
Maryland Department of  Health 
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4201 Patterson Avenue, Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2299 

Phone: 410-764-4725       Fax: 410-358-0273 
TTY – Maryland Relay Service: 1-800-735-2258 

Audiology – Full Licensure – Application Checklist 

All documentation must be original, on the forms currently in use by the Board, and submitted 
as a complete application packet.  Incorrect and incomplete applications will delay the review 
and approval process. The license must be approved and obtained prior to employment. 

All Applicants Must Submit 
____ Application fee of $150.00 (check or money order payable to Board of AUD) 
____ Recent 2 inch x 2 inch color passport size photo (first page) 
____ Complete, signed application 
____ Application must be notarized 
____ Praxis Exam Score 
____ Proof of Fingerprinting for Criminal History Records Check 
____ Completed Law and Regulations Exam for Audiologists 

Maryland regulations stipulate that all fees, including application fees, submitted to the Board 
are non-refundable. 

Required Documents 

For recent graduates: 

____ Department Chair Letter (in lieu of official transcript for 60 days) 
____ Form A2 (Clinical Externship Year) 

For individuals licensed in another state: 

Send one of the following: 
____ Letter of confirmation of CCC from ASHA; or 
____ Letter of confirmation of certification from the American Board of Audiology; or 
____ Copy of American Board of Audiology Certificate showing expiration date 

and  

____ Professional Resumé 
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C. Education
____ Official Doctorate Transcript; or
____ Official Masters Transcript

Note: Applicants who have obtained a Doctorate in Audiology after having obtained a 
Master’s in Audiology must submit official transcripts for both the Master’s degree and the 
Au.D degree. 

D. If Licensed in Another State

____ License affidavit(s) from any state in which the applicant is currently licensed or has 
ever been licensed. 

The Board strongly encourages all prospective applicants to request license affidavits from 
other states as soon as possible to reduce delays in the issuance of a license in Maryland. 

Submission of Application 

The Board encourages all applicants to submit applications and related materials via United 
States Postal Service, overnight delivery service, or via courier.  Applicants that wish to hand 
deliver an application to the Board may do so by adhering to the Board’s Walk-In Procedure; 
review this Procedure on the Board’s website. 

Applicants that are recent graduates who wish to begin working prior to the Doctoral Degree 
conferred date being listed on their transcript must request a letter from Department Chair 
stating that all coursework and clinical practicum requirements have been completed and 
date degree was conferred.  Additionally, any individual that is not licensed or has not been 
licensed for a full year must have their Au.D. program submit a letter along with the 
application that states that the academic coursework is consistent with the standards 
established by the Accreditation Commission for Audiology Education (ACAE) or the 
Council for Academic Accreditation (CAA).  Applicants must request institution to send the 
transcript to the Board after the degree conferred date is listed on transcript.  The Board 
must receive this transcript within 60 days of license being issued. 

Law Examination:  An applicant must score at least 75 percent to pass the open book law 
examination.  The examination may be downloaded and printed from the Board’s web site at 
https://health.maryland.gov/boardsahs/.  Use the Forms Link to download and/or print a 
copy of the AUD law examination.  To complete the examination, use the Law and 
Regulation links on the web site.  Refer to the law and regulation reference number 
included with the questions to get the correct answer.  A license will not be issued unless the 
law examination is passed. 
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Note: Criminal History Records Check 

Effective October 1, 2016 an applicant for initial licensure must submit evidence to the 
Board of an application for a criminal history records check (CHRC). 

Information and forms regarding the required CHRC is on the Board’s Forms page (click 
on Forms in the Quick Links section). 

An application for licensure will not be processed until the application is complete, 
including submitting evidence of a criminal history records fingerprint receipt. 

All applicants should download, fill out, and print the Board’s pre-filled LiveScan Pre-
Registration Form. The form has relevant Board-specific information already on the form. 
This form must be presented to the fingerprinting service. 

Application form found on the CHRC resources page on the Board’s website. 

In-state applicants and out-of-state applicants near Maryland may go to an authorized 
fingerprinting location in Maryland. The CHRC resources page on the Board’s website 
provides a link to the Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services’ list of 
authorized fingerprinting locations. 

Out-of-state applicants must contact the Board’s administrative assistant at 410-764-4725 
to request an official out-of-state fingerprint card to be mailed directly to the applicant 
before submission of an application for licensure to this Board. 

Please note that the CHRC requirement is in addition to answering the disciplinary 
questions in the application. 

Note: Limited License in Audiology 

Individuals who have completed an Au.D. degree, but have not passed the Praxis 
Examination in Audiology must apply for limited licensure.  A full license will be 
issued after the evidence of passing the Praxis Examination has been received by the 
Board and all other requirements for full licensure have been met. 

Individuals who have not practiced audiology for at least a minimum of 3 years out of 
5 years must apply for a limited license.  A full license will be issued after the limited 
licensee has practiced for at least nine months and the supervisor has determined that 
the limited license is competent for the full license. 


