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INTRODUCTION

You may not be deprived of any of your rights simply because you
are being treated for a mental illness. When you enter a psychiatric
facility, you should know that the staff is there to help you and
wants to make your stay as short and as pleasant as possible.

Your rights are guaranteed by federal and state laws, which are
designed to protect you from abuse, harm, and neglect. Your rights
should be posted in area of the facility where you and your visitors
can easily read them.

This booklet explains your rights while you are receivi_ng '
psychiatric treatment in a Maryland mental health clinic, hospital,
or rehabilitation program.

The rights of minors vary from the information provided in this‘
booklet. Therefore you are advised to contact your Rights Advisor

for clarification.

If you have any questions regarding your rights or wish to repoﬁ a
violation of your rights, you may contact any of the resources listed
on the inside back cover of this booklet.

YOU HAVE THE RIGHT
TO ENOW YOUR RIGHTS
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Your rights include the special rights and privileges of individuals
treated in a Mental Health Clinic, Hospital or Rehabilitation
Program as defined by Maryland Law.

1. ADMISSION AND RETENTION RIGHT

Upon admission to a facility, you must be told your rights in language
and words that you can understand. Within 12 hours of being
admitted to an inpatient psychiatric facility, a form must be read and
given to you which describes your admission status, the availability
of legal services and your right to talk to a lawyer of your choice.

if you do not understand the information, the information will be
given to your parent, guardian, next of kin or to any other person

who has a significant interest in your welfare.

The form shall be read in English or in the language or manner best
suited to you. A copy of this form will be kept in your record and
vou will receive a copy. You will be given the opportunity to ask
questions and to receive additional information regarding your rights.

Your rights shall be posted in areas of the facility where you and your
visitors can read them easily. You may request that a copy of this
booklet be given to your next of kin.

PETITION FOR EMERGENCY EVALUATION

A petition for emergency evaluation is a document, which allows an
individual to be taken to a designated emergency room of a general
hospital in order to be evaluated. If you appear to be suffering from
a mental illness and present a danger to the life or safety of yourself
or others, an individual may go to court and file a petition for
emergency evaluation. If the court agrees, you will be picked up

by the police and taken to the closest designated emergency facility
for evaluation. :




INVOLUNTARY ADMISSION

If two physicians or one physician and one péychologist complete
certificates for involuntary admission, you will be taken into
observation status. In order for you to be involuntarily admitted,

ALL OF THE FOLLOWING MUST BE TRUE:
* You have a mental illness
* You need inpatient care or treatment;
* You present a danger to yourself or to others;
= You are unable or unwilling to be admitted voluntarily;
* There is no available, less restrictive form of care or treatment to
meet your needs.

If you are 65 years of age or older and involuntarily admitted to a

State hospital, a geriatric evaluation team must have determiined that
there is no less restrictive environment than the State hospital where

you can receive needed care or treatment,
If you are certified and taken into observation status at a hospital:

(1) You have the right to be evaluated by a psychiatrist within
24 hours after you enter the hospital.

(2) You have the right to request a change of your admission
status to voluntary at any time (see page 4).

(3) If your status does not change, you are entitled to an
involuntary admission hearing within 10 days. The hearing
may be postponed for no more than 7 days. The purpose of
the hearing is to determine whether you meet the criteria
described above. You must be released if you do not meet
these criteria.

(4) You will be given oral and written notice of the hearing date
and an explanation of your rights at the hearing. A copy of
this notice will be given to you, placed in your medical
record, and sent to your parent, guardian, or next of kin.

COURT ADMISSIONS

If you are arrested, a court may send you to a psychiatric hospital for
evaluation. If you are sent to the hospital for an inpatient evaluation,
this is generally completed within 30 day, and the hospital’s
recommendation is submitted to the court. If the court finds you not
criminally responsible (NCR) and commits you to a psychiatric
hospital for treatment, you may request a yearly hearing to review
your status.

If you are court committed, your release can be granted only by the
court. The court may release you at the recommendation of an
Administrative Law Judge following a hearing, or the hospital may
apply to the court for your release. The court will usually require
that you be released on conditions {such as continuing outpatient
treatment) imposed by the court.

