
______ $100.00 fee is nonrefundable- check or money order payable: The Board of HAD 

______ A recent 2x2 passport size photograph 

_______ Complete signed application (application will be returned if incomplete) 

________ Application notarized 

________ Official college transcript showing completion of a 2 year degree program 
Request the college to send the transcript to: 
Board of HAD 
4201 Patterson Avenue 
Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2299 or electronically to: monicah.wright@maryland.gov

________ Proof of Completion of the International Hearing Society curriculum entitled 
“Distance Learning for Professionals in Hearing Health Sciences” before taking the 
Hearing Aid Dispenser Examination. 

________ Law examination 
Please Note: To pass the open book examination, all applicants must score at 
least 75. You can download the examination from the Board’s web site at 
www.health.maryland.gov/boardsahs. Use the Forms Link to download a copy of the 
law examination. To complete the examination refer to the law and regulation 
reference number included with the questions. Use the Law and Regulation 
Links on the web site to get the answer. If you do not have access to a computer, call the 
Board office and the examination and a copy of the law and regulations will be mailed to 
you. A license will NOT be issued unless the law examination is passed.

________ Attach a copy of your current Hearing Aid Dispenser license 

________ Fill out and print the live scan pre-registration form to take with you to have your 
fingerprints taken, if you are already practicing as a fully licensed hearing aid dispenser in another state.

Please Note: If the State in which you are currently licensed does not have a 
continuing education requirement equivalent to the continuing education 
requirement in Maryland, the applicant shall, within 6 months being issued a 
license in Maryland, complete a prescribed number of hours of continuing 
education as determined by the Board, not to exceed 20 hours, so as to obtain 
an equivalent number of hours as is required for Maryland applicants. 

PLEASE NOTE: While we are accepting electronic documents sent in the form of a scanned pdf 
(phone screenshots are not acceptable) to help expedite the licensing process, we will NOT accept 
ANY documents without original signatures and notarizations.  Documents without original 
signatures and/or notarizations will be considered incomplete and the application will not be 
approved. Original documents of all documents submitted via the online application, must ALSO 
be sent to the Board office within 30 days of the issuance of a license.

Revised February 2022

APPLICATION FOR WAIVER OF WRITTEN HEARING AID DISPENSER 
EXAMINATION CHECKLIST 



MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH
BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR AUDIOLOGISTS, HEARING AID DISPENSERS, 
SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS AND MUSIC THERAPIST

4201 PATTERSON AVENUE BALTIMORE, MARYLAND 21215-2299 
PHONE 410-764-4725  FAX 410-358-0273 

MARYLAND RELAY SERVICES 1-800-735-2258 

 Waiver of Hearing Aid Dispenser Examination 

Date: ___________________ 

1 .Name:  _________________________________________________________ 
Last   First    Middle 

2. Home Address: ______________________________________________
Street     Apt. 

 ____________________________________________________________________
City     State            Zip Code 

3. Home Phone:_________________Alternate#_____________  Email____________

4. Date of Birth: _________________ Social Security #: __________________________

5. Have you ever been convicted of a felony or a misdemeanor involving moral turpitude?

Yes________ No______ If yes, write an explanation on an attached sheet of paper  

6. EDUCATION
College Attended:
_______________________________________________________________________

Address:_________________________________________________________________
Street  City  State ZipCode 

Dates Attended: ________ to ____________ 
Have the college send an official transcript directly to the Maryland Board. 

7. Have you previously been licensed in Maryland?
If yes, license No.: ______________________ Date expired: _____________________

8. Have you previously applied for license to dispense hearing aids in the State of
Maryland or in another state ? If so, when?_______________ Where?__________

9.Have you ever been denied a license to dispense hearing aids or has your license ever
been suspended or revoked in the State of Maryland or any other state?
Yes_____ No______ If yes, write an explanation on an attached sheet of paper.

FOR OFFICE USE 
CK ( ) MO (  )   Number ___________________ Received_________      

A_  ffix current 2x2
Size Photo 

Revised  February 2022



10. List other states in which you are currently licensed ____ _____ ______ _______

11 List any state (s) which you have previously been licensed ____ _____ ______ ______ 

12. If you are now licensed in another state, or have been licensed in another state in the
past, please write your full name on the Hearing Aid Dispenser Affidavit Form included
with this application. Have the affidavit (s) completed by the other state licensure
board(s)and returned to the Board of Hearing Aid Dispensers, 4201 Patterson Avenue,
Baltimore, Maryland 21215-2299.

