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DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH

Board of Professional Counselors & Therapists

2026 ONLINE RENEWAL NOTICE

PLEASE READ THE FOLLOWING CAREFULLY.

General Renewal Information:

The renewal portal for all licensees and certificate holders whose licenses expire January 31,
2026, will open on November 1, 2025, and close on January 31, 2026. You may access the
online portal by clicking on the “License Renewal Portal” link which will appear in both the
center and right side of the Board’s homepage.

Continuing Education Requirements for Renewal- Please be sure you have completed your
required continuing education (CE) hours for this renewal period. CEU’s must be earned
between February 1, 2024 — January 31, 2026.

Criminal History Records Check (CHRC)- As required in Article, §17-501.1, Annotated Code of
Maryland, licensees must complete a background check if it has been six (6) years or more since
your last report. A complete CHRC includes both State and FBI reports. The date of your last
CHRC may be found on the Board’s website under “License Verification”. Maryland residents
can use the link following to obtain and complete their CHRC,
https://health.maryland.gov/bopc/pdfs/chre.pdf

If you have completed your background check, please notify the Board via phone within 3 days
of completion so that your background check date can be updated in our database.

Out of State applicants who are up for renewal and need to complete a criminal background
will need to contact the Board at 410-764-4732 or mdh.bopct@maryland.gov to receive a
fingerprint packet.

Renewal Fees- The cost to renew your license is $301.00. The renewal fee must be paid by
Credit/Debit card ONLY (Visa or MasterCard). Licenses that have not been renewed by
midnight on January 31, 2026, will need to mail a paper reinstatement application along with a
check/money order in the amount $501.00 to reinstate your license after the deadline.


https://mdbnc.health.maryland.gov/pct/logon.aspx
https://mdbnc.health.maryland.gov/pctverification/default.aspx
https://health.maryland.gov/bopc/pdfs/chrc.pdf

Implicit Bias Training Requirement:

Enacted under Article I, § 17(c) of the Maryland Constitution, May 30, 2021
The law requires all health care practitioners in Maryland to attest that they have completed an
implicit bias training program on their license renewal application.

At the time of renewal, you will need to have completed one of the implicit bias training courses
approved by the Office of Minority Health and Health Disparities (MHHD). Please note the
courses listed do not count towards your continuing education hours but will satisfy the implicit
bias training requirement for licensure renewal. You will attest to the completion of the training
by checking the appropriate box in your renewal application. You are only required to attest to
the completion of the training once. You will not need to repeat this attestation during
subsequent renewals.

For more information and a complete listing of the approved implicit bias training courses,
please click on the following link, https://health.maryland.gov/mhhd/Pages/Implicit-Bias-
Resources.aspx.

Lastly, effective July 1, 2019, the Board no longer issues paper licenses or renewal licenses.
Verification of renewal is available on the Board’s website under “License Verification”.

Please contact the Board at (410) 764-4732 or mdh.bocpt@maryland.gov with questions.



https://health.maryland.gov/mhhd/Pages/Implicit-Bias-Resources.aspx
https://health.maryland.gov/mhhd/Pages/Implicit-Bias-Resources.aspx
https://mdbnc.health.maryland.gov/pctverification/default.aspx
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