MARYLAND BOARD OF ENVIROMENTAL HEALTH SPECIALSTS

Howard County Bureau of Utilities Bldg 8270 Old Montgomery Road, Columbia, Md. 21045

October 5, 2016

OPEN SESSION MINUTES

Present: Robert Sheesley, Board Chair

Bert Nixon, Vice Chair

Veronica Moore, Board Secretary Karen Brandt, Consumer Member Yvonne DeLoatch, Board Member Linda Rudie, Board Member

Amy Parrish, Private Industry (Absent)

James T. Merrow, Acting Executive Director

Ari Elbaum, AAG, Board Counsel

Donna Zickefoose, Staff

Visitor: Kristen Neville, Regulation Legislation Coordinator

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 10:07 A.M. by Bert Nixon, Vice Chair.

Pursuant to State Government article 10-508 (12) of the Annotated Code at 10:08 A.M. the members present voted to meet in administrative session to discuss confidential disciplinary matters. The administrative session ended at 10:41 A.M.

ITEM 1 Approval of Minutes

The minutes for the September 7, 2016 Open Session meeting were reviewed and approved with revisions. Motion was made to accept the minutes with revisions. Motion passed. 5 votes.

ITEM 2 Board Chair Report: Bert Nixon

Vice Chair, Bert Nixon, opened and headed the meeting. Board members were notified that the newly appointed Consumer member, Karl Paige had resigned. Board members advised they would like to have the Consumer member listed on the Board's webpage with a link to the Governor's webpage for vacancy.

ITEM 4 Executive Director Report: James Merrow

- **4a)** 135 licensees have currently met the required education credits for the 2017 license renewal.
- **4b**) Voting of Officers: The nominations named at the August 3, 2016 meeting were Robert Sheesley, Board Chair, Bert Nixon, Vice Chair and Veronica Moore, Secretary. A motion was made to accept the nominations. Motion passed. 5 votes. **4c**) New Board Member orientation is scheduled for November 14, 2016. Contact

Minutes for the Open Session October 5, 2016 Board Meeting

information for registration was provided.

4d) NEHA Exam – There were a total of 13 candidates who sat for the exam on August 24, 2016. The following 8 candidates passed the exam.

- Brittany Barrow
- Melanie Clark
- Paul Dix
- Kelly Kunsch
- Jacquelyn McGrady
- Ryan Murrell
- Katie Smith
- Aftan Vargas

4e) The link on the Board's webpage has been implemented to update change of address/contact information for licensees.

ITEM 5 Legislative/Regulations Committee:

Yvonne Deloatch, Bert Nixon, Ari Elbaum, Linda Rudie and Amy Parrish

The Regulations draft was reviewed. A motion was made to accept the draft with the revised language and revisions. Motion passed. Vote -5 in favor, 1 Abstention, 0 Opposed.

ITEM 6 Work Force Group:

Bert Nixon and Linda Rudie

The September 23, 2016 meeting had been cancelled. Re-schedule date not yet set.

ITEM 7 Continuing Education Committee:

Karen Brandt, Linda Rudie and Yvonne Deloatch

The ICS 300 and 400 Training could not be agreed upon for approval of continuing education credits. This was tabled until the December 7, 2016 meeting.

ITEM 8 Work Processed

Initial License Issued: (6)

- 1. Kelly Kunsch
- 2. Christine Mosher-Fink
- 3. Jacquelyn McGrady
- 4. Aftan Vargas
- 5. Ryan Murrell
- 6. Katie Smith

<u>License Reactivations (0)</u>

In-Training Certificates Issued: (3)

- 1. Christopher Kemple
- 2. Wanda Ramirez
- 3. Kacey Revere

Minutes for the Open Session October 5, 2016 Board Meeting

Extended In-Training Certificates Issued: (1)

1. Brandon Epps

Certificates of Eligibility Issued: (9)

- 1. Hilda Mathis
- 7. Andualem Nigatu
- 2. Rachel Churn
- 8. Michael Slattery
- 3. Danielle Staggers
- 9. Joseph Cabahug
- 4. Andrew Kalmbach
- 5. Shira Singer

Extended Certificates of Eligibility Issued: (0)

Seasonal/Summer/Youth Camp In-Training Certificates Issued: (0)

Letters of Denial Issued for the Certificate of Eligibility: (0)

Adjourn: 12:37 P.M.

James T. Merrow

Acting Executive Director

James J. Merron

Veronica Moore

Board Secretary/Treasurer

Vermica Moore

Date: December 7, 2016 Date: December 7, 2016