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CONSENT ORDER

The Maryland Board of Social Work Examiners (the “Board”) charged Jaime M.
Sullivan, License Master Social Worker (LMSW), (the “Respondent”), License
Number 20181, with violating various provisions of the Maryland Social Workers Act
(the “Act”), codified at Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. §§ 19-101 ef seq. (2014 Repl. Vol.

and 2020 Supp.).
The pertinent provisions of the Act provide the following:
§ 19-311. Grounds for license denials, discipline

Subject to the hearing provisions of § 19-312 of this subtitle, the Board may
deny a license to any applicant, fine a licensee, reprimand any licensee,
place any licensee on probation, or suspend or revoke a license if the
applicant of licensee:

(4) Commits any act of gross negligence, incompetence, or misconduct
in the practice of social work;

(5)  Engages in a course of conduct that is inconsistent with generally
accepted professional standards in the practice of social work; [and]



(6) Violates any provision of this title or regulations governing the
practice of social work adopted and published by the Board|.]

COMAR 10.42.06.03 — Continuing Education Requirements

A. The Board shall renew a license for an additional 2-year period if the
social worker:

(1) Completes 40 (30 for Licensed Bachelor Social Workers)
continuing education units within the renewal period, of which a
minimum of:

a. 20 (15 for Licensed Bachelor Social Workers) continuing
education units shall be obtained from approved programs
which are Category I;

b. 3 of the required Category I or Category II continuing
education units shall have a content area focusing on
ethics and professional conduct, including boundary
issues, or pertaining to the standards of practice and laws
governing the profession of social work in Maryland;

(2) Submits an application as set forth in COMAR 10.42.01 attesting
to completion of the required continuing education units in
approved programs; and

(3) Completes the required continuing education units within a 2-
year period as set forth in §B of this regulation.

B. Time Frame.

(1) Renewed licenses are valid for a 2-year period from November 1
through and including October 31, during which time continuing
education units may be earned.

(2) Continuing education units obtained in one renewal period may not
be carried over to the next renewal period.

COMAR 10.42.06.07 — Consequences of Failure to Comply with
Continuing Education Requirements.

The Board shall notify a social worker by first class mail that the
license has not been renewed if the following has occurred:
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D. The social worker has not responded to audit requirements within the
time required.

COMAR 10.42.06.02 - Definitions.

(4) “Category I” means activities that are formally organized face-to-face
learning experiences provided by Board-approved sponsors.

(5) “Category II” means activities that are independent, less structured
learning experiences.

(7) “Continuing education” means completing approved programs designed
to provide:

(a) Enhancement of social work practice, values, skills, and
knowledge; and

(b) Enrichment of social work services and competence.

(8) “Continuing education unit” means 1 hour (60 minutes) of an approved
program as set forth in Regulation .04 of this chapter.

(12) “Renewal period” means the period from the date the license was
issued or November 1 of the renewal year to October 31 of the expiration
year.

FINDINGS OF FACT

The Board finds that:



. The Respondent was initially licensed to practice as a Licensed Master
Social Worker (“LMSW?”) by the Board on July 30, 2014. Her license
expired on October 31, 2020.

. On or about November 1, 2018, the Respondent renewed her LMSW
license for the period of November 1, 2018 through October 31, 2020.

. On or about January 9, 2019, the Association of Social Work Boards
(“ASWB”) mailed a letter to the Respondent on behalf of the Board
notifying her that she had been randomly selected for inclusion in a Post-
Renewal Continuing Education Audit and requesting that she submit copies
of all training certificates to the Board by February 11, 2019. The Board did
not receive a response.

. On or about February 11, 2019, a second post-renewal audit notice was sent
to the Respondent requesting that the outstanding documents be provided
within 15 business days. The Board did not receive a response.

. On or about March 6, 2019, the Board sent a third notice to the Respondent.
The requested materials were not received by the Board.

. On or about April 13, 2020, the Board sent a final notice to the Respondent
via regular and certified mail requesting that all outstanding documents be
provided within 15 business days. No response was received by the Board.

. The Board’s audit revealed that the Board never received continuing

education unit documentation from the Respondent. The Respondent held



an active license during the time period of this audit and did not meet the
Board’s continuing education requirement.
8. On or about July 27, 2020, a pre-charge Consent Order was sent to the

Respondent, but no reply was received by the Board.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact, the Board concludes as a matter of

law that the Respondent violated:

§ 19-311. Grounds for license denials, discipline

Subject to the hearing provisions of § 19-312 of this subtitle, the Board may
deny a license to any applicant, fine a licensee, reprimand any licensee,
place any licensee on probation, or suspend or revoke a license if the
applicant of licensee:

(4) Commits any act of gross negligence, incompetence, or misconduct
in the practice of social work;

(5) Engages in a course of conduct that is inconsistent with generally
accepted professional standards in the practice of social work; [and]

(6) Violates any provision of this title or regulations governing the
practice of social work adopted and published by the Board].]