YOUR RIGHTS AT THE HEARING

You have the right to be represented by an attorney of your choice.
If you cannot afford a lawyer, an attorney from the Public Defender’s
office will be available to represent you.

Before the hearing, you have the right to be examined by a psychia-
trist of your choice, at your expense, to help you prepare your case.

You should not be required to take excessive medication that will
greatly impair your ability to participate fully in your hearing. If you
feel that you have taken too much medication you should tell the
Administrative Law Judge immediately.

You have the right to wear your own clothes to the hearing.
At the hearing, the hospital presenter will present the case for your

continued hospitalization. You have the right to bring your own
witnesses to present your opinion, you also have the right to ask




questions of those witnesses you disagree with and to speak for
yourself. If your witness is unable to attend the hearing, you may
request that the Administrative Law Judge call and speak to the
witness over the telephone.

At the end of the hearing, the Administrative Law Judge will
determine whether you meet the criteria for admission and retention.
If you do not, you will be released. If you do meet the criteria,

you must remain in the hospital, and the Administrative Law Judge
will advise you of your right to appeal the decision within 30 days.
The Administrative Law Judge will also inform you of your right to
seek judicial release. (See page 14 for explanation). Although you
may not waive your rights to a hearing, you may waive your right

to be present.

You will have a hearing every six months as long as you are
hospitalized involuntarily.

VOLUNTARY ADMISSION

In order to be admitted voluntarily to a psychiatric hospital, all of the
following must be true:

= You are 16 years old or older;

* You have a mental disorder that is susceptible to care or treatment;

= You are able to understand the nature of your request for treatment;

» You are able to give continuous assent to remain in the facility;
and

* You are able to ask for release.

There are two types of voluntary admissions: formal and informal.
(1) Formal: If you submit a signed written application and the appli-

cation is accepted by the hospital, a formal voluntary -agreement
has been made. If you have signed a formal voluntary admission

agreement, you may request your release. Within 72 hours the
hospital must either release you, or if you meet the standards for
involuntary admission (see page 2), you may be certified and will
be given an administrative hearing within 10 days to determine if
you must remain at the hospital (see page 3).

(2) Informal: If you request admission without a written application
and the hospital allows you to stay, this is an informal admission.
If you are admitted informally and you want to leave the hospital,
you may do sc only between the hours of 9 am. and 4 p.m. The
hospital can stop you from leaving only if the hospital takes the
steps to have you involuntarily admitted (see page 2).

VOLUNTARY ADMISSION OF MINORS

If you are under 18 years of age, your parent or guardian may
“voluntarily” admit you to a private psychiatric hospital or to a State
hospital even if you object. You may not be admitted unless: you
have a mental illness, the illness is susceptible to care or ireatment,
your parent or guardian understands the nature of the request for
admission, and the physician of a private facility has agreed to your
admission or, if you are in a State hospital, either a hospital physician
and a licensed psychologist or two hospital physicians have agreed
to your admission. ‘

An admission of a minor by a parent or guardian to a State hospital
may not be longer than 20 days. If the minor is under 16 years old,
an involuntary admission hearing must be held, even if the minor
wishes to stay beyond the 20 days and the physician agrees.




II. TREATMENT RIGHTS

If there are limitations placed on any of your rights, either by law or for
medical reasons, this must be documented in your record and must be
reviewed periodically. Whether your admission is voluntary or involun-
tary, at the time of admission, you must be advised of your rights.

You have the right to receive appropriate humane treatment and
services that restrict your liberty only to the extent necessary
and consistent with your treatment needs and applicable legal
requirements. ' '

You have the right to participate in the development and periodic
updating of your treatment plan and to be told, in appropriate terms
and language, of: '

- The content and objectives of the plan.

- The nature and significant possible adverse effects of
recommended treatments.

- The name, title, and role of the persons responsible for carrying
out the treatment, and

- When appropriate, alternative treatments or mental health
services that are available.

Maryland law gives the right to anyone 16 years of age and over to
be involved in decisions about their mental health treatment.
However, a parent or guardian of a person under the age of 18 years
may authorize treatment, even over the objection of the minor.

