Title 10 MARYLAND DEPARTMENT OF HEALTH Subtitle 63 COMMUNITY-BASED BEHAVIORAL HEALTH PROGRAMS AND SERVICES

Chapter 05 Descriptions and Criteria for Programs Requiring a Non-Accreditation-Based License

Symbol Key

- Roman type indicates existing text regulations
- Italic type indicates proposed new text
- [Single bracket] indicates text proposed for deletion

10.63.05.05

.05 DUI Education Program.

To be licensed under this subtitle, a DUI education program shall:

- A.—B. (text unchanged)
- C. If the assessment determines that referral to a treatment program or other indicated service is necessary, make the referral and notify the court of the results of the assessment;
- D. Require participants to successfully complete, at a minimum, six weekly, 2-hour sessions for a total of 12 hours; *as documented by attendance records signed by participant*;
- E. Have instructors who, at a minimum, are certified as a Certified Supervised Counselor—Alcohol and Drug, as defined by Health Occupations Article, Title 17, Annotated Code of Maryland, *and who is supervised as required by law*;
- F. [Teach the Administration's curriculum or an equivalent curriculum approved by the Department, which covers:] *Teach a curriculum, that must be submitted to, and approved by the Administration, which covers:*
- (1)—(6) (text unchanged)
- G. Report to the court or probation agent, as specified by the court order.
- H. The Administration will place the criteria by which online DUI Education programs are evaluated for licensure eligibility on its website and shall update them at least annually.
- (1) Online programs may be approved as DUI Education programs if they meet the following requirements:
- (a) The program must meet all the conditions outlined in COMAR 10.63 for the operation of a DUI Education program.
- (b) The program must conduct an initial meeting with the client, in person, face to face.
- (c)The program must require participant response.

- (d) The program must have the ability to test the participant's knowledge and ensure participation.
- (e) The program must be fully secure, meeting, at minimum HIPAA Security requirements.
- (f) The program must verify participant identity and response.
- (g) The program must offer the opportunity for participants to ask questions which will be answered by program instructors.
- (h) The program must have a mechanism to verify participation and monitor participant progress.
- (i) Program Staff must be present at the licensed address during the stated hours of business or hours of operation.
- (j) The program must have an office located in Maryland, staffed during regular business hours, at which compliance materials may be reviewed, and at which participants may, if necessary, meet with the program staff.

10.63.05.07

.07 Additional Requirements for Programs Requiring Non-Accreditation-Based Licenses.

A.—D. (text unchanged)