MARYLAND BOARD OF ENVIROMENTAL HEALTH SPECIALSTS Howard County Bureau of Utilities Bldg 8270 Old Montgomery Road, Columbia, Md. 21045

January 4, 2017

OPEN SESSION MINUTES

Present: Robert Sheesley, Board Chair (Absent) Bert Nixon, Vice Chair Veronica Moore, Board Secretary Karen Brandt, Consumer Member (Absent) Yvonne DeLoatch, Board Member Linda Rudie, Board Member Amy Parrish, Private Industry Naomi Howell, Board Member Mike Pugh, Board Member

> James T. Merrow, Acting Executive Director Ari Elbaum, AAG, Board Counsel Donna Zickefoose, Staff

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 10:03 A.M. by Bert Nixon, Vice Chair.

Pursuant to State Government article 10-508 (12) of the Annotated Code at 10:07 A.M. the members present voted to meet in Administrative Session to discuss confidential disciplinary matters. The Administrative Session ended at 10:36 A.M.

ITEM 1	Approval of Minutes The minutes for the December 7, 2016 Open Session meeting were adopted with revisions. Motion was made to accept the minutes with revisions. Motion passed. 5 votes.	
ITEM 2	Board Chair Report: Robert Sh	eeslev
	Bert Nixon introduced Mike Pugh, Consumer Board Member.	
ITEM 4	Executive Director Report: James Me	
	4a) 233 licensees have currently met the required education credits for the 2017 license renewal.	
	4b) The Joint Chair Report - it was reviewed and revised for final submittal. Bert Nixon will correspond with Natasha Mehu, Maryland Association of Counties, regarding the Board's funding issues as to the possibility of assistance with seeking	
	a sponsor to request that the Board be moved from the Special Fund to General Fund catagory.	
	4c) National Exam – The December 16, 2016 NEHA exam had 28 eligible	
	candidates. 17 candidates sat for the exam. 10 passed the exam and 7 failed. The names of the candidates who passed are listed below:	
	names of the candidates who passed are listed below:	

Minutes for the Open Session January 4, 2017 Board Meeting

- Omololu Dawodu
- Christopher DenBleyker
- Alexandra Gordon
- Amanda Jensen
- Stephen Kirsch
- Margaret Kratz
- Martha McMahon
- Michelle Meminger
- Sanketkuma Patel
- Candice Thompson

ITEM 5 Legislative/Regulations Committee:

Yvonne Deloatch, Bert Nixon, Ari Elbaum, Linda Rudie and Amy Parrish

The Regulations are to be published in the Maryland Register January 6, 2017.

ITEM 6 Work Force Group:

Bert Nixon, Linda Rudie, Naomi Howell and Yvonne Deloatch

Currently the group is customizing the specialty MS22's for the subject matter experts. The group is waiting for guidance from participating HR individuals and others familiar with this type of process as to how best to proceed with this initiative. Once determined, the current plan is to present one or more of the draft documents to the Department of Budget Management for review and hopeful approval.

ITEM 7Continuing Education Committee:Karen Brandt, Linda Rudie
and Yvonne DeloatchNo outstanding training awaiting approval.

ITEM 8 Work Processed

Initial License Issued: (0)

License Reactivations (0)

In-Training Certificates Issued: (6)

- 1. Lauren Biddinger
- 4. Hilda Mathis
- Laya Jimerson
 Lauren Daniels
- 5. Sobha Thomas
- 6. Timilehin Idris

Extended In-Training Certificates Issued: (0)

Certificates of Eligibility Issued: (6)

Fidelia Alika
 Angela Spaniol

- 4. Megline Igbokwe
- 5. Ferdinand George
- 3. Benson Nantwi Amponsem 6. Leila Ahmadi

Minutes for the Open Session January 4, 2017 Board Meeting

Extended Certificates of Eligibility Issued: (1)

- 1. Barisua Ikpe
- 2.

Seasonal/Summer/Youth Camp In-Training Certificates Issued: (0)

Letters of Denial Issued for the Certificate of Eligibility: (2)

- 1. Brian Rice
- 2. Geremew Kumalo

Adjourn: 11:05 A.M.

James J. Menrou

Vermia moore

James T. Merrow Acting Executive Director

Veronica Moore Board Secretary/Treasurer

Date: February 1, 2017

Date: February 1, 2017