The law also notes that at times, some people are unable to make
treatment decisions. Maryland law states that you have the right to
make decisions in advance, including mental health decisions,
through a process called advanced directive. An advanced directive
can beuscd to state your treatment choices or can be used to name
a health care agent, that is someone that will make health care
decisions for you should you become unable to do so. Additional
information and advance directive forms are available upon request.
You may obtain assistance in completing these forms from a member
of your treatment team, a lawyer, or the Rights Advisor.

You have the right to refuse to participate as a subject in physically
intrusive research conducted at a facility unless you have given
written consent.

You have a right to appropriate assessment and management of pain.

You have the right to refuse medication used for treatment of a

mental disorder except:
- In an emergency, on the order of a physician, when you present a
danger to the life or safety of yourself or others; or
- In a non-emergency, when you are hospitalized involuntarily or
committed for trcatment by order of a court and the medication is
approved by a Clinical Review Panel (CRP).

As part of your treatment in the hospital, your psychiatrist may feel
that medication is necessary. If you and your psychiatrist cannot
agree on prescribed medication and you refuse to take medication
voluntarily, your psychiatrist may recommend that you be taken to
a CRP which can order medication against your will for a period of
90 days. '

If a CRP is scheduled, you will receive written notification at least

24 hours prior to the time of the panel. The Rights Advisor will meet
with you, prior to the panel, in order to inform you of your rights, and
will assist you in presenting your concerns regarding the medication
to the panel.

If the panel approves medication, you will be informed verbally and
receive a copy of the written decision. You have 48 hours after
receiving this decision to file an appeal and cannot be forced to take
medication during this time uniess during an emergency when you
are a danger to yourself or others. The Rights Advisor will discuss
your appeal rights with you, assist you in filing an appeal, and help
you to obtain legal representation.

Your hearing will take place within 7 days but can be postponed for
good cause. At the conclusion of the hearing, the Administrative
Law Judge will give you a copy of the decision and inform you

of your right to appeal to Circuit Court. Your legal representative or
Rights Advisor may assist you in this appeal, if requested.




. COMMUNICATION RIGHTS

You have the right to have access, at all reasonable hours, to writing
instruments, stationery and postage and you may use them, subject to
reasonable limitations, to write to anyone. Your correspondence must
be sent unopened to the person you have written to unless that person
has asked that you send no mail.

You shall have reasonable access to a telephone. If you have privacy
needs when making a telephone call, you should discuss this with
your treatment team who can make reasonable accommodation.
However, you may not telephone anyone who has given the fac1l:ty
written notice of being unwilling to be telephoned.

You are entitled to have private conversations with a lawyer and
members of the clergy that you choose at any reasonable hours. You
may, if you wish, see any other visitors during reasonable visiting
hours set by the facility. If you refuse to see a visitor, that refusal
shall be written in your record.

f medically justified, your right to communicate can be restricted.
This restriction must be ordered by your physician, made a perma-
nent part of your record, dated as to when the limitation is over, and
reviewed every 30 days if the restriction is to be continued.

IV CONFIDENTIALITY -

When you are admitted to a mental health facility, you will be given
a Notice of Privacy Practices, which describes how medical
information about you may be used and disclosed, and how you can
get access to this information. You should carefully review this
information.

Your medical record is confidential. If you wish to allow this
mformation to be shared, you must sign a release of information form
authorizing access to the record. You have the right to revoke the
authorization at any time by giving written notice.

You can request to read your medical record. Forms for this are
available from the Medical Records Department. The nurse or social
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worker can assist you in obtaining a request form. The facility is
required to comply, within a reasonable time, after you have submitted
your written request. Your physician can refuse to disclose any portion
of your medical record that the physician believes would be injurious
to your health. Ifaccess to a portion of your record is denied, you
may request a written summary of the undisclosed portion.

You can request that additions or corrections be made in your medical
records; however, nothing may be deleted from the record. Requests
for addition or corrections should be made in writing to the Medical
Records Department.

You can request copies of your medical record and may be required to
pay a fee for these copies. Requests for copies should be submitted

to the Medical Records Department. You can request that they give
you an approximate cost, in advance, for copying these records.

