

Wes Moore, Governor · Aruna Miller, Lt. Governor · Laura Herrera Scott, M.D., M.P.H., Secretary

Firearms Restoration Unit Firearms Rights Restoration Process

- To apply, download the application and related forms using the Quick Link or submit a
 request by contacting the email below. Forms should be completed in their entirety and
 submitted to the Firearms Restoration Unit (FRU) at the same email address.
- All submitted forms will be reviewed, and you will be notified of any missing or incomplete documentation.
- The applicant will be scheduled for a mental health assessment to be conducted by an MDH-designated licensed psychologist or psychiatrist. Independent examinations, arranged by the applicant, and conducted by providers who are not designated by MDH will not satisfy this requirement.
- FRU will collect records for use in determining whether the applicant should be relieved from firearms disqualification. This may include criminal justice records, medical records, mental health records, disability and guardianship records and any other information deemed necessary by the department.
- You will be notified by email once your application is complete. Note that applications are not considered complete until all requested or required documentation has been received by FRU. This includes all required forms, three-character attestations, a clinician's certification, and the forensic mental health assessment.
- O The Firearms Rights Restoration Board (FRRB) will meet to review the completed application. A decision for or against the applicant's firearm possession will be rendered by the Board.
- The applicant will be notified, in writing, of the Board's decision within 60 days of receipt of a *completed* application.
- o If the application for firearm possession is granted, a certificate of approval will be issued to the applicant. A copy of the certificate will also be sent to the Maryland State Police.
- o If the application for firearm possession is denied, an applicant may request a judicial hearing on the matter within 30 days of notification. Form 4755 should be filed with the Firearms Restoration Unit and can be requested via the email below.

Note: The law which defines this process can be found in the Code of Maryland, Public Safety Article, Section 5-133.3.

Please request/send your application and all related documents to:

Firearm Restoration Unit: mdh.firearmrightsrestoration@maryland.gov

Additional Contact: Tanya Anderson 443-683-0046