

Larry Hogan, Governor · Boyd K. Rutherford, Lt. Governor · Dennis R. Schrader, Secretary

## MARYLAND BOARD OF MORTICIANS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS

Inspection of Funeral Establishments

Annotated Code of Maryland, Health Occupations Article, Title 7, Maryland Morticians and Funeral Directors Act, §7-409 Inspections states:

- 1. Without Notice. All inspections of funeral establishments shall be unannounced and may take place at any time without notice from the Board.
- 2. Advance notice. An unannounced inspection may include advance notice that an investigator may be in the region of the funeral establishment, if:
  - a. The advance notice is no more than 14 days prior to the inspection;
  - b. No specific date or time is provided for the inspection; and
  - c. The advanced notice is provided solely to ensure that a licensed mortician or funeral director will be on-site for the inspection.

In accordance with COMAR 10.29.03 Inspection of Funeral Establishments regulations, please make a copy of the following documents and have them ready to provide to the Board's Inspector:

- 1. General Price List;
- 2. Casket Price List;
- 3. Outer Burial Container Price List;
- 4. Completed and duly signed burial funeral service contract (Statement of Funeral Goods and Services Selected) with any invoices attached;
- 5. Completed and duly signed cremation service contract (Statement of Funeral Goods and Services Selected) with any invoices attached;
- 6. Authorization form to cremate, associated with item #5
- 7. Cremation identification form, associated with item #5
- 8. Notice entitled, "Disposition of Cremated Remains Notification";
- 9. Cremations Identification Tag with the required information "Jane Doe";
- 10. Pre-need contract addendum;
- 11. Supplemental agreement to establish an irrevocable trust;
- 12. Authorization to release the body to the establishment;
- 13. Disclosure/Disclaimer Form; and
- 14. Copy of the most recent hazardous waste certification form provided by the licensee's hazardous waste contractor; or the establishment's written plan to dispose of hazardous waste

Please have all preneed files available or audit, to include all bank statements, showing the deposits of monies and current values. If pre-arrangements are funded by insurance, the insurance application and policy information will be required.

As you may already be aware, under COMAR 10.29.04.02.BB there is a \$50.00 fee for failure to comply with an inspection for the first offense, and a \$100.00 fee under 10.29.04.02 CC for failure to comply with future inspections. Your cooperation in the inspection process is very much appreciated.