authorized sponsors. 
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What are the continuing education requirements?  The current continuing education requirement 
is 40 (30 - LBSW) continuing education units in programs and categories approved by the Board for 
each two-year period of licensure.  Licensees must obtain at least 20 of the 40 credits (15 of the 30 
for LBSW) in Category I. All 40 (30 - LBSW) units may be earned in Category I programs given by 
Board Authorized Sponsors:  

Maryland Board of Social Work Examiners  (http://www.health.maryland.gov/bswe/) 
Association of Social Work Boards   (www.aswb.org) 
National Association of Social workers (www.socialworkers.org)    

 
What if you do not have the 40 continuing education units? Please be reminded that a social 
worker has until October 31, 2019 to obtain the required units. The Board cannot issue a license 
unless the social worker can attest to the fact that she/he has met the required units.  
 
A licensee may request an extension. The Board may grant an extension and conditionally renew a 
license for up to 6 months if the Board determines: (1) Failure to fulfill the requirements is a result 
of: (a) a functional impairment; (b) prolonged illness; (c) mandatory military service or deployment; 
(d) prolonged absence from the United States; (e) an officially declared disaster; or (f) financial 
hardship; AND (2) The social worker attempted to meet the requirements  
 
To request an extension, the licensee MUST MAIL the following items: 

1) A written request, with supporting documentation, for an extension;  
2) Renewal application; and  
3) A check or money order for the renewal fee.  

 
Requests for extension must be received before October 1st of the renewal year. The Board will 
review each request and if authorized, a six month conditional license will be issued which will 
expire on April 30, 2020. Licensees will have six months to meet the CE requirements. 
 
Without exception, failure to meet the CE requirements or to submit a written request for an 
extension by OCTOBER 1st will mean that the Board cannot renew the license. 
 

NEED  ASSISTANCE? 
Check the Board’s web site http://www.health.maryland.gov/bswe/  or call the appropriate staff 
person Monday –Friday 8 am to 5 pm or send an email message anytime. 
 
Continuing Education Regulations & Extensions – Continuing Education Associate 

Stacie Rigby 
410-764-3477     Stacie.Rigby@maryland.gov 

 
License Issuance  
The Board does not issue paper licenses. Licensees, employers and clients etc., may verify a social 
work license by selecting “License Verification” of “Look up a Social Worker” on the right side 
of the Board’s website. This is the Primary and Sole source to verify a Maryland social work 
license. 

http://www.health.maryland.gov/bswe/
http://www.aswb.org/
http://www.socialworkers.org/
http://www.health.maryland.gov/bswe/
mailto:Stacie.Rigby@maryland.gov


PLEASE MAKE CHECK PAYABLE TO THE BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS 
PLEASE RETURN AS SOON AS POSSIBLE TO AVOID DELAY IN PROCESSING. 

Date of Birth: 
   Month                 Day                           Year 

Social Security Number: 

FIRST NAME  

LAST NAME AND GENERATIONAL INDICATOR (JR., III etc.) 

MIDDLE NAME / INITIAL 

ADDRESS ONE  

ADDRESS TWO 

CITY STATE ZIP CODE 

Home Phone 

Work Phone 

Cell Phone 

EMAIL ADDRESS 

Sex: 1. Male              2. Female 

The Health Occupations Article SS1-202  requires that you verify that you are complying with the Worker’s Compensation Law for your license to be 
issued. COMPLETE ONLY IF YOU EMPLOY ONE OR MORE PERSONS IN MARYLAND. 

Insurance Company ( Worker’s Compensation only) Policy Number 

Expiration Date: 

For Worker’s Compensation Information, Call 410 - 864 – 5100          http://www.wcc.state.md.us 

FOR BOARD USE ONLY 
MARYLAND BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS 
4201 Patterson Avenue      Baltimore, MD 21215 – 2299  

      Phone Number: 410-764-4788            www.health.maryland.gov/bswe/  
      Toll Free Number: 1-877-526-2541 

Check # Amount $ 

(mm/ dd/ yyyy) 

Licensure Level & Renewal Fees:   Bachelor Social Worker (LBSW) ……...………...$ 100.00 

 Certified Social Worker (LCSW)……………..… ..$ 301.00 

     Master Social Worker (LMSW)……………......…$ 226.00 

    Certified Social Worker- Clinical (LCSW-C)…… $ 301.00 
LICENSE NUMBER: 

EXPIRATION DATE OF CURRENT  
LICENSE: 10/31/2019 

RENEWAL APPLICATION FORM 

PLEASE PRINT 
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PERSONAL INFORMATION SECTION: 

WORKER’S COMPENSATION SECTION: 

To further its commitment to equal opportunity, The Board of Social Work Examiners requests applicants to provide, voluntarily, the following information.  
This Information will be used for statistical purposes only by authorized personnel. Race/Ethnic identification  - Please check all that apply 

Are you of Hispanic or Latin origin? Yes No 

American Indian or  Alaska Native 

Asian 

Black or African American 

Native Hawaiian or Pacific Islander 

White 

Other 



SINCE YOUR LAST REGISTRATION: FOR THE FOLLOWING, CHECK THE BOX YES OR NO NEXT TO EACH QUESTION. 

1. Within the last two years, have you provided social work services while under the influence of alcohol, a narcotic, a controlled  
    dangerous substance or other drug that is in excess of prescribed amounts or without valid medical indication? 

