

Wes Moore, Governor · Aruna Miller, Lt. Governor · Laura Herrera Scott, M.D., M.P.H., Secretary

BOARD OF EXAMINERS FOR AUDIOLOGISTS, HEARING AID DISPENSERS, SPEECH LANGUATE PATHOLOGIST, & MUSIC THERAPISTS

Criminal History Records Check- Out-of-State

A full Criminal History Records Check (CHRC) is a requirement to obtain a license issued by the Maryland Board of Examiners for Audiologist, Hearing Aid Dispensers, Speech-Language Pathologist, and Music Therapists. This includes all initial licenses, transfers from limited to full licensure, all renewal licenses, and reinstatement or reactivation of licenses. A licensee shall undergo a new criminal records history check as set forth in Health Occupations Article, §2-303.1, Annotated Code of Maryland, every three renewal cycles or every 6 years.

These instructions are for individuals who reside outside of Maryland, or it is not convenient to come to Maryland to complete the fingerprinting process. please follow the procedures in the Out-of-State instructions.

The Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services (DPSCS), Criminal Justice Information System (CJIS) oversees Criminal History Records Checks. The CHRC is initiated by the applicant/Licensee being fingerprinted.

The following information is required for CJIS application processing:

CJIS Authorization #: 1600003672

FBI ORI #: MD920528Z

Reason Fingerprinted: Audiology License/ Audiology Assistant License

Hearing Aid Dispense License

Speech-Language Pathology License

Speech-Language Pathology Assistant License

Music Therapist License

Type of Check: Governmental Licensing/Certification

Electronic Fingerprinting

It is best to have your fingerprints taken electronically in the State of Maryland. Electronic Fingerprinting is available at CJIS- approved private providers, most Maryland MVA locations and most local law enforcement offices. If you are able to complete the fingerprint process in Maryland, follow the procedure in the In-State instructions.

In order to comply with the CHRC requirement and to not delay the issuance of a license, please abide by these instructions. Please note that it may take-up to five (5) weeks for CJIS to issue the required report to the Board.

Out-of-state residents may use a location outside the State of Maryland but must use the CJIS fingerprint card that has preprinted Board-specific information.

Applicants for an initial license should request a fingerprint card at least six (6) weeks in advance of the anticipated date that licensure is required.

License renewal candidates should request a fingerprint card no later than April 15th to ensure sufficient time to complete the process and complete the online renewal process.

These timeframes assumes that an individual mails the fingerprint card to Maryland CJIS within a week of receiving the fingerprint card and having the fingerprints taken.

Once the fingerprint process is complete you must mail the fingerprint card to the following address with a check for \$30.00. Checks are payable to: **CJIS Central Repository.** The address is:

6776 Reisterstown Road Suite 101 (first floor) Baltimore, MD 21215.

Make a copy of the fingerprinting receipt and submit it with your application.

Initial licensure applicants: Once the results of your background check are received, the application process will be completed in accordance with the Board's regulations and polices

Renewal applicants: once the results of your background check are received, the Board will make the necessary changes to allow access to the online renewal process within 48 hours (notice will be provided via e-mail).

Please note that the cost of fingerprinting services from private providers may vary. The total fee must be paid to the provider and the cost is borne by the applicant for initial licensure and renewal candidates. Private providers in Maryland do not accept cash or money orders. For additional information regarding fingerprinting in Maryland please contact CJIS via telephone at 410-764-4501, 1-888-795-0011 (toll free), or via their website at: https://www.dpscs.state.md.us/publicservs/fingerprint.shtml

Effective October 1, 2016, all initial applicants for full or limited licensure in Maryland will be required to submit fingerprints. All applicants for reinstatement or reactivation who have not previously fulfilled this requirement must submit fingerprints. This is a requirement of the application process and cannot be waived for any reason. An initial license will not be issued unless proof of the CHRC is on file with the Board.

General Information

Pursuant to federal law, a CHRC is only effective for one purpose. Accordingly, any prior fingerprinting and criminal history records check was only good for the educational institution, employer, licensing entity, etc., for which it was completed.

When getting fingerprinted please ensure that the fingerprint operator spells your name correctly and that the correct FBI ORI and CJIS Authorization numbers are used both on your application and inputted correctly into the system. You will have the opportunity to verify your information.

Please do not call the Board's offices for an update on a background check. The background check is completed by a separate state agency. The Board does not have control over the amount of time it may take to complete the check. If you have not received the results of your CHRC after 30 days, please contact CJIS directly at 410-764-4501.

Please refer to §2-303.1 Criminal History Record Checks of the Maryland Board of Examiners for Audiologists, Hearing Aid Dispensers, Speech-Language Pathologist, & Music Therapists for a full description of the requirements.