13. Have this affidavit completed by a Notary Public
I further affirm that I have read Sections 2-101 to 2-502 of Title 2 of the Health
Occupations Article of the Annotated Code of Maryland and fully understand that in
receiving a license from the Board, I bind myself to be governed by them.
I understand that in submitting this application that the accompanying fee is for
administrative purposes and licensure. The fee is not refundable.

STATE OF _________________________________ CITY OR COUNTY ____________ 

The undersigned, being duly sworn deposes and says that he/she is the person who executed 
this application, that the statements herein contained are true to the best of 
his/her knowledge, that he/she knowledge, that he/she has not suppressed any information that 
might affect this application and that he/she read and understands this affidavit. 

Signed before me on the _____day of  _____________________, by____________________

_________________________ 
Signature of Applicant 

Applicant Name

 _________________________ 
Signature of Notarial Officer

(If none, please enter NA)

(If none, please enter NA)

*************************************************************************************************** 
In accordance with Executive Order 01.01.1093-18, the Board is required to advise you as follows regarding the collection 
of personal information: 

Personal information requested by the Board is necessary in determining your eligibility for licensure. Such personal 
information is also intended for use as an additional means of verifying the licensee’s identity or to enable the Board to 
communicate, in a timely manner, with the licensee should the need arise. The licensee has a right to inspect his personal 
record and to amend or correct the personal data if necessary. 

Your Social Security Number is needed on the application. It will be used for identification purposes and may be released to 
the Department of Public Safety and correctional Services to check for any criminal convictions. 

Revised February 2022

____________________________
Title of Office
Stamp:



BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR AUDIOLOGISTS, HEARING AID DISPENSERS 
AND SPEECH-LANGUAGE PATHOLOGISTS 

4201 PATTERSON AVENUE BALTIMORE, MARYLAND 21215-2299 
PHONE 410-764-4725 FAX 410-358-0273 

HEARING AID DISPENSER LICENSURE AFFIDAVIT 
An application for licensure as a Hearing Aid Dispenser has been filed with the Maryland 
Board of Examiners for Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dispensers and Speech-Language 
Pathologists by 
________________________________________________________________________ 

The Maryland Board may issue a license to an applicant who holds a current, unsuspended 
and  unrevoked certificate or license to sell or fit hearing aids in another state or 
jurisdiction if it has requirements equivalent to or higher than those in effect in Maryland.  

1. Licensed in your State? Yes _______ No _______

2. Did applicant take the written examination prepared by the National Institute for
Hearing Instrument Studies? Yes _______ No _______

If not, did applicant take a written examination Yes _______ No_______ 
Written examination consisted of:  ___________________________________________ 
Grade: _______________________ 

Practical Examination Consisted of: __________________________________________ 

Grade: ______________________ 

3. Is License current? Yes _______ No _______ If not, why _________________

4. Has License ever been revoked or suspended? Yes _______ No _______

If yes, why ______________ 

5. Does your state require continuing education hours for license renewal?

Yes_______ No _______ If yes, hours required _________________________________ 

Signature: _____________________________________ Date: _____________________ 

Title: __________________________________________________________________ 

Board Name___________________________________________________________ 

State of___________________ 

****PLEASE ENCLOSE A COPY OF THE STATE LAW AND 

REGULATIONS FOR  HEARING AID DISPENSERS****



Updated 11/06/2019 

AGENCY PRIVACY REQUIREMENTS FOR NONCRIMINAL JUSTICE APPLICANTS 

Authorized governmental and non-governmental agencies/officials that conduct a national 

fingerprint-based criminal history record check on an applicant for a noncriminal justice purpose 

(such as employment or a license, immigration or naturalization matter, security clearance, or 

adoption) are obligated to ensure the applicant is provided certain notices and that the results of 

the check are handled in a manner that protects the applicant’s privacy.  All notices must be 

provided in writing.1 These obligations are pursuant to the Privacy Act of 1974, Title 5, United 

States Code (U.S.C.), Section 552a, and Title 28, Code of Federal Regulations (CFR), Section 50.12, 

among other authorities.  