2.  Within the last two years, has any State Licensing or Disciplinary Board, or a comparable body in the Armed Services denied  
    your application for licensure, reinstatement, renewal, or taken any action against your license, including but not limited to  
    reprimand, suspension, or revocation?  

3. Within the last two years, have you ever voluntarily surrendered your license due to a violation of state licensing law(s)? 

4. . Within the last two years, have you pled guilty to, nolo contendere to, been convicted of, or received probation before  
     judgement for any criminal act excluding misdemeanor traffic violations? (Misdemeanor traffic violations include driving while  
     under the influence of alcohol, while impaired by alcohol, or while impaired by a drug, or a combination drugs and therefore, do  
     not need to be reported to the Board.) 

5. Within the last two years, has a claim for damages been awarded or settled against you resulting from a malpractice suit? 

Yes       No 

FOR EACH QUESTION ANSWERED WITH A YES PLEASE ATTACH A DETAILED EXPLANATION AND FOR QUESTIONS # 4  
ALSO PROVIDE A CERTIFIED COPY OF THE POLICE/COURT RECORD AND FINAL DISPOSITION. 

 
I solemnly affirm under the penalties of perjury that the entire contents of this application are true and correct. I further certify that I am aware 
of and will meet the requirements of the Maryland Social Work Practice Act & Regulations pertaining to social work practice in Maryland. I 
understand that my Maryland Social Work license may be revoked if any assertion made in this application is found to be false.  

 
 
 Date:  

This side MUST be completed for license to be issued. 

PLEASE MAIL COMPLETED, SIGNED AND DATED RENEWAL FORM WITH A CHECK OR MONEY ORDER FOR THE RENEWAL FEE 
TO THE: 

Practice Zip Code 

Practice County 

Employment Information 

Employment Status 

Employment Type 

1. Full Time Social Work 
2. Part Time Social Work 
3. Inactive (active license but not actively practicing 

social work in Maryland) 
4. Retired 
5. Work outside Social Work Field 
6. Other 

1. Federal Government 
2. State Government (DHR-DSS, DHMH, DDA, DOC,DJS etc.) 
3. Private Practice - Solo 
4. Private Practice - Group 
5. Multi-Disciplinary Setting 
6. Non – Acute Care Facility 
7. Long Term Care 
8. Assisted Living 
9. Hospital 
10. School System 
11. Other 

Maryland Board of Social Work Examiners 
4201 Patterson Avenue, Baltimore MD 21215-2299  

Signature: 
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List all States where you hold or held  a Social Work License. a. b. c. d. 

EMPLOYMENT & LICENSING SECTION 

QUESTIONS SECTION 

MILITARY STATUS 
 Veteran (Within 1 year of honorable discharge)              Active Service              Military Spouse 
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MARYLAND BOARD OF SOCIAL WORK EXAMINERS 

4201 Patterson Avenue, Baltimore, MD 21215-2299 
Phone Number: 410-764-4788                      Toll Free Number: 1-877-526-2541          http://www.health.maryland.gov/bswe/ 
 
 

CONTINUING EDUCATION REPORT FORM 
RENEWAL 2019 
 
NAME: _____________________________________________ LICENSE NUMBER: _______________ 

 
INSTRUCTIONS:  Do not attach the certificates. Please note that this does not constitute an audit.  A 
separate notice will be sent if you are selected for the audit.  
 

40 (30 for LBSW) credit units required & obtained between 11/01/2017 & 10/31/2019 
 
CATEGORY I OR CATEGORY II:  
Ethics Requirement: (at least 3 Category I or II must be earned) 
DATE SPONSOR TITLE CEU CAT I/ II 

     

     

                                                                                                                  
                                                                                                                                  
CATEGORY 1 OR CATEGORY II:  
Supervision Requirement: (at least 3 Category I or II must be earned) 
DATE SPONSOR TITLE CEU CAT 1/ II 

     

     

2019 renewal – all approved supervisors with a supervision approval date between 01/01/2004 and 
10/31/2017 shall have at least 3 credit units in a content area focusing on supervision.  
 
CATEGORY 1: (must obtain 20 credit units) (LBSW must obtain 15 credit units) 
   DATE SPONSOR TITLE       CEU 

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    
 

[Must Total 20 (15 LBSW)]   Category I Total _______ 
 

                                                

   

  

 

  

      

       

http://www.health.maryland.gov/bswe/
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CATEGORY II (20 credit units may be earned) (LBSW 15 credit units may be earned) 
                                                                
DATE SPONSOR TITLE CEU 

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    

    
 

Category II Total _______ 
(40 (30 for LBSW) credit units required & obtained between 11/01/2017 & 10/31/2019) 

GRAND TOTAL _______ 
COMPARISON/CONVERSION CHART         
Continued Education Credit Units 
 
1 Academic Credit  = 5 Credit Units 
1 Academic Audit Credit = 3 Credit Units  
1 Clock/Contact Hour = 1 Credit Unit  
1 60 Minute Class Hour =1 Credit Unit 
 

 
 
Information concerning continuing education requirements is located on the Board’s website: 
http://www.health.maryland.gov/bswe/ 

 
 

* Continuing Education Unit(s): to determine the number of equivalent credit hours  
   consider the number of Units in the program excluding all breaks (mid-morning, 
   lunch time and mid-afternoon). 
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