State of Maryland Board of Environmental Health Specialists



Open Session Agenda October 4, 2017 BOARD MEETING 10:00 AM Howard County Bureau of Utilities 8270 Old Montgomery Road Columbia, MD 21045

Call to order - Bert Nixon, Board Chair

ADJUSTMENTS AND ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA?

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

OLD BUSINESS:

<u>ITEM 1</u>

1(a). Open Session Minutes for approval from the August 2, 2017 Board Meeting.

(Attachment)

Bert Nixon

NEW BUSINESS:

ITEM 2 Board Chair Report:

2(a). New Board Members:

Ann Rose – At Large Representation

Bruce Bowman – Consumer Representation

2(b). Included in the Annual Report:

HB628/SB517 Secretaries of Principal Departments – Supervision and Review of Decisions and Actions by Units within the Departments. This legislation provides that the Office of Administrative Hearings will review certain decisions of the Health Occupation Boards regarding restraint of trade consequences.

HB880/SB 450 Opening Meetings Act – Annual Reporting Requirement, Web Site Posting, and Training. The legislation requires that a public body designate a member to take a training course on the Open Meetings Act.

SB/503 Health Occupations Boards – Racial and Ethnic Disparities. Requires the Health Occupations Boards to make certain efforts to educate their licensees regarding racial and ethical disparities.

2(c). Meeting with Secretary Schrader- Linda Rudie attended and will report.

Open Session Agenda October 4, 2017

ITEM 3 Executive Director Report:

3(a). Five Licensees have completed their required training for continuing education credits for the license expiration of June 30, 2019.

3(b). The Private Sector Representation Board Member position has been posted on the Board's webpage and sent out to all licensees via e-mail. Currently Amy Parrish is the Private Sector member and she has indicated that she will be re-applying.

3(c). New Board Member Orientation: The new Board member orientation will be Monday, December 4, 2017. The new Board members can expect a letter from the Secretary with complete information regarding the orientation.

3(d). Webpage update.

<u>ITEM 4</u> Credentialing:

4(a). The August 18, 2017 NEHA Exam has 17 eligible candidates. 13 candidates took the exam. 4 Candidates passed the exam. The names are listed below:

- 1. Tyler Kelley
- 2. Lauren Armbruster
- 3. Michael Cobb
- 4. Lipka Saha

4(b). Application process.

Janet Esser and Sarah Trescott

James Merrow

4(c). Applicant for Certificate of Eligibility, Amy Edwards, has asked the Board to recognize her experience performing the duties of the Environmental Health Specialist while employed in W. Virginia in lieu of her course requirements as stated in 21-304 c (2). Letters from Ms. Edwards and her supervisor are attached. The applicant's file will be brought to the meeting.

(Attachment)

<u>ITEM 5</u> 5(a). Report	Legislative/Regulations Committee:	Yvonne Deloatch, Bert Nixon, Linda Rudie, and Ari Elbaum
<u>ITEM 6</u>	Work Force Group:	Bert Nixon, Linda Rudie, Naomi Howell and Yvonne Deloatch
<u>ITEM 7</u>	Continuing Education Committee:	Karen Brandt, Linda Rudie and Yvonne Deloatch

ITEM 8 Status of Work Processed:

Initial Licenses Issued (5)

- 1. Katherine Roy (Statute 21-306)
- 2. Tyler Kelley
- 3. Lauren Armbruster
- 4. Lipika Saha
- 5. Michael Cobb

License Reactivation (1)

1. Tolbert Swanegan, Jr.

Open Session Agenda October 4, 2017

In – Training Certificates Issued (2)

- 1. Xavier Ellison
- 2. Nasir Sarkar

Extended In-Training Certificates Issued (0)

Certificates of Eligibility Issued (30)

- 1. Dale Heil11. Kimberly Lemacks
- 2. Robert Maffei 12. Barry Jones, II
- 3. Mehreen Saba13. Zackary Silvast
- 4. Eyvonnka Rizallah 14. Rodoflo Seda
- 5. Hristo Hristov 15. Daniel Davis
- 6. Gregory DeBoe 16. Lauren Wicklund
- 7. David Hislop 17. Martino Desir
- 8. Niles Magowitz 18. Donna Parker
- 9. Joshua Lauterbach 19. Carrie Osborn
- 10. Terrence Mulvey 20. Timothy LaRonde

Extended Certificates of Eligibility (3)

- 1. Hammed Idowu
- 2. Alicia Bush
- 3. Phillip McIntee

Seasonal/Summer/Youth Camp In-Training Certificates Issued (1)

1. Oliva Smith

Letters of Denial Issued for the Certificate of Eligibility (0)

Adjourn

- 21. Kurt Stoltz
- 22. Evan Aston
- 23. Reginald Carter
- 24. Nicholas Prete
- 25. Beatrice Babaloa
- 26. Nasir Sarkar
- 27. Anthony-Michael Harris
- 28. Ashley McMahon
- 29. Kristi Marsh
- 30. Sharmel Rhyne