#### Speech-Language Pathologist – Limited License Application Checklist

Please read all instructions on this checklist before completing and submitting this application.

Print legibly on application and Law and Regulation Examination.

. All Ap <sub>l</sub>	plicants Must Submit:
	\$100.00 Fee (make check or money order payable: Board of SLP)
	A recent 2x2 passport size color photo
	Signed and Notarized Application
	Completed Law and Regulation Examination (see note)
	Proof of Fingerprinting for Criminal History Records Check

**Note**: Note: The Law and Regulation Examination is an open book examination. An applicant must score at least 75 percent to pass the open book law examination. Applicants who submit their applications online will be sent a link to complete the required law exam electronically. To complete the examination, use the Law and Regulation links on the Board's web site.

Refer to the law and regulation reference number included with the questions to get the correct answer. If you are unable to complete your application online, you may request a paper exam by emailing Monica Wright. A limited license will not be issued unless the law examination is passed.

**Note**: Criminal History Records Check

Effective October 1, 2016 an applicant for initial licensure must submit evidence to the Board of an application for a criminal history records check (CHRC).

Information and forms regarding the required CHRC is on the Board's Forms page (click on Forms in the Menu section).

An application for licensure will not be processed until the application is complete, including submitting evidence of a criminal history records fingerprint receipt, and the required CJIS-issued reports have been received by the Board.

All applicants should download, fill out, and print the Board's pre-filled LiveScan Pre-Registration Form. The form has relevant Board-specific information already on the form. This form must be presented to the fingerprinting service.

Application form found on the Forms page under the Menu on the Board's website.

In-state applicants and out-of-state applicants near Maryland may go to an authorized fingerprinting location in Maryland. The Forms page on the Board's website provides a link to the Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services' list of authorized fingerprinting locations.

Out-of-state applicants must contact the Board at 410-764-4725 to request an official out-of-state fingerprint card and instructions to be mailed directly to the applicant before submission of an application for licensure to this Board. The CHRC requirement is in addition to answering the disciplinary questions in the application.

#### II. All Applicants Must Submit the Following Documents:

\_\_\_\_\_Official Master's Transcript: Official transcript must show degree conferred date. For new graduates the Board will accept a letter from the Department Chair stating that applicant has **completed** all coursework and clinical practicum if transcript does not yet show the degree as having been awarded. The Department Chair letter must also include the date that the degree will be **conferred** and the school's accrediting body and status by CAA or ACAE. **The conferred date must be before the date that an application is approved by the Board. If the degree has not been conferred yet at the time of the Board meeting, it will not be approved until after the degree has been conferred at the next Board meeting. An applicant obtaining a limited license via Department Chair letter must request from the educational institution the official transcript directly to the Board – the official transcript is due to the Board no later than 60 days after the imited license has been issued. Undergraduate transcripts do not need to be submitted to the Board.** 

**Note:** A supervisor must be a licensed speech-language pathologist in the State of Maryland or if the supervisor is exempt from the licensure requirements the supervisor must hold the ASHA Certificate of Clinical Competency.

**Note:** A Form AS2, Verification of Supervision for Limited Licensure/Clinical Fellowship Year, must be submitted for each supervisor during the period of limited licensure and for any change in the number of hours practicing per week.

**Note:** Applicants for a limited license who have completed some of the required nine months of supervised practice in another state must submit a Form AS2 and a Form AS3 completed by their supervisor in the other state to obtain credit for supervised practice in that state.

#### **TOEFL Scores**

English as a Second Language (ESL) applicants are required to have a minimum combined Test of English as a Foreign Language (TOEFL) score of 80% within the previous two years from the date of the application. A copy of you exam scores must be submitted with your application.

#### **Application Processing**

Applications are processed continuously in the order received at the Board office. Applications are only forwarded for Board approval when complete. Complete applications include proof of fingerprinting for the required criminal history records check and both the Maryland and FBI required CJIS-issued reports having been received by the Board. Please note, that CJIS will not discuss any fingerprint report statuses with anyone but the applicant.

