
Title 10 MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH 
Subtitle 29 BOARD OF MORTICIANS AND FUNERAL DIRECTORS 

Chapter 01 Hearing Procedures 

10.29.01.00 Hearing Procedures 
Authority: Health Occupations Article, §§1-606, 7-205(a)(1) and (c), 7-316, 7-318, and 7-604, Annotated Code 

of Maryland 

10.29.01.01 Scope. 
 This chapter governs procedures for disciplinary matters and hearings before the Maryland State 

Board of Morticians and Funeral Directors and establishes the standards for use as a guide for the 
imposition of disciplinary sanctions against any of the following under jurisdiction of the Board: 
 A licensed mortician, funeral director, apprentice, surviving spouse, funeral establishment, 

corporation, crematory supervisor, or executor; 
 A courtesy card holder; 
 A holder of a permit to operate a crematory; 
 A certified crematory operator or crematory technician; 
 A holder of a mortuary transport permit; and 
 A registered transporter. 

  If, after a hearing, the Board finds that there are grounds under Health Occupations Article, §7–316 
or 7–604, Annotated Code of Maryland, to sanction any person listed in §A of this regulation by way 
of probation, reprimand, suspension, fine, or revocation, the Board may consider aggravating and 
mitigating factors in determining sanctions 

10.29.01.02 Notice of Hearing. 
 All interested parties shall be afforded an opportunity to be present at formal hearings. 
 Written notice of the hearing shall be sent by the Secretary of the Board to all interested parties at 

least 30 days before the hearing. The notice shall state the date, time and place of the hearing. It 
shall also state the issues or charges involved in the proceeding. However, if by reason of the nature 
of the proceeding, the issues cannot be fully stated in advance of the hearing, or if subsequent 
amendment of the issue is necessary, they shall be fully stated as soon as practicable. 

10.29.01.03 Parties and Representation. 
 "Party" includes any person or agency named or admitted as a party, or properly seeking and 

entitled as of right to be admitted as a party, in formal hearings. Any person or agency may be 
admitted as a party for limited purposes. 

 All parties appearing at formal hearings shall have the right to appear in proper person or by or with 
counsel. All parties shall have the right to be accompanied, represented and advised by counsel. 

10.29.01.04 Prehearing Procedures. 
 Discovery on Request. By written request served on the other party and filed with the Board or the 

Office of Administrative Hearings, as appropriate, a party may require another party to produce, 
within 15 days, the following: 
 A list of witnesses to be called; 
 Copies of documents intended to be produced at the hearing; or 
 Both. 

 Mandatory Discovery. 



 Each party shall provide to the other party not later than 15 days before the prehearing 
conference, if scheduled, or 45 days before the scheduled hearing date, whichever is earlier: 

 The name and curriculum vitae of any expert witness who will testify at the hearing; and 
 A detailed written report summarizing the expert's testimony, which includes the opinion 

offered and the factual basis and reasons underlying the opinion. 
 If the Board or the Office of Administrative Hearings, as appropriate, finds that the report is not 

sufficiently specific, or otherwise fails to comply with the requirements of §B of this regulation, 
the Board or the Office of Administrative Hearings, as appropriate, shall exclude from the hearing 
the testimony of the expert and any report of the expert. 

 The Board or the Office of Administrative Hearings, as appropriate, shall consider and decide 
arguments regarding the sufficiency of the report: 

 At the prehearing conference, if scheduled; or 
 Immediately before the scheduled hearing. 

 If an expert adopts a sufficiently specific charging document as the expert's report, that adoption 
satisfies the requirements set forth in §B of this regulation. 

 Parties are not entitled to discovery of items other than as listed in §§A and B of this regulation. 
 Both parties have a continuing duty to supplement their disclosures of witnesses and documents. 
 Absent unforeseen circumstances which would otherwise impose an extraordinary hardship on a 

party, witnesses or documents may not be added to the list after: 
 The prehearing conference, if scheduled; or 
 15 days before the hearing, if no prehearing conference is scheduled. 

 The prohibition against adding witnesses does not apply to witnesses or documents to be used for 
impeachment or rebuttal purposes. 

 Construction. 
 In hearings conducted by an administrative law judge of the Office of Administrative Hearings, 

this regulation shall, whenever possible, be construed as supplementing and in harmony with 
COMAR 28.02.01. 

