MARYLAND BOARD OF PROFESSIONAL COUNSELORS AND THERAPISTS 4201 PATTERSON AVENUE – 316 BALTIMORE, MARYLAND 21215 410-764-4732 www.dhmh.maryland.gov/bopc/

INSTRUCTIONS LCMFT OUT OF STATE APPLICANTS

- (1) **Application**: Submit a completed Out-of-State Board application (enclosed);
- (2) **Fee:** Submit (\$250.00) application fee with the "Out of State Board Application." Make Check Payable to: Board Of Professional Counselors and Therapists.
- (3) Out of State Verification Form Applicants must submit documentation that applicant is currently licensed in good standing to practice marriage and family therapy in another state, territory or jurisdiction. Applicants must complete items 1-10 and send this form to the state(s) where currently licensed. The licensing state(s) must complete items 11-17 and then forward this form directly to the Maryland Board.
- (4) Applicant must submit a copy of the current license from each state territory or jurisdiction where applicant has been licensed or authorized to practice marriage and family therapy
- (5) **Education:** Submit an official, sealed transcript from an accredited college verifying a degree in a marital and family therapy field showing one of the following:
 - a. MA Degree with 60 graduate credits or 90 graduate quarter credits; or
 - b. MA Degree with less than 60 graduate credits or 90 quarter credits;
 - c. Doctorate Degree

- (6) **Professional Experience:** Please provide (3) professional experience verification forms from employers, supervisors or colleagues verifying experience from **one** of the following. (In the case of colleague, colleague must have mental health credential).
 - a. Master's Degree with 60 credits applicants must have at least 2 years and 2,000 hours of supervised clinical experience in marriage and family therapy, completed after the award of MA degree; or
 - Master's Degree with <u>less</u> than 60 credits applicants must have 2 years practicing as licensed clinical marriage and family therapist and 2,000 hours of clinical marriage and family therapy experience; or
 - c. Doctorate: 2 years practicing as a clinical marriage and family therapist with a minimum of 2,000 hours of marriage and family therapy experience.
- (7) **Coursework:** Applicants must submit transcript(s) showing a minimum of 3 graduate credit hours or 5 quarter hours covering each of the following primary topic or content areas:
- A. Diagnosis and Treatment of Mental Emotional Disorders (course must cover DSM-IV);
- B. Sexual issues in marriage and family therapy;
- C. Couples therapy, theory, and techniques; and
- D. Professional, legal and ethical responsibilities in marriage and family therapy.
- (8) **Examination**: Take and pass the Examination in Marital and Family Therapy developed by the Association of Marital and Family Therapy Regulatory Boards. If you have not taken the MFT exam, you may take the exam upon receiving Board approval.
- (9) Take and pass the Maryland Law Test. The Maryland Law Test is administered at the Board's office twice monthly.