Some applications for limited licensure require Board-approval. These applications are processed after the Board has voted and made a decision at a Board meeting.

#### There is no expediting of the approval of applications under any circumstances.

Applications must be approved by the Board at monthly Board meetings. Applications should be received at the Board office one week prior to the next Board meeting, for the best chance to be reviewed for completion or they may not be approved until the following Board meeting.

Notice of Administrative Closure of Application: Pursuant to COMAR 10.41.03.08 the Board may administratively close an application if the application remains incomplete one year after the application was received.

#### **Requirements for Clinical Fellowship Year (CFY)**

#### **CFY Time Requirements:**

The CFY must be started within two years after completion of the academic coursework and clinical practicum requirements and must then be completed within 24 months, unless extenuating circumstances have not permitted an applicant to do so, and are approved by the Board. The CFY can be completed either by full-time or part-time professional employment. See the requirements on this sheet for full-time or part-time professional employment to meet the supervised practice requirement.

#### **Full-Time Requirement Is As Follows:**

30 or more hours per week for a minimum of 9 months

#### **Part-Time Requirements Are As Follows:**

- 15-19 hours per week must work a minimum of 18 months
- 20-24 hours per week must work a minimum of 15 months
- 25-29 hours per week must work a minimum of 12 months

At least 80% of the CFY work must be in direct client contact which includes assessment/diagnosis/evaluation, screening, habilitation/rehabilitation, and activities related to client management.

The Board will not approve a CFY of less than 15 hours per week.

#### Form AS2:

An applicant for a Limited License shall submit a Form AS2, Verification of Supervision for Limited License Clinical Fellowship Year, with the application to the Board. The applicant may not begin practicing until the Limited License Application is approved by the Board and the license has been issued. A Limited License authorizes the applicant to practice only in the setting and under the supervision of the person specified on the Form AS2.

A change in supervisor and/or employment requires Board approval prior to the limited licensee beginning to practice under the new supervisor. The limited licensee and the new supervisor must submit a new Form AS2 to the Board for review.

#### **CFY Supervision Requirements:**

The supervisor shall provide a minimum of 36 hours of supervisory activities during the clinical fellowship year. Additionally, a minimum of two hours of other monitoring activities each month are to be provided by the supervisor.

#### **National Examination Score Report:**

The Limited Licensee must request a copy of the National Examination, the Praxis Exam, to be sent to the Board.

Applicants for a limited license in speech-language pathology are strongly encouraged to contact ETS to ensure that the Board can view Praxis score reports via the ETS' score reporting system.

A copy of the Praxis exam score report is not required to obtain a limited license, but it is required to be on file to transfer the limited license to a full license when the supervised practice requirement has been met.

#### Renewal of Limited License as a Speech-Language Pathologist

If an individual that holds a limited license as a speech-language pathologist is unable to obtain at least 9 months of supervised practice as a full-time limited licensee or obtain the specified months of supervised practice as a part-time limited licensee the individual may renew the limited license for an additional year.

The limited license renewal form and the \$25.00 renewal fee must be submitted at least 30 days prior to the expiration of the limited license. An individual with a renewed limited license is eligible for transfer to a full license provided the minimum number of supervised months has been completed prior to the expiration date of the second year of limited licensure.

If an individual fails to obtain the minimum of 9 months of supervision within the two years of limited licensure the individual must wait an additional year after the expiration of the renewed limited license before the individual can reapply for a limited license as a speech-language pathologist.

#### Transfer of Limited License to Full License

Upon completion of the CFY (i.e., nine months of supervised practice), the Limited Licensee shall submit to the Board a **Form AS3**, Verification of Satisfactory Completion of CFY, completed by the supervisor. If the CFY was conducted in more than one setting, or under more than one supervisor, a separate Form AS3 must be submitted for each setting or supervisor.