 In the event of a conflict between this regulation and COMAR 28.02.01, this regulation shall 
apply. 

10.29.01.05 Records and Transcript. 
 The Board shall prepare an official record, which shall include all pleadings, testimony, exhibits and 

other memoranda or material filed in the proceeding. 
 Unless waived by all parties, a stenographic record of the proceedings shall be made at the expense 

of the Board. The record need not be transcribed, however, unless requested by a party, or by the 
Board. The cost of any typewritten transcripts of any proceeding, or part thereof, shall be paid by 
the party requesting the transcript. 

10.29.01.06 Presiding Officer Duties. 
Each hearing shall be held before a quorum of the Board. The president, or in his absence a member 
designated by him, shall be the presiding officer, and shall have complete charge of the hearing, permit the 
examination of witnesses, admit evidence, rule on the admissibility of evidence, and adjourn or recess the 
hearing from time to time. 

10.29.01.07 Order of Procedure. 
The order in which the parties shall present their case shall be determined by the presiding officer. 

10.29.01.08 Examination of Witness and Introduction of Evidence. 



 The rules of evidence in all hearings under these regulations shall be as set forth in State 
Government Article, §§10-208 and 10-209, Annotated Code of Maryland. 

 Any party may submit evidence, examine and cross-examine witnesses, and file objections, 
exceptions and motions. However, when a party is represented by counsel, all submission of 
evidence, examination and cross-examination of witnesses, and filing of objections, exceptions and 
motions shall be done and presented solely by the counsel. 

 The presiding officer, or any person designated by him for the purpose, may examine any witness 
called by any party. He may call as a witness any person in attendance at the hearing. Any member 
of the Board may examine any witness called by any party. 

10.29.01.09 Briefs. 
Any party may submit briefs of the issues of fact and law involved in the hearing. The briefs shall be filed in the 
form, with the number of copies, and at the time as the presiding officer may designate. 

10.29.01.10 Sanctioning Guidelines. 
 General Application. 

 This regulation shall be used by the Board as a guide for sanctioning pursuant to the Board’s 
authority under Health Occupations Article, §§7–205, 7–316, and 7–604, Annotated Code of 
Maryland, for violations of the Morticians and Funeral Directors Act and the Board’s regulations. 

 The Board is not required to make findings of fact with respect to any of the factors for 
determining the sanction indicated by the sanctioning guidelines. 

 A departure from the sanctioning guidelines alone is not a ground for any hearing or appeal of a 
Board action. 

 Notwithstanding these sanctioning guidelines, in order to resolve a disciplinary matter, the Board 
and the offending person may agree to surrender a license, courtesy card, permit, or certificate, 
or agree to a consent order with terms, conditions, and sanctions agreed upon. 

 In a case where there are multiple and distinct violations, the Board may impose a sanction 
greater than the maximum indicated by the sanctioning guidelines for each individual violation. 

 If probation is imposed, the Board may impose appropriate terms and conditions of probation. 
Violations of the terms or conditions may cause the Board to take further disciplinary action. 

 In the event a violation does not fall within the sanction range, the Board shall so indicate and 
use its best judgment to determine the appropriate sanction and consider, to the extent possible, 
the factors in the sanctioning guidelines. 

 Range of Sanctions. 

VIOLATION 
MINIMUM 
SANCTION 

MAXIMUM 
SANCTION 

MINIMUM 
PENALTY 

MAXIMUM 
PENALTY 

(1) Fraudulently or deceptively obtains or 
attempts to obtain a license, permit, or 
registration for the applicant or licensee, 
permit holder, or registration holder or for 
another 

Reprimand Revocation/denial $0 $5,000 

(2) Fraudulently or deceptively uses a license, 
permit, or registration 

Active 
suspension 
for 1 year 

Revocation $0 $5,000 

(3) Commits fraud or misrepresentation: 
    (a) In the practice of mortuary science; or 

Active 
suspension 
for 1 year 

Revocation $0 $5,000 



    (b) While removing or transporting human 
remains 

(4) Is convicted of or pleads guilty or nolo 
contendere to a felony or to a crime involving 
moral turpitude 

Probation for 
1 year 

Revocation/denial $0 $5,000 

(5) Aids or abets an unauthorized person in the 
practice of mortuary science specifically: 
    (a) In embalming without a license; 
    (b) In making arrangements; 
    (c) In the cremation of human remains; or 
    (d) In the transporting or removal of human 
remains 