• Officials must ensure that each applicant receives an adequate written FBI Privacy Act

Statement (dated 2013 or later) when the applicant submits his/her fingerprints and

associated personal information.2

• Officials must advise all applicants in writing that procedures for obtaining a change,

correction, or update of an FBI criminal history record are set forth at 28 CFR 16.34.

Information regarding this process may be found at

https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/identity-history-summary-checks and

https://www.edo.cjis.gov. 

• Officials must provide the applicant the opportunity to complete or challenge the accuracy

of the information in the FBI criminal history record.

• Officials should not deny the employment, license, or other benefit based on information in

the FBI criminal history record until the applicant has been afforded a reasonable time to

correct or complete the record or has declined to do so.

• Officials must use the FBI criminal history record for authorized purposes only and cannot

retain or disseminate it in violation of federal statute, regulation or executive order, or rule,

procedure or standard established by the National Crime Prevention and Privacy Compact

Council.3

The FBI has no objection to officials providing a copy of the applicant’s FBI criminal history 

record to the applicant for review and possible challenge when the record was obtained based on 

positive fingerprint identification.  If agency policy permits, this courtesy will save the applicant the 

time and additional FBI fee to obtain his/her record directly from the FBI by following the 

procedures found at 28 CFR 16.30 through 16.34.  It will also allow the officials to make a more 

timely determination of the applicant’s suitability. 

Each agency should establish and document the process/procedures it utilizes for how/when it gives 

the applicant the FBI Privacy Act Statement, the 28 CFR 50.12 notice, and the opportunity to 

correct his/her record.  Such documentation will assist State and/or FBI auditors during periodic 

compliance reviews on use of FBI criminal history records for noncriminal justice purposes. 

1 Written notification includes electronic notification, but excludes oral notification. 
2 See https://www.fbi.gov/services/cjis/compact-council/privacy-act-statement 
3 See 5 U.S.C. 552a(b); 28 U.S.C. 534(b); 34 U.S.C. § 40316 (formerly cited as 42 U.S.C. § 14616), Article IV(c); 

28 CFR 20.21(c), 20.33(d), 50.12(b) and 906.2(d). 

Date:  ______________________

Name:_____________________



 

STATE OF MARYLAND 
DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC SAFETY AND CORRECTIONAL SERVICES 
CRIMINAL JUSTICE INFORMATION SYSTEMS – CENTRAL REPOSITORY 

LIVESCAN PRE-REGISTRATION APPLICATION 

   APPLICANT INFORMATION (PLEASE TYPE OR PRINT CLEARLY)  
Name: 
Date of birth: SSN: Gender:   Male   Female     (Please check) 
Height:   ft.   inches  Weight:   lbs.  Eye Color:  Hair Color: 
Race:     Black   White   )Asian/Pacific Islander   Native American  Other  (Please check)   

Place of Birth: Citizenship: 
Current address: 
City: State: ZIP Code:   -  
Daytime Phone: Evening Phone: Driver’s License #: 

AGENCY INFORMATION 
Agency Authorization #: 1600003672 
ORI # (if required): MD920528Z Reason fingerprinted?  Licensing 
Position Applied for: Board of AUD HAD and SLP 
Request Type:  (Choose one ONLY) 

 Adult Dependent Care 
 Attorney/Client 
 Child care 
 Criminal Justice 
 Gold Seal/ Adoption  
 Gold Seal/Letter/VISA 
 Government Employment 

 Government Licensing or Certification 
 Immigration/VISA 
 Individual Challenge 
 Individual Review 
 MSP Licensing  
 Private Party Petition 

 Public Housing 

Mail Response to: 
(Mailing option only available for Visa Gold Seal and/or Individual Review) 

Name:  Do Not Mail This Form To The Board 
 ________________________________________________________________________________________ 

Address: Do Not Mail This Form To The Board 
 _______________________________________________________________________________________ 

City, State, Zip code:  Do Not Mail This Form To The Board 
 ______________________________________________________________________________ 
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