An individual holding a limited license as a speech-language pathologist will be transferred to a full license provided the individual has met all the licensure requirements, the application is complete, and the limited licensee has been supervised for at least 9 months. The Form AS3 must be received by the Board no sooner than the 9 months of supervised practice ends and no later than 30 days prior to expiration of the limited license.

The Limited Licensee must ensure that the Board has a copy of the Praxis Examination scores.

Transfer of a limited license to a full license does not require submission of any other documents provided the licensure file is complete and the limited license is still valid and unexpired. A \$150 fee made payable to the Board of Examiners for AHS is required to complete the application for full licensure.

The expiration date of an initial full license will be May 31st of the following year.

#### **Continuing Education**

Continuing education is a requirement to renew a full license. The continuing education requirement is prorated for most new licensees depending on the issuance date of the full license. Information regarding the amount of continuing education required to renew the license is issued to new licensees via e-mail and is posted to the Board's website.

The continuing education requirement for renewing a speech-language pathology license that has already been renewed once, is 30 hours or 3.0 CEUs (.1 CEUs = 1 hour of CEUs). **The continuing education cycle is not concurrent with the license cycle.** The continuing education cycle is the two calendar years preceding the expiration date of the license through to December 31st. For example, if your license expires on 5/31/2020, in order to renew your license you must submit evidence of 30 hours of continuing education completed between 1/1/2018 and 12/31/2019 for the 2020 renewal.

Continuing education is not required to renew a limited license.

#### Applicants are advised to do the following:

Keep a copy of this application checklist.

Print a copy of the application for your records.

Provide an e-mail address on the application that is a frequently checked account.

Submit an application form currently in use by the Board.

#### Applicants are strongly advised the following:

Do not fax the application to the Board.

Do not increase or reduce the size of the application in any manner.

Do not use white-out on the application.

#### Maryland Department of Health

#### Board of Examiners for Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dispensers, Speech-Language Pathologists, and Music Therapist

4201 Patterson Avenue, Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2299 Phone 410-764-4725 Fax 410-358-0273 TTY-Maryland Relay Service 1-800-735-2258

#### **Application for Speech-Language Pathologist-Limited License**

#### Please Read The Application Checklist Before Completing Application Below:

1 Nome			
1. Name Last	First	Middle/Maiden	Affix curren
2. Home AddressStree	et	Apt.	2x2 passpor size photo
	<b>.</b>		
City	State	Zip Code	
<b>3.</b> Phone #	Alt	ernate #	
Email			
4. Date of Birth	Social Securi	ty#	
<b>5.</b> What is your first language?	English	Other	
6. Have you previously been lice	nsed in the State o	f Maryland?If yes,	
License #	Date F	Expired	
7. Have you ever pled guilty, notoudgment of any criminal act (exc			
f "Yes" you must submit (1) a comployment, rehabilitation, and/olocuments showing the outcome submitted for review.	or good conduct, is	f any, and (2) certified copie	s of your court
	FOR OFFICE U	SE ONLY	
Received		CHRC Complete	
CH() MO() Number		Date	

8. Education	1					
Graduate Sch	100l					
AddressSt	reet		City		State	Zip Code
Attended	to	Major	Date	Degree Conf	ferred _	
Undergradua	te School					
Address	Street		City	State	Zip Co	ode .
Attended	to	Major	Date Deg	gree Awarded	d	
graduation) t Department	that are subn Chair. Depa ll coursewor	mpleted by applicanitting proof of the artment Chair letter k and all clinical	e education requirer must include	rements with a statement	a lette	er issued by the the student has
the Annotate I understand requirement solely respondegree within to the ground the practice of	d Code of M l a Master's to hold a lirnsible for en 60 days of ds for disciple of speech-	re read Section 2-3 aryland and Code of degree in speech mited license in specifically Sethe issuance of the ine, specifically Sethe language pathology ance of a limited license.	of Maryland Regula-language patholeech-language pard receives an limited license. I ction 2-314(10) "y." if the Board do	lations 10.41 ogy is the athology. I hofficial transhereby affirm Commits any	.03.03 minim ereby script n that y unpro	A(2)(a) and that um educational agree that I am of my Master's I will be subject ofessional act in
Signature of	Applicant		Printed N	ame of Appli	icant	