COMAR 10.42.06.03 — Continuing Education Requirements



C. The Board shall renew a license for an additional 2-year period if the
social worker:

(4) Completes 40 (30 for Licensed Bachelor Social Workers)
continuing education units within the renewal period, of which a
minimum of;

a. 20 (15 for Licensed Bachelor Social Workers) continuing
education units shall be obtained from approved programs
which are Category I;

b. 3 of the required Category I or Category II continuing
education units shall have a content area focusing on
ethics and professional conduct, including boundary
issues, or pertaining to the standards of practice and laws
governing the profession of social work in Maryland;

(5) Submits an application as set forth in COMAR 10.42.01 attesting
to completion of the required continuing education units in
approved programs; and

(6) Completes the required continuing education units within a 2-
year period as set forth in §B of this regulation.

D. Time Frame.

(3) Renewed licenses are valid for a 2-year period from November 1
through and including October 31, during which time continuing
education units may be earned.

(4) Continuing education units obtained in one renewal period may not
be carried over to the next renewal period.



ORDER

Based on the foregoing Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, it is this

Ak
x 2 day of J\[@VQmeEt“ , 2021, by a majority of the quorum of

the Board considering this case hereby:

ORDERED that the Respondent shall be REPRIMANDED; and it is

further

ORDERED that upon renewal or reinstatement, the Respondent’s license
to practice social work shall be placed on PROBATION for a minimum of ONE
(1) YEAR, and continuing until the Respondent has successfully completed the

following probationary conditions:

1. The Respondent shall complete the 40.0 outstanding Category I and
Category II CEUs which include 3.0 Category I or Category II ethics
within 180 days.

iv.  The Respondent shall comply with the Maryland Social Workers Act

and all laws, statutes and regulations pertaining thereof.

ORDERED that the Respondent shall pay a monetary fine of ONE-THOUSAND

FIVE HUNDRED DOLLARS ($1500) within one year.



ORDERED that upon any renewal or reinstatement of the Respondent’s license to
practice social work in the State of Maryland, she shall be automatically audited for two

licensing renewal cycles.

ORDERED that If the Respondent violates any of the terms and conditions of this
Consent Order, the Board, in its discretion, after notice and an opportunity for an
evidentiary hearing if there is a genuine dispute as to the underlying facts, or an
opportunity for a show cause hearing before the Board otherwise, may impose any
sanction that the Board may have imposed in this case, including additional probationary

terms and conditions, a reprimand, suspension, revocation and/or a monetary penalty;

ORDERED that the Respondent shall be responsible for all costs incurred in

fulfilling the terms and conditions of this Consent Order; and

ORDERED that the Consent Order is a PUBLIC DOCUMENT pursuant to Md.

Code Ann., Gen. Prov. §§ 4-101 ef seq. (2014 Repl. Vol. and 2020 Supp.).
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Date Karen Richards, LCSW-C
Board Chair
State Board of Social Work Examiners



CONSENT

I, Jaime Sullivan, LMSW, License No. 20181, by affixing my signature hereto

acknowledge that:

.

I am represented by and have consulted with legal counsel in this matter. I
have knowingly and voluntarily agreed to enter into this Consent Order.
By this Consent and for the purpose of resolving the issues raised by the
Board, I agree and accept to be bound by the foregoing Consent Order and
its conditions.

I am aware that I am entitled to a formal evidentiary hearing, pursuant to
Md. Code Ann., Health Occ. § 19-312 (2014 Repl. Vol. and 2020 Supp.)
and Md. Code Ann., State Gov’t, §§ 10-210 et seq. (2014 Repl. Vol. and
2020 Supp.).

I acknowledge the validity and enforceability of this Consent Order as if
entered into after the conclusion of a formal evidentiary hearing in which I
would have the right to counsel, to confront witnesses, to give testimony,
to call witnesses on my own behalf, and to all other substantive and
procedural protections as provided by law. I am waiving those procedural
and substantive protections.

I voluntarily enter into and agree to abide by the terms and conditions set
forth herein as a resolution of the charges against me. I waive any right to

contest the Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law, and I waive my right



to a full evidentiary hearing, as set forth above, and any right to appeal this

Consent Order or any adverse ruling of the Board that might have

followed any such hearing.

Sl I acknowledge that by failing to abide by the conditions set forth in this
Consent Order, I may be subject to disciplinary actions, which may
include revocation of my license to practice as a social worker.

6.

I sign this Consent Order voluntarily, without reservation, and I fully

understand and comprehend the language, meaning and terms of this

Consent Order.
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Date Jaime M. Sullivan, LMSW
Respondent
NOTARY
STATE OF MARYLAND
CITY/COUNTY OF:

I HEREBY CERTIFY that on this ﬂ day of [V V, 2021, before me, a Notary

Public of the state and County aforesaid, personally appeared Jaime Sullivan, LMSW,

and gave an oath in due form of law that the foregoing Consent Order was his voluntary
act and deed.
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