Personal information may be requested from you by the facility.
This information is used by the facility and Mental Hygiene
Administration to coordinate, provide or fund mental health services
for you. Such information may include medical, mental health and
financial records, which would be used for the purposes of assessing
eligibility for public mental health services and in the coordination
of care. Failure to provide the information may result in the dental
of services. You have the right to inspect, amend, and correct this
information as permitted by State Law, Health General 4-304.
Information received from you is conifidential and is not generally
available to the public. [nformation collected may be available to
providers, with your consent, pursuant to Health General 4-301,
Annotated Code of Maryland. This Personal Information Disclosure
Statement is given in compliance with State Government Article
10-624, Annotated Code of Marviand.

V. FREEDOM OF MOVEMENT, RESTRAINT

Your personal liberty can only be restricted based on your treatment
needs and applicable legal requirements, such as a court order or
involuntary admission status.




You have the right to request use of a quiet room and, unless clinically
contra-indicated, may be granted use of a quiet room. You may
terminate self-initiated use of the quiet room at any time or staff may
terminate use of quiet room for clinical reasons.

Staff may determine that the use of the quiet room is clinically
indicated and request that you voluntarily enter the quiet room. Staff
may not coerce or force you into entering the quiet room. At the time
you voluntarily enter the quiet room at staffs’ request, they will discuss
with you the recommended length of stay in the quiet room and the
behavior expected upon your exit from the quiet room.

While you are in the quiet room, the quiet room door should not be
locked or in & position that would prevent you from exiting the room
voluntarily.

You shall be free from locked door seclusion or restraint except
when it is necessary to prevent injury to yourself or others, or if you
are distupting the therapeutic environment. Before being restrained
or secluded, the physician or registered nurse will assess whether
less restrictive alternative approaches are appropriate and have been
attempted.

Restraint and locked door seclusion must be ordered by a physician
out may be directed by a registered nurse if a physician’s order is
obtained within one hour of the action.

While in focked door seclusion, you will be checked every 15 minutes
and will be offered bathroom privileges and fluids, at Jeast every

2 hours. A staff person will talk to you at least once each hour to
determine if you have any special needs. You will receive meals at
the regularly scheduled hours and be allowed to bathe and do oral
hygiene at least once during a 24 hour period.

While in restraint, staff will keep you in full view at all times and ensure
that you are protected from harm by others. You must be released from
restraint or seclusion when the clinical evaluation of the physician or
registered nurse determines that you are no longer a danger to yourself
or others.
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VI. FREEDOM FROM HARM AND ABUSE

You have the right to be protected from harm and abuse. Abuse
means cruel or inhumane treatment that causes any physical injury
including sexual abuse. If you believe that you have been abused,
physically or sexually, you should report this immediately to your
physician, a member of your treatment team, or the Rights Advisor,
who will notify the administrative head of the facility who will
inform the appropriate law enforcement agency. A thorough
investigation by the law enforcement agency will follow promptly
and you will be informed of the results when it is concluded.

If you are assaulted by another patient, you should immediately
inform staff so that they can assess any injuries and take the

necessary steps to ensure that you are protected from further assault.

If you would like information about filing criminal charges, you
should let staff know who will then contact the police and Rights

Advisor so that they may explain your rights to you and if necessary,

assist you in this process.

You also have the right to be free from mental abuse. This includes

such things as ridiculing comments, use of profanity, racial, religious

or ethnic insults. If you believe that you have been mentally abused,

you can report this to a staff person or the Rights Advisor.

VIL. CIVIL RIGHTS

Civil rights include the basic rights of all citizens in our society such

as the right to vote, buy and sell property and the right to marry.

You may not be deprived of the right to vote, or to receive, hold and
dispose of property solely because you are in a facility being treated

for a mental illness. The Rights Advisor can assist you in registering

to vote or in obtaining absentee ballots.




You are considered legally competent unless there has been a court
decision declaring you incompetent.

You have the right to manage your own affairs unless a court has
decided you are not legally competent and has given you a guardian.
The guardian decides only things listed in the court order.

You may give instructions concerning your future mental health
and medical care and treatment, including decision about treatments
to sustain life, through an advance directive. At the time of your
admission, you will be given written information and can request
assistance in implementing an advance directive.