10. Employment for Cli	nical Fellowship Year	
Date	Title of Position	
Facility/Company Name		
Address		
Street	City	State Zip Code
Brief description of dutie	es during clinical fellowship year:	
11. Continuing Education	on Required to Renew A Full Lice	ense
This section is to be com language pathology.	pleted by applicants who are applying	ng for a limited license in speech-
	nat I understand that pursuant to COI nuing education requirements to rene	MAR 10.41.03.06 the Board has ew a full speech-language pathology
	nat I understand that the continuing essional association's requirements to	
requirement to ho license in speech-activities complet	nat I understand that completing con- old a limited license in speech-langua- language pathology. However, I affated during the time a limited license tents if certain conditions are met.	age pathology or to renew a limited irm that continuing education
314(10), "Commi	nat I will be subject to the grounds for its any unprofessional act in the prace minimum continuing education requestrame.	ctice of speech-language
<del>-</del>	nat I understand that information reg enew a license is posted to the Board	
Signature of Applicant	Printed 1	Name of Applicant

#### 12. Affidavit To Be Completed by a Notary Public

I hereby affirm that I have read Sections 2-101 to 2-502 of Title 2 of the Health Occupations Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland and fully understand that in receiving a license from the Board, I bind myself to be governed by the Board.

I understand that in submitting this application that the accompanying fee is for administrative purposes and is not refundable. The fee includes licensure fee.

inacisignea, being dary sworn, a	enoses and save th	f nat he/she is the person who executed this applicat
statements herein contained are tru	ue to the best of hi	is/her knowledge,that he/she has not suppressed an e/she has read and understands this affidavit.
Signed before me on the	day of	,by Name of Applicant
Signature of Applicant	_	Signature of Notarial Officer
		Title of Office
		Stamp:

In accordance with Executive Order 01.01.1093-18, the Board is required to advise you as follows regarding the collection of personal

Personal information requested by the Board is necessary in determining your eligibility for licensure. Such personal information is also intended for use as an additional means of verifying the licensee's identity or to enable the Board to communicate in a timely manner, with the licensee should the need arise. The licensee has a right to inspect his personal record and to amend or correct the personal data if necessary.

Your Social Security Number is required on the application. It will be used for identification purposes and may be released to the Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services to check for any criminal convictions.

Please be advised that the disclosure of your Social Security Number (SSN) is mandatory in order to process your application.

Any license application received at the Maryland Board of Examiners for Audiologist, Hearing Aid Dispensers, Speech-Language Pathologist and Music Therapist without a SSN will not be processed. An application without a SSN is considered incomplete.

The Board is required by federal and Maryland Law to collect this information for the following purposes:

Verification of identity with respect to final adverse actions related to your license or certificate (42 U.S.C. § 1320a-7e(b))

Administration of the Child Support Enforcement Program (Md. Family Law Code Ann., § 10-119.3)

Identification by the Maryland Department of Assessments and Taxation of new businesses in Maryland (Md. Health Occ. Code Ann., § 1-210)

Accordingly, the Board, in order to meet all statutory requirements for the issuance of a license, must have a valid Social Security Number on file for every applicant/licensee.

information:

\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*\*

#### **Race/Ethnic Identification**

SLP Limited

#### Maryland Department of Health

#### Board of Examiners for Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dispensers, Speech-Language Pathologists, and Music Therapist

4201 Patterson Avenue, Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2299 Phone 410-764-4725 Fax 410-358-0273

TTY-Maryland Relay Service 1-800-735-2258

#### Verification of Supervision for Speech-Language Pathologist Limited License Clinical Fellowship Year

***Applicant, please check if any o	of the followin	ig apply regi	arding the submiss	ion of this form:
Change in Employment Site Additional Supervisor	<del></del>	itional Site nge in Hours	<u> </u>	ge of Supervisor
1. Applicant (Please type or prin	t)			
A. Name:  Last B. Address:		First	N	Iiddle/Maiden
Street				
City		State	Zip Code	
Phone:	A	lternate #		
C. Academic Status:				
College	Degree		Date Confer	red
D. Employment Setting:				
1. Facility Name:				
2. Address:				
Street				
City		State	Zip Code	
Phone:	Fax			
3. Beginning Date of Employment	: Month	]	Day	Year
4. Hours per Week spent in Speech	า-Language Pa	nthology:		
5. Are you completing a CFY?	Yes_	No		

