### State of Maryland Board of Environmental Health Specialists



# Open Session Agenda December 6, 2017 BOARD MEETING 10:00 AM Howard County Bureau of Utilities 8270 Old Montgomery Road Columbia, MD 21045

Call to order – Bert Nixon, Board Chair

#### ADJUSTMENTS AND ADDITIONS TO THE AGENDA?

APPROVAL OF AGENDA

#### **OLD BUSINESS:**

#### ITEM 1

1(a). Open Session Minutes for approval from the October 4, 2017 Board Meeting.

(Attachment)

#### **NEW BUSINESS:**

#### **ITEM 2** Board Chair Report:

**Bert Nixon** 

**James Merrow** 

**2(a).** New Board Member:

Bruce Bowman – Consumer Representation

**2(b).** Karen Brandt, Consumer Board Member, has resigned.

#### **ITEM 3** Executive Director Report:

**3(a).** 11 Licensees have completed their required training for continuing education credits for the license expiration of June 30, 2019.

- **3(b).** The Consumer Member has been posted on the Board's webpage.
- **3(c).** Webpage Update: Still under construction.
- 3(e). Continuing Education Committee.
- **3(f).** Kristen Neville the Board's Legislative Coordinator has resigned.
- **4(f).** Ari Elbaum, Board Counsel, will be reassigned beginning with the January the Board Meeting.

## Open Session Agenda DECEMBER 6, 2017

#### **ITEM 4** Credentialing:

**4(a).** There are 23 eligible candidates for the December 12, 2017 NEHA Exam. 20 Candidates paid to sit for the exam. The exam ordering cut-off date was November 8, 2017. The 20 candidates are listed below:

1. Erik Andrulis 11. Robert Freeman 2. Sileshi Baye 12. Shelby Hohman 3. Lauren Biddinger 13. Layla Jimerson 4. Emmanuel Bolajoko 14. Mouhaman Kola 5. Julie Buchanan 15. Nathan Kurtanich 6. Joseph Cabahug 16. Ivy Perez 7. Kenethia Charity 17. Joy Tejada 8. Lauren Daniels 18. Sobha Thomas 9. Megan Dejeter 19. India Toye 10. Fern DeSilva 20. Neneh Wurie

**4(b).** Amy Edwards – Applicant requesting to receive a Certificate of Eligibility based on experience in the profession. Attached are the requested documents for the Board's review.

- 1. West Virginia's Sanitarian Job Description
- 2. Exam taken in the past
- 3. Blank forms for inspections that she has performed. (Attached)

## <u>ITEM 5</u> Legislative/Regulations Committee: Yvonne Deloatch, Bert Nixon, Linda Rudie, and Ari Elbaum

**5(a).** The Regulations are in the Governor's Office.

**5(b).** Jim was asked and prepared a briefing memo for the Governor on the proposed, General Fund, Statute Change.

## ITEM 6 Work Force Group: Bert Nixon, Linda Rudie, Naomi Howell and Yvonne Deloatch

Group met on Friday November 17, 2017. Update.

<u>ITEM 7</u> Continuing Education Committee: Linda Rudie and Yvonne Deloatch

#### **ITEM 8** Status of Work Processed:

#### **Initial Licenses Issued (1)**

1. Jacqueline Hampton (Statute 21-306)

#### **License Reactivation (1)**

1. Lawrence Webber

## Open Session Agenda DECEMBER 6, 2017

#### **In – Training Certificates Issued (12)**

Sharmel Rhyne
 Danielle Staggers
 Kristi Marsh
 Andrea Bean
 Gregory DeBoe
 David Bradford
 Brad Sweet
 Kyle Kowalczyk
 William Jacobs
 Mengestayhu Akalet

6. Hristo Hristov 12. Evan Aston

#### **Extended In-Training Certificates Issued (0)**

#### **Certificates of Eligibility Issued (23)**

1. Lana Johnson 11. Jane Saunders 21. Joseph Goldscher 22. Nicholas Masters 2. Kyle Kowalczyk 12. David Bradford 3. John Walker 13. Kerron Morgan 23. Jenelle Bratcher 4. Timothy Burke 14. Paola Njandja 5. Lucas Mills 15. Brittany Carpender 6. Samantha Peternal 16. Travon Owens 7. Tao Fang 17. Justin Groff 8. Justin Lange 18. Jason McCain 9. Anthonia Nwafor-Egenti 19. Devin Baker 10. Brad Sweet 20. Johathan Gross

#### **Extended Certificates of Eligibility (2)**

- 1. Mengestayhu Akelat
- 2. William Alzado

#### Seasonal/Summer/Youth Camp In-Training Certificates Issued (0)

#### Letters of Denial Issued for the Certificate of Eligibility (1)

1. Chad Baidsen – Lab requirement was not included in course work.

Adjourn