

# GOVERNOR'S COMMISSION ON SUICIDE PREVENTION

## MARYLAND

Governor's Commission on Suicide Prevention Meeting September 16, 2020 1:00pm-3:00pm

Commission Members on Phone		
Robert Anderson	Department of Juvenile Services	
Edward Bartlinski	Police, Local Corrections, or Fire and Rescue	
Lynda Bonieskie (proxy)	Department of Public Safety and Correctional Services	
Dana Burl	Department of Veterans Affairs	
Amanda Celentano	Department of Aging	
Janel Cubbage (Chair)	Behavioral Health Administration	
Johanna Dolan	Substance Use Recovery Community	
Christina Drushel-Williams	Governor's Office for Children	
The Honorable Adelaide Eckardt	Member of the Maryland Senate	
Monica Guerrero Vazquez	Hispanic/Latino Community	
Russell Himmelberger	Active/Former Member of the Armed Forces	
Kevin Johnson	Faith Community	
Amy Kulp	Suicide Prevention Group	
Jennilyn Landbeck	Family Member	
Georgette Lavetsky	Deputy Secretary Public Health	
The Honorable Eric Luedtke (proxy) Member of the House of Delegates		
Cynthia Macri	Asian American/Pacific Islander Community	
William Powell	National Organization for People of Color Against Suicide	
Dustin Richardson	American Indian Community	
Kirsten Robb-McGrath	Department of Disabilities	
Maura J. Rossman	Local Health Officer	
Gabrielle Ryder	High School Student	
Susan Schwarten	Survivor of a Suicide Attempt	
Haley Taylor	Maryland Addictions Directors Council	
Holly Wilcox (Vice Chair)	Academic Community	
Eileen Zeller	Mental Health Association of Maryland	
Workgroup Lead		

#### Workgroup Lead Lanny Berman

Suicide Fatality Review Workgroup

### Maryland Department of Health (MDH) Staff

Natalie Miller	Behavioral Health Administration
Indu Radhakrishnan	Behavioral Health Administration



#### Welcome and Introductions

Commission Chair Cubbage welcomed all attendees to the Commission meeting. Commissioners introduced themselves.

#### Approval of July 15, 2020 Minutes

No corrections were made to the minutes. Minutes were approved.

#### **Discussion of Suicide Prevention Conference:**

Conference to be held virtually on October 7<sup>th</sup> from 9 am to 5pm. Paul Nestdat is the keynote speaker from Johns Hopkins University. Registration information was shared with commissioners.

#### Discussion of Commission Membership Changes

Commissioner Cubbage announced changes to commission membership which includes Jen Treger and Russell Himmelberger have stepped down. Eileen Zeller is replacing Jen Treger as representative for the Mental health Association of Maryland, and we will be recruiting for the Active/ Former Armed Forces Representative. Gabrielle Ryder joins the Commission as the new High School Student Representative. Amy Kulp is stepping down as Lethal Means Workgroup Lead. Eileen Zeller and Gabrielle Ryder introduce themselves to the commission.

#### **Discussion of State Plan**

Commissioner Wilcox shares the state plan and leads the discussion of the plan. Several Commissions wanted to incorporate the impact of COVID-19 on suicide, but we are unable to share data as is has not been released publicly. The data included in the plan is the most recent officially released data, which is a couple of years delayed. Commissioners agree that information for the marginalized populations sections needs to be enhanced, including Maryland specific data, and additional background information for the populations. Commissioner Cubbage informs group that the finalized state plan is due for internal review at MDH tomorrow.

#### **Action Items:**

Any commissioners that would like to add information must submit by this evening.

The meeting was adjourned at 3:03 pm.

The next Commission meeting will be held on October 14, 2020 from 1:00 pm to 3:00 pm.