Last		First	Middle/Maiden
3. Address:			
Street			
City		State	Zip Code
C. Place of Employmer	nt:		
		Facility Name	
Street			
City		State	Zip Code
Phone:	Alt	ternate #:	
		$ au_{ m V} - 80\%$ of total time show	uld be in items 1, 2 and 3
Applicant	Hours/Week	Наши (Ма	
Applicant Activity	Spent by Applicant	Hours/Mo	nth Spent by Supervisor
		On-Site Observation (at least 4 hour per month)	Other Monitoring Activities (optional)
1. Assessment, diagnosis and/or evaluations			
2. Screening			
3. Habilitation/ rehabilitation			
4. Staff Meetings			
5. Supervisory			
Conferences 6. In-Service Training			
7. Record Keeping			
8. Other (Must Specify)			
Total			
	ant		Date
Signature of Applic			
			Date
			Date
Signature of Superv	visor		
Signature of Superv	visor	guage Pathology with L	
Signature of Superv <b>Supervisor:</b> ( ) Holds MD Licen	visor	guage Pathology with L	Date icense #

Revised February 2022

## Maryland Department of Health **Board of Examiners for Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dispensers,**

### Speech-Language Pathologists, and Music Therapist

4201 Patterson Avenue, Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2299 Phone 410-764-4725 Fax 410-358-0273 TTY-Maryland Relay Service 1-800-735-2258

## Verification of Satisfactory Completion of Speech-Language Pathologist Clinical Fellowship Year

I hereby declare that,			,
an applicant for Maryland lice		ne of Applicant	y was amployed as a
•	-	e e i e,	•
professional in that field from_	to	)	for
hours per week.	(mm/dd/yyyy)	(mm/dd/yyyy)	
The place of employment was:			
Facility Name			
Address	City	State	Zip Code
I further declare that the applic	ant was supervise	d by:	
Name of Supervisor			
At that time the CFY supervisor	or held:		
() Maryland License in Speech	n-Language Patho	logy License, Lice	ense #
() ASHA Certification in Spee	ech-Language Path	nology Certificate	#
( ) A License in Speech-Langu whose licensure require	C		ertification.
I verify that during the employed in the area in which licensure is		plicant reached a	satisfactory level of competen
Signature of Supervisor	Тур	ed or Printed Name	
Title	Date		Current Phone Number

Form AS3

#### AGENCY PRIVACY REQUIREMENTS FOR NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE APPLICANTS

Authorized governmental and non-governmental agencies/officials that conduct a national fingerprint-based criminal history record check on an applicant for a noncriminal justice purpose (such as employment or a license, immigration or naturalization matter, security clearance, or adoption) are obligated to ensure the applicant is provided certain notices and that the results of the check are handled in a manner that protects the applicant's privacy. All notices must be provided in writing. These obligations are pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974, Title 5, United States Code (U.S.C.), Section 552a, and Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 50.12, among other authorities.