VIII. GENERAL RIGHTS

General rights include basic rights of persons as human beings such
as living in a safe environment and being treated with dignity and
respect.

You have the right to keep and use most personal property, wear your
own clothes, have a reasonable amount of lockable storage space for
your clothing and other personal property.

Limited accounting services for residents are available at State
facilities; however, residents are encouraged to use the services of
banks and financial institutions located in their community. In order
to ensure immediate access to funds deposited with the facility,
deposits must be in the form of a money order or certified bank
check. Reasonable delays in accessing funds can be anticipated
when deposits are made with a personal check.

You have the right to practice the religion or faith of your choice.
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IX. LEGAL RIGHTS

Legal rights include the rights to contact and be represented by a
lawyer, to seek release from a facility and to file complaints with
responsible authorities.

If any right is taken away and you don’t know why or you think it’s
unfair, you always have the right to discuss this with your treatment
team, the Rights Advisor, or an attorney. Your lawyer can see your

records only if you give wriften permission.

All psychiatric facilities must have an impartial, timely complaint
procedure through which you can address rights violations. In State
owned, operated and licensed facilities you can contact a Rights
Advisor. You also can contact a lawyer at any time to represent you.

A person may not knowingly interfere with your rights and if a
person violates certain rights and is found guilty of a misdemeanor
and is convicted, the person is subject to a fine not exceeding $5,000
or imprisonment not exceeding two years or both.

X. RELEASE/DISCHARGE RIGHTS

If your current admission status is based on a written application for
voluntary admission and you wish to be discharged, you must inform
the staff, in writing, of your desire to leave. You may not be held for
more than three days (72 hours) after formally requesting release,
unless your status is changed to an involuntary admission.”

If your treatment team believes you are not ready for discharge,

the physician will discuss this with you and may place you on
involuntary commitment status. If you are certified as an involuntary
commitment, you will be scheduled for an administrative hearing
within 10 days. If you do not meet ALL the criteria for an
involuntary admission as shown on page 2, the Administiative

Law Judge will release you from the hospital.




If you are admitted on an informal request, you may leave at any time
between 9 a.m. and 4 p.m., unless your admission status has been
changed to an involuntary admission.

If you are a voluntary admission and believe you are being retained
inappropriately after you have submitted your request for release,
you or a person acting on your behalf may contact an attorney or
one of the advocates shown in section XII Resources.

If you are an involuntary patient and wish to be released there are
three procedures you may use:

(1) Appeal of Commitment — If you are dissatisfied with the
decision of the Administrative Law Judge to keep you in the
facility, you have the right to have a court review the decision.
You must file this appeal within 30 days of the Administrative
Law Judge’s decision.

{2) Habeas Corpus — You or someone acting on your behalf may
apply for a Writ of Habeas Corpus to the appropriate court
at any time. This questions the legality of the original
commitment process and whether it was done correctly.

{3) Judicial Release — You or an interasted person may file a
petition for judicial release with the court. A judge or jury will
determine whether you should femain in the facility. They
will look at two things: Do you have a mental illness? Do
you need inpatient care to protect yourself or others?

DISCHARGE

The hospital must discharge any patient not committed by the court
who is not mentally ill. The hospital also must discharge patients
who no longer need inpatient care or treatment, are not dangerous,
and can care for themselves or can be cared for by others who are
willing to do so. If you have been committed involuntarily, you will
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be discharged when your treatment team determines your condition
has stabilized sufficiently for you to return to the community.

As part of your discharge plan, the hospital will advise you on the
advisability of creating an advance directive. You may wish to work
with your community providers or others to create such a document
for yourself. You can obtain information and assistance regarding an
advance directive from a member of your treatment team, a lawyer,
or the Rights Advisor. ' '

RELEASE OF A MINOR

If you were admitted by a parent/guardian, you must be released
within three days after your parent or guardian requests your
discharge, unless your admission status has changed. Upon turning
18, if your status does not change, you can request your own release.

It you have been involuntarily committed you must follow the same
procedures as an adult.

If you are a court ordered minor, the Juvenile Court retains jurisdiction
until you reach the age of 21 years, but the facility may release you
when you are no longer in need of inpatient care and treatment.

