MARYLAND BOARD OF ENVIROMENTAL HEALTH SPECIALSTS Howard County Bureau of Utilities Bldg 8270 Old Montgomery Road, Columbia, Md. 21045

December 7, 2016

OPEN SESSION MINUTES

Present: Robert Sheesley, Board Chair Bert Nixon, Vice Chair Veronica Moore, Board Secretary (Absent) Karen Brandt, Consumer Member Yvonne DeLoatch, Board Member Linda Rudie, Board Member Amy Parrish, Private Industry Naomi Howell, Board Member

> James T. Merrow, Acting Executive Director Ari Elbaum, AAG, Board Counsel (Absent) Anthony DeFranco, AAG, Board Counsel Donna Zickefoose, Staff

CALL TO ORDER

The meeting was called to order at 10:10 A.M. by Robert Sheesley, Board Chair.

Pursuant to State Government article 10-508 (12) of the Annotated Code at 10:14 A.M. the members present voted to meet in Administrative Session to discuss confidential disciplinary matters. The Administrative Session ended at 10:17 A.M.

Approval of Minutes The minutes for the October 5, 2016 Open Session meeting were reviewed and approved with correction. Motion was made to accept the minutes with correction. Motion passed. 7 votes.	
Board Chair Report:	Robert Sheesley
	omed the new Maryland Department of the ard, Naomi Howell.
 license renewal. 4b) The Joint Chair Report is currently Report with the plan for Special Fund Report. 4c) Electronic Vote – The Board was 	James Merrow he required education credits for the 2017 y being prepared. The section in the Annual ing will be incorporated into the Joint Chair given a request for Margaret Kratz to sit for hing period completion. The request was
	 approved with correction. Motion was Motion passed. 7 votes. Board Chair Report: The Board Chair introduced and welce Environment representative to the Board Executive Director Report: 4a) 203 licensees have currently met to license renewal. 4b) The Joint Chair Report is currently Report with the plan for Special Fund Report. 4c) Electronic Vote – The Board was

approved with the stipulation that Ms. Kratz complete her in-training period prior

Minutes for the Open Session December 7, 2016 Board Meeting

to becoming licensed if she passes the exam.

4d) The pre-approved training course list has been added to the Board's webpage. 4e) Addition to the Agenda – The Board received an appeal from Lauren Daniels to recognize Anatomy and Physiology I and II Courses as an applicable science. The Board discussed the courses and requested the syllabus for each course to be sent to them via e-mail to review and vote electronically. There was an electronic motion to accept the Anatomy and Physiology I and II Courses as an applicable science followed by 6 additional votes in favor.

ITEM 5	Legislative/Regulations Committee:	
--------	------------------------------------	--

Yvonne Deloatch, Bert Nixon, Ari Elbaum, Linda Rudie and Amy Parrish

Update.

ITEM 6 Work Force Group:

Bert Nixon, Linda Rudie, Naomi Howell and Yvonne Deloatch

The November meetings primary discussion was to pick up on the non-supervisory track. Linda Rudie and Bert Nixon will work with the local and state level category.

ITEM 7 Continuing Education Committee:

Karen Brandt, Linda Rudie and Yvonne Deloatch

The ICS 300 and 400 Training - The Board reviewed the submission of FEMA/MEMA's ICS 300 and ICS 400 for continuing education units (CEU's). The Board determined that each course would receive 50% of the requested CEU's. Motion was made to agree on the 50% CEU's. Motion passed – Vote 7

ITEM 8 Work Processed

Initial License Issued: (4)

- 1. Paul Dix
- 2. Brittany Barrow
- 3. Zachary Williamsen
- 4. Melanie Clark

License Reactivations (1)

1. Crystal Bohannon

In-Training Certificates Issued: (6)

- 1. Aliyah Jameer
- 4. Gregory Fuentes 2. Ryan Hollingshead
- 5. Anabel Reves 3. Richard Youngk
 - 6. Nathan Kurtanich

11. Peter Whitesell

12. Courtney Klein

Extended In-Training Certificates Issued: (0)

Certificates of Eligibility Issued: (14)

- 1. Chinelo Umeadi
- 2. Gregory Lowden
- 3. Kristopher Austin
- 13. Frederick Curtis
- 4. Rebecca Price
- 14. Jemaneh Wake
- 5. Kihoto Gitonga
- 6. Prabesh Bajracharya
- 7. Erin Engstorm

Minutes for the Open Session December 7, 2016 Board Meeting

8. Nathanial Waring 9. April Field 10. Matthew Watkins Extended Certificates of Eligibility Issued: (1) 1. Tiara Moore Seasonal/Summer/Youth Camp In-Training Certificates Issued: (0)

Letters of Denial Issued for the Certificate of Eligibility: (0)

Adjourn: 12:37 P.M.

James J. Menoani

Vermica moore

James T. Merrow Acting Executive Director

Date: January 4, 2017

Veronica Moore Board Secretary/Treasurer

Date: January 4, 2017