- Officials must ensure that each applicant receives an adequate written FBI Privacy Act Statement (dated 2013 or later) when the applicant submits his/her fingerprints and associated personal information.<sup>2</sup>
- Officials must advise all applicants in writing that procedures for obtaining a change, correction, or update of an FBI criminal history record are set forth at 28 CFR 16.34. Information regarding this process may be found at <a href="https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks">https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks</a> and <a href="https://www.edo.ciis.gov">https://www.edo.ciis.gov</a>.
- Officials must provide the applicant the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy
  of the information in the FBI criminal history record.
- Officials should not deny the employment, license, or other benefit based on information in the FBI criminal history record until the applicant has been afforded a reasonable time to correct or complete the record or has declined to do so.
- Officials must use the FBI criminal history record for authorized purposes only and cannot retain or disseminate it in violation of federal statute, regulation or executive order, or rule, procedure or standard established by the National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact Council.<sup>3</sup>

The FBI has no objection to officials providing a copy of the applicant's FBI criminal history record to the applicant for review and possible challenge when the record was obtained based on positive fingerprint identification. If agency policy permits, this courtesy will save the applicant the time and additional FBI fee to obtain his/her record directly from the FBI by following the procedures found at 28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34. It will also allow the officials to make a more timely determination of the applicant's suitability.

Each agency should establish and document the process/procedures it utilizes for how/when it gives the applicant the FBI Privacy Act Statement, the 28 CFR 50.12 notice, and the opportunity to correct his/her record. Such documentation will assist State and/or FBI auditors during periodic compliance reviews on use of FBI criminal history records for noncriminal justice purposes.

Name:	
 Date:	

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> See https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> See 5 U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 34 U.S.C. § 40316 (formerly cited as 42 U.S.C. § 14616), Article IV(c); 28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d), 50.12(b) and 906.2(d).



## MARYLAND Department of Health

Larry Hogan, Governor • Boyd K. Rutherford, Lt. Governor • Robert R. Neall, Secretary

## BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR AUDIOLOGISTS, HEARING AID DISPENSERS, SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS, AND MUSIC THERAPIST

Jennifer L. Mertes, Board Chair • Candace G. Robinson, Executive Director

#### Criminal History Records Check - In Maryland

A full Criminal History Records Check is a requirement to obtain a license issued by the Maryland Board of Examiners for Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dispensers, Speech-Language Pathologists and Music Therapist. This includes all initial licenses, transfers from limited to full licensure, and all renewal licenses. Each individual only needs to complete the process once for this Board.

These instructions are for individuals who reside in Maryland or reside near Maryland. It is best to obtain fingerprints in Maryland. If it is not convenient to get fingerprinted in Maryland please follow the procedure in the Out-of-State instructions.

The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, Criminal Justice Information System (CJIS) oversees Criminal History Records Checks. The criminal history records check is initiated by the applicant/licensee being fingerprinted.

CJIS Authorization#:

1600003672

FBI ORI#:

MD920528Z

Reason Fingerprinted:

Audiology license

Hearing Aid Dispenser license

Speech-Language Pathology license

Speech-Language Pathology Assistant license

Type of Check:

Governmental Licensing/Certification

#### **Electronic Fingerprinting**

It is best to have your fingerprints taken electronically in the State of Maryland.

Electronic fingerprinting is available at CHS-approved private providers, most Maryland MVA locations and most local law enforcement offices.

Please note that the cost of fingerprinting services from private providers may vary. The total fee must be paid to the provider and the cost is borne by the applicant for initial licensue and renewal candidates. Private providers in Maryland do not accept cash or money orders.

For additional information regarding fingerprinting in Maryland please contact CJIS:

via telephone at 410-764-4501; or via their website at <a href="http://www.dpscs.marvland.gov/publicservs/:fingerprint.shtml">http://www.dpscs.marvland.gov/publicservs/:fingerprint.shtml</a>.

#### Applicants for Initial Licensure, Reinstatement, or Reactivation

Effective October 1, 2016 all initial applicants for full or limited licensure in Maryland will be required to submit: fingerprints. All applicants for reinstatement or reactivation who have not previously fulfilled this requirement must submit: fingerprints. This is a requirement of the application process and cannot be waived for any reason. An initial license will not be issued unless proof of the CHRC is on file with the Board.

Maryland residents and individuals who reside near Maryland may have fingerprints taken prior to mailing an application to the Board. Maryland residents and individuals who reside near Maryland must use the pre-filled form specific to this Board (link at end of this document and also available on this Board 's Forms page). If an individual is unable to use the pre-filled form the individual must have the CJIS Authorization number and FBI ORI numbers to ensure that the required reports are issued to the Board (on the first page of this document and on the Board's homepage). Please note that these numbers are specific to this Board.