If you are 16 or older and you are a voluntary patient who requested
your own admission, you may request your own release (see page 13).

AFTERCARE PLAN

Prior to your discharge from the hospital, the staff will prepare an
aftercare plan, which should provide the necessary supports to allow
you to remain in the community and to prevent homelessness.

The aftercare services may include medical care, psychiatric care,
vocational and social rehabilitation, supportive housing, or case
management services. With your written permission, the plan will be
sent to the treatment program in the community that you have chosen.
If you do not consent to an aftercare plan, a statement to this effect
signed by you, your guardian, or other representative will be placed
in your record.
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XI. COMPLAINT PROCEDURES

You have the right to complain and to get assistance to resolve your
complaints.

If you are a resident of a State facility and you believe that your rights
have been violated, you should contact the Resident Grievance System
and discuss this with a Rights Advisor. The Resident Grievance

System is responsible for ensuring that the rights of residents in Mental
Hygiene Administration facilities are fully protected and that allegations
of rights violations are investigated and resolved in a timely manner.

Resident Grievance System
1-800-RGS-7454

If you feel that your complaint has not been adequately resolved
through the Resident Grievance System, vou have the right to file a
complaint with the Office of Health Care Quality, Spring Grove

- Hospital Center, Bland Bryant Building, 55 Wade Avenue, Catonsville,
Maryland 21228. For further information or to submit a complaint

by telephone, call toll free 877-402-8218 or 410-402-8000.

An employee or patient who has concerns about the safety or quality
of care provided in the hospital may report these concerns to the Joint
Commission on Accreditation of Healthcare Organizations (JCAHO).
There will be no retaliation when safety or quality of care issues are
reperted. Issues can be addressed by contacting JCAHO at One
Renaissance Boulevard, Office of Quality Monitoring, Oakbrook
Terrace, IL 60181; 1-800-994-6610.

You may aiso contact the Legal Assistance Provider for your facility.
The name and telephone number of the Legal Assistance Provider for
each facility is listed in the Resources section.

If you are a resident of a private facility, you should be informed about »
the complaint procedure of that facility at the time you are admitted.

You may also contact the Protection and Advocacy Agency for the State

of Maryland, the Maryland Disability Law Center, 1-800-233-7201.
16

XITI RESOURCES

Facility Legal Assistance Providers

Eastern Shore
Thomas B. Finan
Clifton T. Perkins
RICA Balt.
RICA—Rockville
Spring Grove

Springfield

Law Office of Jenning & Treff
Law Office of Nikki Behre, LLC
Ria Rochvarg

Ria Rochvarg _

Law Office of Nikki Behre, LLC
Terri D. Mason, PC

Terri D. Mason, PC

Maryland’s Protection and Advocacy Agency:

Maryland Disability Law Center

NAMI - Maryland

Mental Health Association of Maryland

On Our Own

Office of Administrative Hearings

Office on Aging

1 (410) 479-2800
1 (410)_42?—0558
1(410) 313-9725
1(410) 313-9725
1 (410) 428-0558
1 (410) 484-6150

1(410) 484-6150

1(800) 233-7201

I {800) 467-0075
1 (410) 467-7100

1 (410) 235-1178
1 (800) 553-9899
1 (410) 488-2480

1 (800) 388-8805
1 (410) 229-4100

1 (800) 243-3425
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Office of the Public Defender

Clifton T. Perkins
Eastemn Shore
Springfield
Spring Grove
Thomas B. Finan

Resident Grievance System

To report complaints

RGS Headquarters

Rights Advisors:
Eastern Shore
Thomas B. Finan
Clifton T. Perkins
RICA — Baltimore
RICA —Rockville
Springfield

Spring Grove

1(410) 347-1068
1(410) 724-3012
1(410) 820-6100
1(410) 795-6513
1 (410) 402-7454
1(301)777-2142

1 (800) 747-7454

1(410) 767-1051

1 (410)221-2345
1(301) 777-2263
1(410) 724-3165
1 (410) 368-7957
1(301) 251-6823
1(410) 970-7410

1(410) 402-7560
1(410) 402-7594
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