Active 
suspension 
for 90 days 

Revocation $0 $5,000 

(6) Advertises falsely or in a misleading manner Reprimand 
Active suspension 

for 60 days 
$0 $500 

(7) Solicits mortuary science business: 
    (a) Either personally or by an agent, from a 
dying individual; or 
    (b) To remove or transport human remains 

Active 
suspension 
for 30 days 

Active suspension 
for 1 year 

$0 $1,500 

(8) Directly or indirectly pays or offers to pay to 
obtain: 
    (a) Mortuary science business; or 
    (b) Business to remove or transport human 
remains 

Active 
suspension 
for 30 days 

Active suspension 
for 1 year 

$0 $1,500 

(9) Solicits or accepts any payment or rebate 
for recommending any crematory, mausoleum, 
or cemetery or causing a dead human body to 
be disposed of there 

Reprimand 
Active suspension 

for 30 days 
$0 $500 

(10) Refuses to surrender custody of a human 
remains on the demand of a person who is 
entitled to its custody 

Active 
suspension 
for 30 days 

Revocation $2,500 $5,000 

(11) Sells or offers to sell any share, certificate, 
or interest, with a promise to offer to perform 
services to the buyer at a cost less than that 
offered to the general public, in: 
    (a) A mortuary science business; or 
    (b) A mortuary transport service 

Reprimand Revocation $0 $2,500 

(12) Fails, after proper demand, to refund 
promptly any payments received under a pre-
need contract with interest 

Active 
suspension 
for 30 days 

Revocation $1,000 $5,000 

(13) At the time funeral arrangements are 
made, fails to give the contract required by 
Health Occupations Article, §7-404, Annotated 
Code of Maryland 

Reprimand 
Active suspension 

15 days 
$0 $250 

(14) Violates any State, municipal, or county 
law, rule, or regulation on the handling, 

Reprimand 
Active suspension 

for 1 year 
$0 $5,000 



custody, care, or transportation of human 
remains or the disposal of instruments, 
materials, and wastes relevant to preparation 
of human remains for final disposition 

(15) Does one of the following: 
    (a) Practices mortuary science under a name 
other than the name that appears on the 
license of that person or the name of a 
partnership in accordance with Health 
Occupations Article, §7-401, Annotated Code 
of Maryland; or 
    (b) Removes and transports human remains 
under a name other than the name that 
appears on the permit or registration of that 
person 

Reprimand Probation $0 $500 

(16) Violates any provision of this title, of the 
laws relating to cremation, or any other law 
relating to removing and transporting of 
human remains 

Reprimand Revocation $0 $5,000 

(17) Is disciplined by a licensing or disciplinary 
authority of any other state or country for an 
act that would be grounds for disciplinary 
action under the Board’s disciplinary statutes 

Reprimand Revocation $0 $5,000 

(18) Willfully makes or files a false report or 
record: 
    (a) In the practice of mortuary science; or 
    (b) For a mortuary transport service 

Reprimand Revocation $0 $5,000 

(19) Willfully fails to file or record any report as 
required by law, willfully impedes or obstructs 
the filing or recording of the report, or induces 
another to fail to file or record the report 

Reprimand Revocation $0 $5,000 

(20) Submits a false statement to collect a fee Reprimand Revocation $0 $5,000 

(21) Provides professional services while under 
the influence of alcohol or using any narcotic or 
controlled dangerous substance, or other drug 
that is in excess of therapeutic amounts or 
without valid medical indication 

Probation Revocation $250 $5,000 

(22) Violates any rule, or regulation adopted by 
the Board 

Reprimand Revocation $0 $5,000 

(23) Is professionally, physically, or mentally 
incompetent 

Active 
suspension 
for 30 days 

Revocation $0 $5,000 

(24) Commits an act of unprofessional conduct: 
    (a) In the practice of mortuary science; or 

Probation Revocation $0 $5,000 



    (b) While removing and transporting human 
remains 

(25) Refuses, withholds from, denies, or 
discriminates against an individual with regard 
to the provision of professional services for 
which the person is licensed, permitted, or 
registered and qualified to render because the 
individual is HIV positive; 