After your fingerprints are taken you will be given a receipt for payment that includes a tracking number; the tracking number is unique to you. Include a copy of the receipt with the tracking number when submitting the initial application to the Board. Hand-write the professional license you are applying for and specify either full license or limited license.

Once the results of the background check are received by the Board the application process will be completed in accordance to Board regulations and policies.

#### **Renewal Applicants**

Individuals who obtained a full license before October 1, 2016 will be required to submit evidence of the CHRC to the Board prior to the issuance of a renewal license. Additional information has been provided to renewal applicants via e-mail.

#### **General Information**

Pursuant to federal law a criminal history records check is only effective for one purpose. Accordingly, any prior fingerprinting and criminal history records check was only good for the educational institution, employer, licensing entity, etc. that it was completed for.

When getting fingerprinted please ensure the following:

that the fingerprint operator spells your name correctly; and

that the proper OIR and authorization numbers are used.

A list of private providers that have electronic fingerprinting services are provided on the State of Maryland's Department of Public Safety & Correctional Services website. Click below for immediate access to fingerprinting locations in Maryland. Call ahead to make sure the provider is open and has the October 1, 2016 software update.

https://www.dpscs.state.md.us/publicservs/fingerprint.shtrnl

Print LiveScan Pre-Registration Application

https://health.maryland.gov/boardsahs/DocumentsaudLiveScan.pdf

All applicants must print the LiveScan Pre-Registration Application and take it to the fingerprinting location in Maryland.

Please **do not** call the Board's offices for an update on a background check. The background check is completed by a separate state agency. The Board has no control over the amount of time it takes to complete the check. If you have not received the results of the criminal history background check after thirty days, you may contact CJIS directly at 410-764-4501.

Please refer to § 2-303.1 Criminal History Record Checks of the Maryland Board of Examiners for Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dispensers and Speech-Language Pathologists for a full description of the requirements.



## STATE OF MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONAL SERVICES CRIMINAL JUSTICE INFORMATION SYSTEMS – CENTRAL REPOSITORY

LIVESCAN PRE-REGISTRATION APPLICATION					
APPLICANT INFORMATION (PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT CLEARLY)					
Name:					
Date of birth:	SSN:		Gender:  Mal	e 🗌 Female (Please check)	
Height: ft. inches Weight	: lbs.	Eye Color:		Hair Color:	
Race:  Black  White	☐ )Asian/Pacific Island	der 🔲 N	lative American	Other (Please check)	
Place of Birth:		Citizenship:			
Current address:					
City:		State:		ZIP Code: -	
Daytime Phone:	Evening Phone:		Driver's License #	#:	
	AGENCY I	NFORMATI	ON		
Agency Authorization #: 160000367	<b>'</b> 2				
ORI # (if required): MD920528Z		Reason fing	Reason fingerprinted? Licensing		
Position Applied for: Board of AUD I	HAD and SLP				
Request Type: (Choose one ONLY)  Adult Dependent Care Attorney/Client Child care Criminal Justice Gold Seal/ Adoption Gold Seal/Letter/VISA Government Employment	Government Licensing or Certification Immigration/VISA Individual Challenge Individual Review MSP Licensing Private Party Petition Public Housing				
Mail Response to:  (Mailing option only available for Visa Gold Seal and/or Individual Review)					
Name: Do Not Mail This Form To The Board					
Address: Do Not Mail This Form To The Board					
City, State, Zip code: Do Not Mail This Form To The Board					



# MARYLAND Department of Health

Larry Hogan, Governor • Boyd K. Rutherford, Lt. Governor • Robert R. Neall, Secretary

## BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR AUDIOLOGISTS, HEARING AID DISPENSERS, SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS & Music Therapist

Jennifer L. Mertes, Board Chair • Candace G. Robinson, Executive Director

#### **Criminal History Records Check - Out of State Applicants**

A full Criminal History Records Check is a requirement to obtain a license issued by the Maryland Board of Examiners for Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dispensers, Speech-Language Pathologists and Music Therapist. This includes all initial licenses, transfers from limited to full licensure, and all renewal licenses

(including reinstatement of a license or reactivation of a license). Each individual only needs to complete the process once for this Board.

