

December 6, 2017 OPEN SESSION MINUTES

Board Members Present:

Linda Rudie, Vice Chair	
Veronica Moore, Board Secretary	
Yvonne DeLoatch, Board Member	
Amy Parrish, Private Industry	
Naomi Howell, Board Member	
Ann Rose, At Large Member	
Bruce Bowman, Consumer Member	
Staff:	
James T. Merrow, Acting Executive Director	
Ari Elbaum, AAG, Board Counsel	
Katherine Giblin, AAG, Board Counsel	
Donna Zickefoose, Staff	
Visitors:	
Robert Sheesley, Visitor	
Danielle Vallone, Board Investigator	
Kim Lang, MDH Director of Health Occupations	5

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 10:00 A.M. by Bert Nixon, Board Chair.

Pursuant to State Government article 10-508 (12) of the Annotated Code at 10:05 A.M. the members present voted to meet in Administrative Session to discuss confidential disciplinary matters. The Administrative Session ended at 10:59 A.M. and the Open Session Resumed.

ITEM 1	Approval of Minutes The minutes for the October 4, 2017 Open Session meeting were accepted as amended. Motion was made to accept the minutes as amended. Motion passed. Vote - 8.
ITEM 2	Approval of Agenda The Agenda was approved and adopted as submitted. Motion was made to Accept. Motion passed. Vote -8 .
ITEM 3	Board Chair Report: Bert Nixon
	3a). The Board Chair welcomed and introduced the new Consumer Board
	Member, Bruce Bowman. Introductions took place then Mr. Bowman gave
	his history, experience, and education. Currently he is involved with
	non-profit organizations. Mr. Bowman informed that he attended the New
	Board Member Orientation in December 2017.

Minutes for the Open Session December 6, 2017 Board Meeting

3b). The Board Chair announced with regret that Karen Brandt, Consumer Member, had resigned. To Ms. Brant's credit her analysis of continuing education training for the licenses had been promptly reviewed and posted quickly when approved. The Board staff was instructed to order the certificates of service appreciation signed by the Secretary and Governor for Ms. Brandt.

With Ms. Brandt's resignation the Board needed to replace her on the Continuing Education Committee. Linda Rudie will now head the committee, Yvonne DeLoatch will remain on the committee. Amy Parrish and Bruce Bowman will now join the committee.

3c). Yvonne DeLoatch will officially retire with Baltimore County on February 1, 2018 but will be consulting and working on a contractual basis with the Baltimore County Health Department. She will also remain on the Board.

ITEM 4 Executive Director Report:

James Merrow

- **4a).** To date 14 licensees have met their required continuing education credits for license renewal.
- **4b).** The vacant Consumer Member has been posted on the Board's website.
- **4c).** The webpage update is a work in progress. The Board staff is working with The Database Administrator to put the updates in place.
- **4d).** Continuing Education Committee addressed by the Board Chair in his report.
- 4f). Ari Elbaum, Board Counsel, will be replaced by Katherine Giblin.
- **4g).** Open Meeting Act Training Members should take the Open Meeting Act Training. The Office of Attorney General's Website has the link for the Open Meeting Act Training.

ITEM 5 Credentialing:

5a). 23 candidates were eligible for the December 12, 2017 NEHA exam. 20 candidates were scheduled to take the exam. Candidates names are listed below:

- 1. Erik Andrulis
- 2. Sileshi Baye
- 3. Lauren Biddinger
- 4. Emmanuel Bolajoko
- 5. Julie Buchanan
- 6. Joseph Cabahug
- 7. Kenethia Charity
- 8. Lauren Daniels
- 9. Megan Dejeter
- 10. Fern DeSilva

- 11. Robert Freeman
- 12. Shelby Hohman
- 13. Layla Jimerson
- 14. Mouhaman Kola
- 15. Nathan Kurtanich
- 16. Ivy Perez
- 17. Joy Tejada
- 18. Sobha Thomas
- 19. India Toye
 - 20. Neneh Wurie

5b). Amy Edwards – Applicant requesting to receive a Certificate of Eligibility based on experience in the profession. Requested documentation had been submitted for review from the prior Board meeting. Motion was made to issue the certificate after the Board Counsel reviews for legality. Motion passed. Vote – 7 in favor - 1 abstain.

ITEM 6 Legislative/Regulations Committee:

Yvonne Deloatch, Bert Nixon, Ari Elbaum, Linda Rudie and Amy Parrish

- 6(a). The Regulations are in the Governor's Office.
- **6(b).** Jim had prepared a briefing memo for the Governor on the proposed, General Fund Statute change, and it was not approved. Jim met with Kim Lang, she advised that Jim make a request to the MDH Budget office to request that they propose some relief for this fiscal year. They will get back to Jim.

ITEM 7 Work Force Group:

Bert Nixon, Linda Rudie, Naomi Howell and Yvonne Deloatch

The Group met in November, Dr. Mitchell reviewed his discussions with DBAM they are working on a path moving forward for the State and MDE folks in the Sanitarian Series.

ITEM 8 Continuing Education Committee: Karen Brandt, Linda Rudie and Yvonne Deloatch

No outstanding requests waiting approval.

ITEM 9 Status of Work Processed

Initial License Issued: (1)

1. Jacqueline Hampton (Statute 21-306)

License Reactivations (1)

1. Lawrence Webber

In-Training Certificates Issued: (12)

- 1. Sharmel Rhyne 7. David Bradford
- 2. Danielle Staggers 8. Brad Sweet
- 3. Kristi Marsh 9. Kyle Kowalczyk
- 4. Andrea Bean
- 10. William Jacobs
- 5. Gregory DeBoe 11. Mengestayhu Akalet
- 6. Hristo Hristov 12. Evan Aston

Extended In-Training Certificates Issued: (0)

Certificates of Eligibility Issued: (23)

- 1. Lana Johnson 11. Jane Saunders 2. Kyle Kowalczyk 22. Nicholas Masters 12. David Bradford 3. John Walker 13. Kerron Morgan 23. Jenelle Bratcher 4. Timothy Burke 14. Paola Njandja 15. Brittany Carpender 5. Lucas Mille 6. Samantha Peternal 16. Travon Owens
- 7. Tao Fang
- 8. Justin Lange
- 17. Justin Groff
- 18. Jason McCain

- 21. Joseph Goldscher

9. Anthonia Nwafor-Egenti 19. Devin Baker

10. Brad Sweet20. Johathan Cross

Extended Certificates of Eligibility Issued: (2)

- 1. Mengestayhu Akelat
- 2. William Alzato

Seasonal/Summer/Youth Camp In-Training Certificates Issued: (0)

Letters of Denial Issued for the Certificate of Eligibility: (1)

1. Chad Baidsen – Lab requirement was not included in course work.

Adjourn: 12:05 P.M.

James J. Menron

James T. Merrow Acting Executive Director

Vermica moore

Veronica Moore Board Secretary/Treasurer

Date: March 7, 2018

Date: March 7, 2018