Probation 
Active suspension 

for 30 days 
$0 $5,000 

(26) Except in an emergency life-threatening 
situation where is its not feasible or 
practicable, fails to comply with CDC guidelines 
on universal precautions 

Reprimand 
Active suspension 

for 30 days 
$0 $5,000 

(27) Fails to allow an inspection under Health 
Occupations Article, §7-205, Annotated Code 
of Maryland 

Probation 
Active suspension 

for 30 days 
$0 $2,500 

(28) Fails to comply with inspection 
requirements in the time specified by the 
Board 

Reprimand Probation $0 $500 

(29) Fails to comply with laws or regulations 
relating to Health-General Article, §5–513, 
Annotated Code of Maryland 

Probation 
Active suspension 

for 30 days 
$250 $5,000 

(30) Removes human remains from a death 
scene, mortuary transport services, funeral 
establishment, or crematory, without the 
authorization of the entity in custody of the 
human remains 

Reprimand Revocation $250 $5,000 

 Mitigating and Aggravating Factors. Depending on the facts and circumstances of each case, and to 
the extent that they apply, the Board may consider the following mitigating and aggravating factors 
in determining whether the sanction in a particular case should fall outside of the range of sanctions 
established by the guidelines. These factors may include, but are not limited to the following: 
 Mitigating Factors: 

 Absence of a prior disciplinary record; 
 The respondent reported the violation to the Board; 
 The respondent voluntarily admitted violation, provided full disclosure to the Board, and 

cooperated during Board proceedings; 
 The respondent implemented remedial measures to correct or mitigate harm arising from 

the violation; 
 The respondent made a timely good-faith effort to make restitution or otherwise rectify the 

consequences of the violation; 
 Evidence of rehabilitation or potential for rehabilitation; 
 Absence of premeditation to commit the violation; 
 Absence of potential harm to or adverse impact on the public or adverse impact on the 

public; 
 Isolated incident and not likely to recur; and 
 The respondent’s prior community service and present value to the community. 

 Aggravating Factors: 



 Previous criminal or administrative disciplinary history; 
 The violation was committed deliberately or with gross negligence or recklessness; 
 The violation had the potential for, or caused, serious harm; 
 The violation was part of a pattern of detrimental conduct; 
 The respondent was motivated to perform the violation by the respondent’s financial gain; 
 The vulnerability of the bereaved; 
 The respondent attempted to conceal the violation, falsified or destroyed evidence, or 

presented false testimony or evidence; 
 The respondent failed to cooperate with the Board’s investigation; and 

 Previous attempts at rehabilitation were unsuccessful 

10.29.01.11 Counsel to the Board. 
The presiding officer may request the Office of the Attorney General to participate in any hearing as counsel 
for the Board. Upon that request, the counsel shall have all of the rights with regard to the submission of 
evidence, examination and cross-examination. 

10.29.01.12 Decision and Order. 
Every decision and order rendered by the Board shall be in writing and shall be accompanied by findings of 
fact and conclusions of law. The findings of fact shall consist of a concise statement of the conclusions upon 
each contested issue of fact. A copy of the decision and order and accompanying findings and conclusions 
shall be delivered or mailed promptly to each party or his attorney of record. 

10.29.01.13 Rehearings. 
Any party aggrieved by the decision and order rendered in the particular case may apply for rehearing within 10 days 

after service on him of the decision and order. Action on the application shall lie in the discretion of the Board. 

A. Unless otherwise ordered, neither the rehearing nor the application for rehearing shall stay the 
enforcement of the order or excuse the persons affected by it for failure to comply with its terms. 

B. The Board may, on rehearing, consider facts not presented in the original hearing, including facts 
arising after the date of the original hearing, and may by new order abrogate, change, or modify its 
original order. 

10.29.01.9999 Administrative History 
Effective date: May 14, 1968 
Preface amended effective December 15, 1986 (13:25 Md. R. 2660) 
Regulation .01 recodified to .01-1 and the Preface recodified to Regulation .01, July 1991 
—————— 
Chapter revised effective March 5, 2001 (28:4 Md. R. 418) 
Regulation .01 amended as an emergency provision effective November 5, 2007 (34:24 Md. R. 2154); amended permanently 
effective February 25, 2008 (35:4 Md. R. 514) 
——————Chapter revised effective October 24, 2016 (43:21 Md. R. 1167) 
 