These instructions are for individuals who reside outside of Maryland where it is inconvenient to come to Maryland to complete the fingerprinting process. Please note that it is best to obtain fingerprints in Maryland. If fingerprints are able to be completed in Maryland please follow the procedure in the In-State instructions.

The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services, Criminal Justice Information System (CJIS) oversees Criminal History Records Checks. The record checks are conducted by the applicant/licensee being fingerprinted.

CJIS Authorization #:

1600003672

FBI ORI#:

MD920528Z

Reason Fingerprinted:

Audiology license

Hearing Aid Dispenser license Speech-Language Pathology license

Speech-Language Pathology Assistant license

Type of Check:

Governmental Licensing/Certification

In order to comply with the Criminal History Records Check requirement and to not delay the issuance of a license, please abide by these instructions. Please note that it may take up to five weeks for CJIS to issue the required reports to the Board.

Out-of-state residents may use a location outside the State of Maryland, but must use the CJIS fingerprint card that has pre-printed Board-specific information.

Call the Board at 410-764-4725 to request a fingerprint card. Applicants for an initial license should request a fingerprint card at least six weeks in advance of the anticipated date that licensure is required. License renewal candidates should request a fingerprint card no later than April 15,

2018 to ensure sufficient time to complete the process and complete the online renewal process. These timeframes assume an individual mails the fingerprint card to Maryland CJIS within a week of receiving the fingerprint card and having the fingerprints taken.

Once the fingerprint process is complete you must mail the fingerprint card to the following address with a check for \$31.25 payable to the "CJIS Central Repository."

CJIS Central Repository PO Box 32708 Pikesville, MD 21282-2708

Make a copy of the receipt with the tracking number that was issued to you. Legibly write your full name and profession on the copy being mailed to the Board (may be included with the application for licensure). Mail a copy of the receipt for fingerprinting to:

Maryland Board of AUD HAD SLP ATTN: Background Check 4201 Patterson Avenue, 3rd Floor Baltimore, MD 21215

For applicants for initial licensure: Once the results of the background check are received the application process will be completed in accordance with Board regulations and policies.

For renewal applicants: Once the results of the background check are received the Board will make the necessary changes to allow access to the online renewal process within 48 hours (notice will be provided via e-mail).

For additional information contact CJIS:

via telephone at 410-764-4501; or

via their website at <a href="http://www.dpscs.maryland.gov/publicserv/">http://www.dpscs.maryland.gov/publicserv/</a>/fingerprint.shtml.

Effective October 1, 2016

Every new applicant submitting an application on or after October 1, 2016 for a license issued by the Board must submit a criminal history records check (CHRC) to the Board. This includes license reinstatement and license reactivation when this requirement has not previously been fulfilled.

This is a requirement of the application process and it is a one-time requirement. All fees associated with the criminal history records check requirement must be borne by the applicant/licensee.

A license will not be issued unless proof of the CHRC is on file with the Board.

Individuals with an incomplete application as of October 1, 2016, with the Board must submit a CHRC to the Board. This is a requirement prior to the issuance of a license.

Individuals holding a full license on or after October 1, 2016 will be required to submit evidence of the CHRC to the Board prior to the issuance of a renewal license.

Please **do not** call the Board's offices for an update on a background check. The background check is completed by a separate state agency. The Board has no control over the amount of time it takes to complete the check. If you have not received the results of the criminal history background check after thirty days, you may contact CJIS directly at 410-764-4501.

Please refer to § 2-303.1 Criminal History Record Checks of the Maryland Board of Examiners for Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dispensers and Speech-Language Pathologists for a full description of the requirements.